Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby PhantomSoul » Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:33 pm

I've found that most UR's complaining about the wrong location of something is because Bing (or Google (or whichever directory you select from that list along the bottom of the screen on Waze when searching for a destination)) does not translate that destination's address to the correct lat/lon GPS location.

To resolve it, we need to relay the problem to Bing (or other directory if the UR specifies it) by reporting it to them, and then mark the UR as solved, since the issue is out of our hands.

Of course, if I can tell the complaint is invalid or otherwise bogus, I mark the UR as not identified.
PhantomSoul
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:00 am
Location: Union, NJ USA
Has thanked: 303 times
Been thanked: 501 times

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:09 am

anti-S-crap wrote:In MI when I saw problems with the Taco Bells all over my area being incorrect i found out that that bing had them correct while google had them all wrong locations.. Waze showed them exactly where google showed them.

Bing overlays and google gps plots.. Go figure..

The advertiser (i.e. Taco Bell) provides the location information to Waze.
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1314 times

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby anti-S-crap » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:02 am

In MI when I saw problems with the Taco Bells all over my area being incorrect i found out that that bing had them correct while google had them all wrong locations.. Waze showed them exactly where google showed them.

Bing overlays and google gps plots.. Go figure..
anti-S-crap
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:52 am
Location: Burbs of NW Detroit, MI
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:44 pm

Use the announcement thread in the Map forum to find and fill out the form for reporting incorrect locations regardless of the advertiser.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4791 times

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby usa_2zmx7dva » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:38 pm

It appears that Dunkin Dounuts and Waze have departed ways. ;)
Maybe a few lines of code like: "Spend 2 or minutes at a sponsors location and get two points, correct a sponsors location and get two points." could have added value to the advertiser. Advertiser could track the lead generations and update their own maps with the the correct locations.

UPDATE:
The POI's are back. The system must have hiccuped. Maybe a Jan 1, 2013 event......?
Last edited by usa_2zmx7dva on Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
usa_2zmx7dva
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:19 pm

I found a very misplaced D&D this morning (the address listed is correct, the pin is just off by miles)... The error isn't coming from Bing (or Google, or Yelp, or FourSquare, or YP)... Another had the hours listed incorrectly (Waze said they opened at 5am, but they weren't even close to being open at 5:10am).

This leads me to believe that, as Yonatan said (see my post above), the info (the address, location & hours) came directly from Dunkin & are in a private advertising database and not from the traditional search providers.
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1314 times

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby Daknife » Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:08 pm

I regularly post corrections to Bing. If I get an UR about wrong location I go search for it in Bing (assuming the UR actually gives me the address or name of the POI), almost without fail the error is obviously with bing so I submit a correction report. And I have seen a few get corrected, it's not quick, but it does happen.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby alxjalmeida » Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:55 pm

Thanks for the help! I have gone over to Bing and submitted a "map correction feedback" submission.
alxjalmeida
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby rottielover » Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:23 pm

PassengerofUnspeakableDOOM wrote:What is the recommended way to handle user created general errors regarding a "Dunkin Donuts in wrong place" report?


Here is what I was told on how to handle these:
1) mark solved - take no action
2) mark Not ID'd - take no action
3) Go over to Bing maps and submit the correct location on the map, then marked solved

The reason behind each:
1 - you've done everything possible (Within the waze system) to resolve this complaint
2 - If you mark it solved the user get's an email and will expect to see their address corrected next map update. This way they won't be expecting
3 - goes "above and beyond" but you'll feel better.

If it's a business I have first hand knowledge of, I'll use option 3.

As to if/when to use option's 1 or 2, that's a judgement call I'll leave to all the AM's and higher.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Updating Dunkin Donuts location?

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:02 am

alxjalmeida wrote:Just wondering if anybody has any updates on this. I noticed this morning, that the Dunkin Donuts location on the Waze Maps is incorrect.... Wondering if we can update.


We got this response from Yonatan this morning...
Jonypony wrote:The locations are provided by the advertiser, but I will forward this to our advertising department.

-Yonatan
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1314 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users