City Shows up as "C" in client.  Topic is solved

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: City Shows up as "C" in client.

Postby BlazeTool » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:28 am

Hmmm, the Highlight extension gives a choice of "C, Florida" under highlight by city name. But I wasn't able to find any of the roads named it (the count stayed 0 when I scrolled around). Seems it's there somewhere in Fort Myers, just can't find it.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: City Shows up as "C" in client.  Topic is solved

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:51 am

The "C" smudge in Florida was fixed a couple of days ago. There was three points where the letter C was used as the city name...going from the panhandle (Chipley) to the southern end of the peninsula (Cape Coral and then Cutler Bay). It resulted in a giant triangularish smudge covering a large part of Florida.

It'll disappear from the editor when the city polygons update again, and then it will disappear from the client at the next tiles update.

FWIW, there was also a "p" smudge across most of Florida (Punta Gorda, Panama City, and I don't recall the third) that has already been fixed and has disappeared from the Editor, but probably not the client.

Remember when entering shortcuts for city names that automatic selection of the name in the "drop down list" doesn't always work and will cause this type of smudge.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6868
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 628 times

City Shows up as "C" in client.

Postby kwag4 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:20 pm

I'm not sure if this was talked about yet or not. Searching for "c" gives a lot of results. (only joking)

Around my town, there are a lot of places on the client map that just show "C" (without quotes) as if it's the city name. I figured it was the landmarks (one C was conveniently centered on a lake) but upon reviewing the info in the editor, including addresses, nothing appears wrong.

I'll post screenshots, permalinks, etc. when I get to my computer.

I just figured that if it's been talked about already, Alan or Jason could fill me in. Thanks.
kwag4
Southwest Florida Area Manager
Image
Please, give thanks and mark as solved if your problem is solved.
Solution to everything: Read the Wiki, if that doesn't solve it, read it again.
kwag4
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: City Shows up as "C" in client.

Postby kwag4 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:54 am

jasonh300 wrote:The "C" smudge in Florida was fixed a couple of days ago. There was three points where the letter C was used as the city name...going from the panhandle (Chipley) to the southern end of the peninsula (Cape Coral and then Cutler Bay). It resulted in a giant triangularish smudge covering a large part of Florida.

It'll disappear from the editor when the city polygons update again, and then it will disappear from the client at the next tiles update.

FWIW, there was also a "p" smudge across most of Florida (Punta Gorda, Panama City, and I don't recall the third) that has already been fixed and has disappeared from the Editor, but probably not the client.

Remember when entering shortcuts for city names that automatic selection of the name in the "drop down list" doesn't always work and will cause this type of smudge.


I figured that's what happened.
kwag4
Southwest Florida Area Manager
Image
Please, give thanks and mark as solved if your problem is solved.
Solution to everything: Read the Wiki, if that doesn't solve it, read it again.
kwag4
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: City Shows up as "C" in client.

Postby orbitc » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:35 am

Hi,
My take on this: -without seeing the link- Someone must name many roads' city name as "c" that the editor makes that area's city name as "c".
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• AT&T | iOS 7.0.4 | Waze v3.7.9.914

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3731
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Has thanked: 731 times
Been thanked: 1551 times


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NiCoLaScPaFo