TX Landmark deletes

Moderators: MapSir, sketch, karlcr9911

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby WeeeZer14 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:08 pm

bscharff wrote:As for cameras, I delete the unapproved ones that are in places that make no sense... because I-35 obviously has a speed camera set to 30 mph. What really peeves me about this is that no alerts are generated for reported speed cameras... not even after 20+ users report it; yes, I've seen a lane of an intersection with over 20 reported speed cameras.

1.) You know the 30 in the speed camera icon does NOT have anything to do with the speed limit for the camera, right?
2.) One million people can report cameras at an intersection. But an editor needs to approve the camera before it shows up in the client. If it is approved and not alerting, check that it is pointing in the right direction and with the right angle.
3.) Everything you wanted to know (probably) about cameras.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby d_a_price » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:14 pm

Thanks, I've re-added Baylor: https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=4&lat ... TTTTTTTTFT

and the park: https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=3&lat ... TTTTTTTTFT

But I don't have editing rights to re-add UT since I haven't driven in that area since I joined Waze.
d_a_price
Map Editor - level 2
Map Editor - level 2
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

TX Landmark deletes

Postby d_a_price » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:16 am

I don't know if this is part of the same incident, but I've noticed a few major and minor landmarks gone in TX:

University of Texas (IIRC this was divided into several smaller landmarks for different areas of campus): https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-97.73 ... TTTFTTTTFT

Park landmark: https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=4&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT

Baylor University: https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT
d_a_price
Map Editor - level 2
Map Editor - level 2
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby bscharff » Tue Jan 01, 2013 4:16 am

Again, arguing with a Waze Champ... :/
---
Dallas/Fort Worth Area Manager
bscharff
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby bscharff » Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:58 am

Biggiejohn wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:
bscharff wrote:1) I know the 30 has nothing to do with it, they just crack me up when I see them on major highways with speed limits of 70, in a city that does not allow usage of Speed Cameras.
Personally, I enjoy the red light cameras posted on the Interstate Highways (which don't have any traffic lights on them & in a State that doesn't allow any type photo enforcement).


there are very few legitimate red light cameras in my area and I have double and triple checked all the "approved" ones with the lists published by the county/city police.
Whenever I ever see new ones show up on the maps, I just delete them, free edit points.


I wish Dallas were that predictable!!!
---
Dallas/Fort Worth Area Manager
bscharff
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby bscharff » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:17 pm

1) I know the 30 has nothing to do with it, they just crack me up when I see them on major highways with speed limits of 70, in a city that does not allow usage of Speed Cameras.
2) I'm not referring to alerting them in the client, I'm referring to alerting them similar to a UR.
3) Thanks, I'm going over that! :)
---
Dallas/Fort Worth Area Manager
bscharff
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby bscharff » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:41 pm

I had typed up a long response to this, but the forum is stupid and logged me out after 3 minutes... so meh. Summary:
I work on the Richardson area, but work on URs mainly along 75 (4 mile radius) from Richardson to downtown Dallas.
I was never referring to WME being cluttered, because I know we can disable that layer. It's clients that have limited data, or slower phones that I worry about. I've been there. The map updates super slow and made it unusable.
I have deleted individual business landmarks since Waze Champs (basically Waze Volunteer Staff) have said that they have no place on the map.
With parking lot landmarks, if I feel like it, I'll delete the landmark and create roads like the Wiki says to.
As for cameras, I delete the unapproved ones that are in places that make no sense... because I-35 obviously has a speed camera set to 30 mph. What really peeves me about this is that no alerts are generated for reported speed cameras... not even after 20+ users report it; yes, I've seen a lane of an intersection with over 20 reported speed cameras.

Might've forgotten some things since I had to rewrite this entirely!
---
Dallas/Fort Worth Area Manager
bscharff
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby bscharff » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:30 pm

Thank you, Andy.
I'm not contesting anything about college campuses, however, if they are large it might be more preferable to map individual buildings and parking lots instead of the entire campus as to not suppress traffic alerts generated on-campus. Some campuses use Waze for this, and I'm sure more would if alerts wouldn't be suppressed.
---
Dallas/Fort Worth Area Manager
bscharff
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby bscharff » Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:44 pm

As it was said, if we cannot label all of the local businesses, then we cannot label any of them. Gas stations are a feature of the client... and we are adding them all. Grocery stores are not a feature, and there is no plan for them to be. It wastes data on the server, and transmitting it to the client. The only purpose of Waze is to navigate to locations in the most efficient way, taking into account traffic information. They added the gas station feature as it relates to driving. Seeing Bob's Storage or Walmart has no place here, and just clutters the map (both in WME AND in the client)
---
Dallas/Fort Worth Area Manager
bscharff
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TX Landmark deletes

Postby bscharff » Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:50 pm

Please review the following threads:
viewtopic.php?f=276&t=26005
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=31542
Specifically, the posts written by Waze Champs.

I have deleted minor landmarks in Dallas as advised by the Champs' posts in those threads, as they serve no usable purpose and are just a waste of space.
---
Dallas/Fort Worth Area Manager
bscharff
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Texas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users