Lost Area Manager Status?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Lost Area Manager Status?

Postby AndyPoms » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:12 pm

A while ago Waze went through and cleared out inactive Area Managers, there were a few issues here and there, mainly due to people having rights (intentionally or unintentionally) on both servers (NA & ROTW). It seems like Waze ran that process again in the last few days. If you have been inactive for a while, you probably have to re-apply (or what ever the process is these days - depending on country, etc); if you have been active, a quick note to support should restore your rights...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 886 times

Re: Lost Area Manager Status?

Postby Mike-1323 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:07 pm

superslacker87 wrote:I downgraded my phone last year to a dumb phone, and as a result, Waze went onto the back burner for me. I just upgraded my phone and started using Waze again. When I went in, it appears that I lost my AM status. Was this due to the map editor upgrade or does it time out after not using it after a certain amount of time?

Within the past day or so (I'm not sure exactly when as I've been editing a new area opened up by a recent trip) I've lost my AM area as well. This is the second time I've lost it in the past few months. I think it has to do with various infrastructure upgrades that are having unforeseen consequences.

Image Image
AM - Northern Virginia - Fairfax/Ft. Belvoir
CM - USA
Android 2.2.1, LG Optimus V
Mike-1323
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: Lorton, Va
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 139 times

Re: Lost Area Manager Status?

Postby Mike-1323 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:24 pm

AndyPoms wrote:A while ago Waze went through and cleared out inactive Area Managers, there were a few issues here and there, mainly due to people having rights (intentionally or unintentionally) on both servers (NA & ROTW).

That could be it. I am (was) an AM on the NA server but had some areas that I could edit on the world server as well. I got an email saying that I was an inactive AM on the world server (never was an AM on world) and would have permissions removed.

Then I lost AM on the NA server. :evil:

There's some crossed wires in the checks that Waze is running because I lost my (very active) AM area on the NA server for inactivity in my (nonexistent) AM area on the ROTW server. If this is a clean-up that Waze is going to run periodically then they really need to fix it.

Image Image
AM - Northern Virginia - Fairfax/Ft. Belvoir
CM - USA
Android 2.2.1, LG Optimus V
Mike-1323
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: Lorton, Va
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 139 times

Lost Area Manager Status?

Postby superslacker87 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:41 pm

I downgraded my phone last year to a dumb phone, and as a result, Waze went onto the back burner for me. I just upgraded my phone and started using Waze again. When I went in, it appears that I lost my AM status. Was this due to the map editor upgrade or does it time out after not using it after a certain amount of time?
Justin Miller
Omaha, NE Area Manager
Running Waze on a Samsung Galaxy S3 and sometimes an iPhone 4
Image
superslacker87
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Lost Area Manager Status?

Postby superslacker87 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:12 am

Good to know. I'm moving away from here anyway, so I will just request AM status where I am moving instead anyway. Just would have been nice to be able to do some stuff now before I moved.
Justin Miller
Omaha, NE Area Manager
Running Waze on a Samsung Galaxy S3 and sometimes an iPhone 4
Image
superslacker87
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot]