Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby HandofMadness » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:34 am

Yours is there too. Both show Waze has you route being on the 210, and both show a GPS track in the carpool lane. No reason for the client to be snapping you to a side street.

210134.jpg
210134.jpg (165.34 KiB) Viewed 1034 times


What's the next step? Delete and redraw?
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 369 times

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby jemay » Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:03 pm

I was also in the Carpool lane, so my GPS tracks looks correct. So any other ideas why it would have recalculate?

Note: I picked this route to see if I could reproduce the problem and I did...(the other UR is somebody else)

shawndoc wrote:What's the next step? Delete and redraw?

Good question? Anybody else?
PLEASE READ: Wiki Resources: FAQ|Map Editor|Best Practices|Editing issues?
Global Champ | Regional Coordinator for US South West - CA,NV,UT,AZ,NM,CO,HI | CM for US

Samsung Galaxy Note® 4 (SM-N910V) - Verizon - Waze Ver. 3.9.8.0
jemay
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:26 am
Location: US South West - Lakewood, CA
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 889 times

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby HandofMadness » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:15 am

Not sure if it was one of you who submitted this, but here's another UR from a little down the road.

i210.jpg
i210.jpg (112.53 KiB) Viewed 966 times


You'll notice the GPS track is actually mostly in the no mans land between the actual freeway and the city street.

I'm going to move the freeway a bit north here. From the GPS layer, it looks like the satellite image is off 10f or so.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 369 times

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby DudleySirius » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:04 pm

Hi Wazers,

I was the original poster. I have tried moving the 210E main lane north slightly to see if it would solve the issue, but no change. I continue to see the reset, regardless of whether I am in the HOV or regular lanes. I have pored over the map trying to figure out why. The only thing I found was that the HOV onramp from Fair Oaks was labled as a parking lot road. I changed it to a ramp. I will see if it still resets.

I have been watching carefully for exactly WHEN the reset starts (note that the beep doesn't occur immediately.) It appears to be significantly (several hundred meters) west of the location plotted on the map editor by the error reports. It may have to do with the change in freeway name from 134 East to 210 East?

I would be interested in having one of the Waze programmers explain what exactly are the criteria for initiating a route re-calculation. I get the feeling there is some interaction between the program and the map data which results in an unnecessary and undesired recalc.

Anyone else driving the segment is encouraged to submit a map error report. The more routes we can compare, the more likely we can determine the source of the issue.

Cheers, Dudley Sirius
DudleySirius
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby DudleySirius » Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:16 pm

Okay,
So I did some more research and found out why the HOV onramp was a Parking Lot Road (so Waze will not give users that route, but will not consider it an error if they use it.) So, I changed it back. I also moved it farther North (away from the main lanes, in order to reduce the chance that Waze will 'snap' users to it.

More importantly, I noted that the segment between the Fair Oaks HOV onramp and the Marengo Ave onramp had different direction properties than the rest of the 210 segments. Specifically, the native direction of that segment was East to West. According to the documentation, this shouldn't make a difference, since it had its direction set to "One way (<--)" and the other segments had direction "One way (-->)." But, my computer engineering and programming background tells me that this is much more likely to be the cause of the issue than anything else I have noted, so I disconnected the segment and turned it around so that it's native direction matches the segments on either side of it. I checked the directions and connections to make sure everything matched, before I saved it.

I will post after the next time I drive the route.

Cheers, Dudley Sirius.
DudleySirius
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby jemay » Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:21 pm

As stated before.
DudleySirius wrote:It does the same thing a mile or two down I-210, somewhere prior to Hill Ave:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&lat ... s=61815164

Also we need to get a few more UR for the other one down the freeway.
PLEASE READ: Wiki Resources: FAQ|Map Editor|Best Practices|Editing issues?
Global Champ | Regional Coordinator for US South West - CA,NV,UT,AZ,NM,CO,HI | CM for US

Samsung Galaxy Note® 4 (SM-N910V) - Verizon - Waze Ver. 3.9.8.0
jemay
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:26 am
Location: US South West - Lakewood, CA
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 889 times

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby HandofMadness » Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:27 pm

At this point it's unlikely to be a map error. It may be worthwhile to delete and redraw this section (in case it's caused by corrupted data on the server) , but if that doesn't solve the issue I don't there there is anything else we can do from the editor. It will need to be brought up to support.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 369 times

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby jemay » Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:37 am

Well, somebody went ahead and cleared our URs... So i will send a message to davidwlam asking him :) what did he do? And not contacting us....
PLEASE READ: Wiki Resources: FAQ|Map Editor|Best Practices|Editing issues?
Global Champ | Regional Coordinator for US South West - CA,NV,UT,AZ,NM,CO,HI | CM for US

Samsung Galaxy Note® 4 (SM-N910V) - Verizon - Waze Ver. 3.9.8.0
jemay
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:26 am
Location: US South West - Lakewood, CA
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 889 times

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby paulkok_my » Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:09 pm

Hi to all. I was searching high and low the forum to see whether anyone is facing this problem which you called "route reset"

By chance I saw your postings. We also faced the same problem over here in Malaysia.

I was facing this problem you called "route reset" which I called it "teleporting" over here at my end.

The reason of using that word is, when you are driving along this road/segment and all of a sudden you find your vehicle is detected by the client you are at another road/segment causing waze to reroute.

I would like to share with you guys I manage to solve it by identifying the exact moment on which road/segment you are driving that causes the route reset/teleport.

After identifying it, delete the affected segment, redraw back the segment and adjust the geometry according to aerial view and save your work. That's it

Hope it helps you guys.

Cheers
Paul Kok
ImageImageImageImageImage
Area Manager: Shah Alam / Klang, Southern Region, Malaysia
Asus Zenfone 2 on Android 5.0 (ZE551ML)

Join our FB group: Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah/Sarawak
or Google+ group: Waze in Malaysia on Google+
paulkok_my
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:34 am
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 177 times

Re: Route Resets at I-210 E/CA-134 E merge in Pasadena, CA

Postby HandofMadness » Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:01 pm

Thanks for that info. There's actually several places here in Southern California that do that that I'm aware of. I'd suspected it was one of two things:
- Corrupt backend map data
- Inaccurate A-GPS info caused by switching cell towers.

Now that I know deleting and redrawing the segment worked for you, I may give it a try next time I come across a UR from one of the affected areas. Since the problem is on the freeway, I've been hesitant to delete the segments and lose the traffic data. Plus it never seems to affect my phone, even though I drive through one of the areas fairly often, so the exact point where it happens is hard for me to pinpoint.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 369 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users