Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:02 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:
wroadd wrote:As I see there was a change in the WME, new fields are available for gas stations(and ny othre landmarks) for country (state) and city
Can you select a country? There is nothing in that dropdown here in the US...

I show United States for landmarks where I was just editing.

"United States is in the dropdown now... And there is a "State:" field that wasn't there before (and before you ask, yes, "Connecticut" does appear)...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:44 pm

New behavior noticed today (only in the Production version, not the Beta)...

Clear UR (either Solved or Not Identified), zoom all the way out, and the pin disappears... The pins always used to stay until the page was refreshed (F5/Permalink/Refresh/etc)... The pins continue the old behavior in the Beta...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:17 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:Clear UR (either Solved or Not Identified), zoom all the way out, and the pin disappears... The pins always used to stay until the page was refreshed (F5/Permalink/Refresh/etc)... The pins continue the old behavior in the Beta...

If you have JNF or URO installed, verify this behavior with them disabled. I know JNF hides the "show all connectivity arrows" when they are modified, so perhaps something like URO is also forcing the "closed" URs to be hidden right away too. (In fact, URO has checkboxes for this specifically.)


I have Live Map Nav 0.6, WME Color Highlights 1.4.2, & WME-extended-tools 1.5.4 (disabled) installed... I don't think any of them are JNF (Junction Node FIxer) or URO (???)... Haven't changed what is installed in a while & this only started happening today...

EDIT: Is URO the Overview script that puts them on the livemap?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:38 pm

Fabione72 wrote:
Fabione72 wrote:
No, that's a primary road (not a major highway)
I'm trying to deny the possibility to turn south, into a secondary road (recently blocked to non-residential traffic).

Here it is the permalink:
https://it.waze.com/editor/?lon=9.57452 ... s=83328752

Attached a screenshot. The green road with arrow is the one I'm driving on.
Even if it is into my driving area (confirmed by the tool), you can see on the left that I'm not enabled to edit :\

thanks for hints


Just realized those segments are unlocked (lock box is unchecked). OK, I'm definitively lost... I identified many other (even bigger) errors I cannot fix due to same reason... :cry:

You are in Italy... The entire Italian map has been locked due to some serious vandalism. Try reaching out to your Area/Country Managers in the Board index ‹ Country (Language) Forums ‹ Italy forum.

Also see my response to your unlock request for a possible better way to make the change you are trying to do.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:00 pm

I think I found another bug... In the layers menu, you can move a few of the layers around, so they are on top of each other in a specific order... The layer at the top of the list is actually below the other layers and the layer at the bottom of the list is on the top of all the layers.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:18 am

Ok, maybe calling it a "bug" was wrong... It's still counter-intuitive though...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:53 pm

From the first post in this topic
shirlig wrote:4) Cones and old ranks are now synced and displayed everywhere as follows:

old rank 0 = 1 cone
old rank1 = 2 cones (currently not in use)
old rank 2 = 3 cones
old rank 3 = 4 cones
old rank 4 = 5 cones
old rank 5 = 6 cones (currently not in use)
old rank 6 = STAFF


Has there been a change to ranks since that post? I have a local editor with a rank of (2)...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Nov 27, 2012 4:05 pm

PhantomSoul wrote:Is anyone with Safari 6 and Mac OS 10.8 (Mountain Lion) having any trouble getting the permalinks to capture selected road segments? Last night while requesting some unlocks to resolve various UR's in my area, I noticed some inconsistent behavior with it, in that it sometimes included the selections and other times didn't.

I've found that the segments are not selected at higher zoom levels... Try changing the zoom level manually in the permalink to see if it works....
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:46 pm

pvaladares wrote:It would be really nice if there were a feature in the WME so editors could easily populate all the nearby segments with the same properties (type of road, direction, name, etc). 8-)

You already can select multiple roads (CTRL-Click them or turn on multi-select [see the keyboard shortcuts] and then just click) one at a time or pick one, then "Select Entire Street"...

You can change type, direction, level on roads with different City/Street names this way...

If you want to change City or Street property, you have to change BOTH fields together - you can't select Main St & Town Rd to change just the City property because you'll end up losing the Street name...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby anonymous0816 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:00 pm

davipt wrote:6. ... some say shift-? gives you a screen with the keyboard commands, but I can only see it on safari and not on firefox, as the ? in the Portuguese keyboard is already a shift-key-right-to-0 so I can't do a double-shift ;)


Well. German keyboard layout would also require a double-shift.
Please fix this. Either make it "?"-only or "Shift+h" for example for "help".

2nd: This function is not mentioned in the wiki.
anonymous0816
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PhantomSoul, vriggins