Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby CBenson » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:10 pm

taddison1 wrote:Good concept, but unfortunately it's generating update requests based on old data.

Yes, this is true. I've seen many that are based on clearly obsolete data. I'm hopeful that once we get the initial round cleared off, then they will be based on more relevant data.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby bgodette » Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:08 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:If Wazers continually get stuck in the back-ups waiting a long time to make a difficult turn, then Waze will eventually have that data and be less likely to give that turn instruction at the times of day where it finds traversing that segment-to-segment pair is very slow. I say let the data do the work.
There's still the uncertainty of whether the node transit time is learned only if the transit happens. If the turn is never taken during the difficult high-traffic times, it may never collect the data needed as what happens when it doesn't have data for that ToD slot but it does for other times of the day?

This is something we should bring up at the next meet if it isn't answered clearly enough before then.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby ArlenBystander » Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:37 am

sockslabs wrote:The following sequence seems to unwedge the save button:

  • Click on the report.
  • Hit Solved.
  • Hit Close.
  • Click on the report again.
  • Hit Not identified, and the save button wakes up.


My trick was to click Solved then change one other item (change a turn, move a segment, etc.). This would enable the save and undo buttons (number of changes would be off by one). I would then undo the last change (now the number of changes is correct) and then save.
Image
CM: USA / AM: Chicago & suburbs / WME βeta Tester
Resources: Map Editing | Best Practices | Road types/USA | Illinois Mapping | IL Functional Class Map
ArlenBystander
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:42 am
Location: Chicago western suburbs
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 198 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:45 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:How about this one? It came up as "Most users did not follow the suggested route"
The roads being proposed as the route are dead ends. They are unnamed and have no city, so there is no address for which to navigate. I did notice they are all recently edited by staff in the last week and these would classically be Portola Valley roads, so maybe there is some connection between them causing this as a false route problem.

That type started several months ago & is discussed in several places in the forum... It works better in urban areas than rural ones...

Several things to note about that type of MP
1) The initial run used very old data, so many of them had been solved before they started showing up on the map
2) A lot of the ones on dead ends are actually Waze turning the user around and sending them back where they came, the tracks are perfectly overlapped, so you can't see the one of the paths.
3) Check both routes (and continue on the one the users took for a while) for screwy turn restrictions/soft turns/one-way roads that should be the other way/one-way roads that should be two-way or vice versa

If you can't find anything, mark it solved & move on, unless you want to attract IGN..
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1330 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:28 pm

mdqueenz wrote:What does the number in the bubble represent (in the driver's actual route)? Is it the number of times that instruction has been ignored?

The number of drivers that went that way - sometimes you will get two (or more) green lines that didn't follow the instructions but went different ways... For example, Waze said "turn left", 8 drivers went straight & 3 turned right...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1330 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:58 pm

mdqueenz wrote:Sure helps in detecting errors. Picks up on tons of stuff that is incorrect, yet drivers don't ever report it.

MD

I agree and overall the feedback from the beta was great, there were a handful of bugs that had to be worked out...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1330 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:50 pm

mdqueenz wrote:Seems like something changed in the editor.

There seems to be a new Automatic Detected Problem " Most users did not follow the suggested route".

All of a sudden i have hundreds pop up in my AM area (NYC, Long Island).

Did we know this was coming?

Anyway, no time to waste. Time to start resolving some problems.

MD

It's been in the beta for a while now... Did not know it was being pushed out to the live editor - and didn't see them in WME when I checked the map at 2am on my way to work...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1330 times

Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:40 pm

outtolunch wrote:How do you clear the cache? I was working on an area with quite a few problems, but they just disappeared when I fixed one of them.

This is clearing your browser cache. It's a function in settings or prefs or tools, depending on your browser.


iOS and Tapatalk have conspired to screw up this post.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:43 pm

bgodette wrote:There's still the uncertainty of whether the node transit time is learned only if the transit happens. If the turn is never taken during the difficult high-traffic times, it may never collect the data needed as what happens when it doesn't have data for that ToD slot but it does for other times of the day?

This is something we should bring up at the next meet if it isn't answered clearly enough before then.

I agree that if no one takes it, it can't get the data, which is why I often recommend taking that obnoxious route a few times and let Waze gather the data.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Re: Changes to Editor - New Automatic Detected Problem

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:37 pm

CrackedLCD wrote:Is this feature only in certain areas so far? I zoomed out just a little while ago and didn't see any new errors beyond the existing ones on locked roads that I cannot fix and are leaving for Level 5s in the area to handle.

I find it hard to believe we're totally error free in my region, but it would kinda awesome if it were true. There's some hard working editors around here who've really made these roads shine over the last six months or so.

The error is going to be prevalent in high-traffic areas due to statistical reasons. The same goes for almost all problems and update requests. Where there is more Wazer density there will be more update requests and problems.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users