House numbers will be down for a while

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

House numbers will be down for a while

Postby shirlig » Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:52 pm

Hi guys,

We'd like to change the house numbers mechanism in WME from editing by ranges to editing pinpoints.

As we can't work on the new mechanism while the old one is active, we will need to temporarily remove the house numbers section from the editor.

We will start working on it in the upcoming days and we estimate that it will take about a month to reactivate house numbers in its new format.

We will provide a 24 hours notice before it's removed.

Thanks,

Shirli
Image
shirlig
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:40 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 2019 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby timbucks » Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:11 pm

Excellent. Doing delivery driving at night will eventually become easier by marking individual numbers especially in areas that are like rabbit warrens...

Also I don't know the cost but the Ordnance survey in the UK have a complete set of house number, street to grid reference and thence latitude and longitude for every building in the country. That would be a useful import if it was cost effective

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
timbucks
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:31 pm

Yes! Please make sure they don't have to actually be attached to a segment. :)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23476
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1083 times
Been thanked: 4573 times

House numbers will be down for a while

Postby maantje76 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:50 pm

timbucks wrote:Excellent. Doing delivery driving at night will eventually become easier

Something like Asterix06? ;)
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356281450.422268.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356281450.422268.jpg (20.55 KiB) Viewed 2702 times
Image
maantje76
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: BeNeLux
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 314 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby sk2380 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:34 am

shirlig wrote:Hi guys,

We'd like to change the house numbers mechanism in WME from editing by ranges to editing pinpoints.

As we can't work on the new mechanism while the old one is active, we will need to temporarily remove the house numbers section from the editor.

We will start working on it in the upcoming days and we estimate that it will take about a month to reactivate house numbers in its new format.

We will provide a 24 hours notice before it's removed.

Thanks,

Shirli


Hi, Shirli,

I tried Adding House no. in India Last week but was not getting updated, even after INTL Map Tiles Update.
Any ways let hope for the best for the upcoming update.
sk2380
CM India

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
sk2380
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:41 pm
Location: India
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby PalmettoC » Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:14 pm

Thanks! I think this will make things a lot more accurate and cut down on a lot of the URs that are unnecessary!
Columbia, SC - Cleveland, TN
AT&T, iPhone 5, iOS 7.0.4, Waze 3.7.7.0
ImageImage
PalmettoC
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:30 am
Location: Cleveland, TN
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby mssusa » Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:32 pm

Does this mean that they do not have to be sequential? We have a nonsequential system here. I am too tired to think now, but I'd appreciate a full explanation for the time when I have had enough sleep :-)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:36 pm

mssusa wrote:Does this mean that they do not have to be sequential? We have a nonsequential system here. I am too tired to think now, but I'd appreciate a full explanation for the time when I have had enough sleep :-)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


The new system sounds like it will be one address at one point - i.e. Put a pin on the map, assign it the address of "123 Main St. Anytown, USA", so it should easily handle your nonsequential addresses...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7077
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 1286 times

Re: Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:17 pm

AndyPoms wrote:The new system sounds like it will be one address at one point - i.e. Put a pin on the map, assign it the address of "123 Main St. Anytown, USA", so it should easily handle your nonsequential addresses...


And hopefully differentiate between '123A' and '123B Main Street' as well, though I suppose a single '123' marker is close enough.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using Tapatalk 2
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 5.0.2, v7.19.401.51)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby mssusa » Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:02 am

AndyPoms wrote:
The new system sounds like it will be one address at one point - i.e. Put a pin on the map, assign it the address of "123 Main St. Anytown, USA", so it should easily handle your nonsequential addresses...


I hope it does. However, it is always scary when waze gods like Alan and Andy and many others have no concrete information. Do HQ talk to anybody before they do anything?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kckccheung