[UK] City names

[ img ]

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Re: Re: [UK] City names

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:10 pm

Catbells wrote:Papyrus, the new editor, still has the State field. It is a drop down box with only Other in the list. It would be great, if this was county.

A few have suggested this before. I've recently stressed to HQ that the requirement for a more granular breakdown is increasing due to the rise in editor numbers!
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: Re: [UK] City names

Postby faitaru » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:57 pm

leo_lau wrote:
faitaru wrote:We currently have a "state" value which we set to "other" in the UK. Why not use that for counties.


'state' field doesn't show on cartouche but I believe IT guy can do something to change it to 'county/region' for UK.

Cartouche is on the way out, so that isn't even an issue!

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk
faitaru
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:07 am
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby bantam13 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:30 pm

Hi,

I've been trying to keep Southampton suburb free. It should be just Southampton, no suburbs, no Hants as it is big and unique enough to not need the county bit. As it goes, West End is not in Southampton, but is in the Eastleigh Council area, so should be West End (Hants), as most of it is.

Kieron
bantam13
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 10:17 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [UK] City names

Postby Timbones » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:34 pm

Hi Dave, welcome to the forum!

We usually name suburbs after the city they are part of, for example West End (Southampton).

It's not ideal, but we're waiting for Waze to properly support counties in the editor. (We're not optimistic that it'll be any time soon). Meanwhile, we really should update the Wiki to include this...
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6729
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 986 times
Been thanked: 2652 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby usualwill » Fri Feb 10, 2012 5:14 pm

Hi people

Can anyone give me any steer on how we treat smaller cities from a naming perspective. For example to city of southampton obviously has many suburbs. Should they all be listed as Southampton (Hants) or should they each be listed separately, for example for the West End suburb should it be called:
West End (Hants) or West End (Southampton).

Intuitively I would think it would be West End (Hants) but there might be other towns in Hampshire that have a suburb called West End.

Very confused!!
Thanks,
Dave
usualwill
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 8:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [UK] City names

Postby gerben » Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:47 am

Moved to UK forum
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 195 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby dknight212 » Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:30 pm

I thought at first this was a new thread!

David, using Tapatalk
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby Catbells » Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:07 pm

Papyrus, the new editor, still has the State field. It is a drop down box with only Other in the list. It would be great, if this was county.
Catbells
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [UK] City names

Postby leocylau » Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:59 pm

haha...in my experience it will take ages for waze to get rid of cartouche ;)
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3599
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 708 times
Been thanked: 453 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby leocylau » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:41 pm

faitaru wrote:We currently have a "state" value which we set to "other" in the UK. Why not use that for counties.


'state' field doesn't show on cartouche but I believe IT guy can do something to change it to 'county/region' for UK.
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3599
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 708 times
Been thanked: 453 times

Next

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users