Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby lakeyboy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:34 pm

Tried looking for an answer for this but the most info I could find was construction zones within existing roads.

A fellow area manager in my area has mapped a brand new freeway which is currently being constructed and is scheduled to open in a few months. They have done the right thing by not joining the new freeway segments with existing road segments but is it generally seen as bad practice mapping roads under construction before they officially open? The way I see it is that it can confuse users into thinking there is a freeway there that they can take (even though Waze won't route them onto it). Opinions on if I should leave it, modify it or delete it?

And a editor link for those who are interested: https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=0&l ... TTTTTTTTFT
ImageImageImageImage
Proud Melburnian and Australian Country Manager.
Map edits: 273,200+ | Distance travelled: 55,120km+ | Reports made: 1780+
Waze Australia Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WazeAustralia
lakeyboy
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 251 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby cherianchris » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:51 pm

Disconnecting Road Segments which have been "TEMPORARILY CLOSED" is approved practice on WME.
Primarily, as far as updating Road segments "UNDER CONSTRUCTION" is concerned, it may give a wazer wrong ideas about the connectivity in the region, if he is not navigating.
Secondly, even if he uses navigate, he will look at the route and assume that the error is a result of faulty map editing. And proceed on the said route, planning to take the "wrongly updated, under construction" route.
Thirdly, the segment under construction, will not gather any data for routing by Waze as no Wazer will actually drive on it. It will remain a Decoration on the map, till the road is finished and the segments are connected, into the grid.
I'd like some veterans to add their opinions this thread as well.

MB526 - > Tapatalk 2
Image Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 75 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby harling » Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:04 pm

IMO, mapping the roads under construction is fine, provided they are visibly (in the client) disconnected from the rest of the map, and ideally labeled to indicate that they are under construction. It shows that Waze maps are far more up-to-date than others'.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby BlazeTool » Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:26 pm

I'd definitely recommend against deleting another AM's work, it's just bad karma. If you're concerned about the under-construction roads showing in the client and confusing drivers, I'd recommend PMing the other AM and ask about changing the road type to railroad. That way the work is preserved but it doesn't show and when the road is ready to open it can be changed back quickly.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby weeezer14 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:16 pm

I've put under construction roads in as dirt roads with a name including something like "under construction".
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
weeezer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby lakeyboy » Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:22 am

Thanks guys, I've decided to leave the freeway in place, but I've changed the road type from freeways and ramps to private roads, so when it opens, it can be quickly changed back.
ImageImageImageImage
Proud Melburnian and Australian Country Manager.
Map edits: 273,200+ | Distance travelled: 55,120km+ | Reports made: 1780+
Waze Australia Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WazeAustralia
lakeyboy
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 251 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:37 am

lakeyboy wrote:Thanks guys, I've decided to leave the freeway in place, but I've changed the road type from freeways and ramps to private roads, so when it opens, it can be quickly changed back.


The point of Dirt Roads is that they appear as a very thin gray line in the client, so if you look closely, you can see it there, but it's not distracting, and certainly wouldn't be confused with an operating Freeway.

(Personally, I use Pedestrian Boardwalk for that sort of thing, to make it additionally unrouteable and almost invisible, but still always remember not to connect these to any live roads)
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7565
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 401 times
Been thanked: 969 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby jondrush » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:37 pm

I put a highway under construction on the map because the construction workers were using Waze.
Keeping the Waze maps tidy since 2009
jondrush User Page
Image
jondrush
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 498 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:39 pm

jondrush wrote:I put a highway under construction on the map because the construction workers were using Waze.
I think I may have that problem here in CT with a "busway" they are building along some railroad tracks (some abandoned, some still in use)... This poses the next question, how do I map a busway? Parking Lot Roads?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7116
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 1294 times

Re: Should a new freeway be mapped before it opens?

Postby jondrush » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:51 pm

Private should do. Then the name will show in the client.
Keeping the Waze maps tidy since 2009
jondrush User Page
Image
jondrush
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 498 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users