[UK] City names

Moderators: krankyd, dmcconachie, Unholy

Re: [UK] City names

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:49 pm

petervdveen wrote:Adding a row to a database is quiet easy. But getting it implemented can be very hard to realize.. ;)

This would likely be adding a column to the table describing attributes of segments. While that too is easy, it also involves:

  1. What is the default value of ALL segments?
  2. Should NULL (no value) be allowed? If not, how do you deal with segments for which you cannot determine a value?
  3. The web code must be modified to present the new field on the correct panel
  4. Does the web/javascript code need to filter data/ensure a value is entered or can it be left blank?
  5. Code must be written to pass the value along to the database. That, or the query/database update code must be re-written to get the value to insert into the database field
  6. The client app must be updated to allow the user to pass this value along as part of a search query
  7. Does the client app need to show the region graphically?
  8. Search involving this value must also pass this along to Bing for search results. Does Bing support this value in searches?
  9. Navigation algorithms must be re-written to see and use the new region values as part of finding a route, otherwise, you might end up in the right city, wrong region
I am sure there are more parts to this process. :)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 653 times
Been thanked: 2253 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby Catbells » Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:07 pm

Papyrus, the new editor, still has the State field. It is a drop down box with only Other in the list. It would be great, if this was county.
Catbells
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [UK] City names

Postby dknight212 » Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:30 pm

I thought at first this was a new thread!

David, using Tapatalk
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4878
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby dmcconachie » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:09 pm

I wish they would give us the county/region field because I am not a fan of the current method.

I have to admit I tend not to use the region convention unless there is actually a name clash as it's relatively rare in Scotland. When it does occur I locate the two towns and get support to append the region name which they can do very quickly with direct database access!
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Re: [UK] City names

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:10 pm

Catbells wrote:Papyrus, the new editor, still has the State field. It is a drop down box with only Other in the list. It would be great, if this was county.

A few have suggested this before. I've recently stressed to HQ that the requirement for a more granular breakdown is increasing due to the rise in editor numbers!
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby faitaru » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:28 pm

We currently have a "state" value which we set to "other" in the UK. Why not use that for counties.

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk
iPhone 4S • iOS 7.1 • Waze 3.7.9.922
AM for Nowhere :(UK Country Admin • iOS Beta Tester • Mega Driver
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
faitaru
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:07 am
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Re: [UK] City names

Postby faitaru » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:57 pm

leo_lau wrote:
faitaru wrote:We currently have a "state" value which we set to "other" in the UK. Why not use that for counties.


'state' field doesn't show on cartouche but I believe IT guy can do something to change it to 'county/region' for UK.

Cartouche is on the way out, so that isn't even an issue!

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk
iPhone 4S • iOS 7.1 • Waze 3.7.9.922
AM for Nowhere :(UK Country Admin • iOS Beta Tester • Mega Driver
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
faitaru
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:07 am
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby Feathers44 » Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:08 pm

Yes, I'd go along with the general view but with the 'oddities caveat' in that I'd prefer to use:

'Wimbledon (Merton)' but 'Morden (Surrey)' even though both are in the London Borough of Merton.
Feathers44
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [UK] City names

Postby gerben » Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:47 am

Moved to UK forum
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: [UK] City names

Postby goat0063 » Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:05 am

I'm also noticing that the conventions for naming Cities and Streets are not being followed in Hampshire - in some cases this is leading to two separate names appearing for the same place. This has the added effect of making the live map look somewhat messy and cluttered. There is also the issue of what constitutes a "City" as there are many much smaller places being given that title. As a consequence, the map does not appear to differentiate between places in terms of their size. Maybe the size could be weighted by the number of tags a place receives or similar?
goat0063
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Moley_uk, noney82