Wrong State - Mississippi?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Wrong State - Mississippi?

Postby Made2Map » Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:17 pm

It funny that the first time I log onto the forums in a week this is the post I see. I just finished doing some editing near Tupelo, and I edited a connection for a user reported turn restriction.

When I tried to save I received an error that the highlighted road was too far away from the state. Sure enough the road was attributed as being in Alabama. I did not create the road I just edited the turn restriction as needed. My question is how was the road created with the wrong data in the first place, if it wouldn't even let me edit it without changing the info?
Made2Map
Image

I am a professional cartographer working for a company in Alabama
and a Waze Area Manager for Alabama and Northern Wisconsin

• email: awm4th@gmail.com • twitter: @awmathis
Made2Map
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:30 am
Location: Madison, AL
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Wrong State - Mississippi?

Postby Made2Map » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:06 pm

Along the same lines but I just ran across this


Image


Please explain how a segment of I-71 from Cleveland, Ohio can end up in rural Alabama?

Does the same explanation apply?

Edit: Permalink -- https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=4&lat ... TTTTTTTTFT
Made2Map
Image

I am a professional cartographer working for a company in Alabama
and a Waze Area Manager for Alabama and Northern Wisconsin

• email: awm4th@gmail.com • twitter: @awmathis
Made2Map
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:30 am
Location: Madison, AL
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Wrong State - Mississippi?

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 6:57 pm

jwkilgore wrote:In several locations in Mississippi many of the roads are indicated to be in the wrong state. For example, this segment appears to be untouched since created from the original basemap:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&lat ... s=26649102
It lists as being in Louisiana, even though it's 80 miles from the LA border. It only appears to happen with un-named streets. The named street immediately to the north (Grace lewis Dr) is listed as being in Mississippi. I've changed or deleted (private driveways) many hundreds of these, with no end in sight.

Before the recent editor update, when you drew a new road in this area it defaulted to Louisiana. Now it defaults to "Other", and lists Mississippi and Louisiana as options.

Next area:
Unnamed roads in the Carrolton, MS, area default to Arkansas (again, about 80 miles from the border):
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... s=26163435
(in case you're interested, that donut-looking thing is a massive pile of pine logs about to be chipped up to make paper)

Here, new streets still default to "Arkansas". I drew a test street at the above location showing this.

Is this just something that needs to be manually edited, or is there some way TPTB can do an automated fix?

[EDIT:] I went back to check the links in this post, and the "Arkansas" street I drew was then listed as "Other". I played around a little, and all new streets came in as Other. Then right before coming back here, it was "Arkansas" again. So it may be Other or Arkansas or maybe even Kansas. Who knows.


'Other' means 'No state.' Literally, NULL. You tend to get that as a default when WME can't decide what state a given street on a segment should have.

I recommend checking out http://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=289089#p289089 , the WME Highlighting tool. As you are an AM, the current beta, 1.4.7, can tell you when you look in a location, the names of cities and states that streets in view have.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Wrong State - Mississippi?

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:35 pm

Made2Map wrote:My question is how was the road created with the wrong data in the first place, if it wouldn't even let me edit it without changing the info?


Well, basically, many moons ago, when Waze was just getting started, they imported a lot of maps with street names, lat/long, city, and state info, so that editors wouldn't have to draw every single road segment from scratch. That data couldn't be completely sanity checked in an automated way.

Today when you edit in WME, if you're trying to save a segment that doesn't make sense, it DOES warn you and tell you you can't. So as more edits are done where 'state smears' are identified, these sorts of 'bogus state here' problems will slowly go away.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Wrong State - Mississippi?

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:54 pm

Made2Map wrote:Along the same lines but I just ran across this

Please explain how a segment of I-71 from Cleveland, Ohio can end up in rural Alabama?



Ah, interesting. So, on that one, I looked at 'Robindale Ave', the Akron Ohio one. It does exist in Akron -- and the segment in Alabama, and the segments IN Akron were all edited and updated on the same day by the same user. So here, unless he edited in Akron and then decided it was time to go downcountry because Alabama totally needs a Robindale Ave, I'd suspect a bad/corrupted save. Yay! :lol:

Whether it 'ended up down there' when that guy saved it, or if 'Select entire street' somehow grabbed it in the old editor (and updated in both states) is anybody's guess. I can't see the internals or logs. Oh well.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Wrong State - Mississippi?

Postby WeeeZer14 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 6:32 pm

Well known issue from the base map import. Biggest culprit are unnamed roads. I think we see this overlap of neighbors in every US state.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Wrong State - Mississippi?

Postby WeeeZer14 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:37 pm

jasonh300 wrote:Guess we need a "Highlight by State" field in Colour Highlights then! :)

+10 ;)
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Previous

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher