House numbers will be down for a while

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby McCracken808 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:29 am

In reference to the Hawaii addresses, the prefix is for tax key mapping.
McCracken808
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Kunia, HI USA
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby Machete808 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:23 pm

I just key in my address with no dash, and the nav instructions handle it fine. My home is bookmarked, and when I have the audio instructions running it reads 46111 as "46-one-eleven," just as if the dash had been there.

I think when the numbering system comes back online the focus should be on pinpointing business addresses, since those are the ones Bing can't seem to keep up with.
Machete808
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 229 times
Been thanked: 267 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby leifnei » Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:56 am

Nacron wrote:What about adding dashes to address numbers. In Hawaii probably 70% off address look like 94-953 Waikele st.

Does the dash mean anything else that the thousand-separator?
Or would 949-53 be another house than 9-4953?
leifnei
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:34 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby Nacron » Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:25 pm

What about adding dashes to address numbers. In Hawaii probably 70% off address look like 94-953 Waikele st.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
Nacron
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:36 pm

mssusa wrote:Does this mean that they do not have to be sequential? We have a nonsequential system here. I am too tired to think now, but I'd appreciate a full explanation for the time when I have had enough sleep :-)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


The new system sounds like it will be one address at one point - i.e. Put a pin on the map, assign it the address of "123 Main St. Anytown, USA", so it should easily handle your nonsequential addresses...
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7193
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1319 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby mssusa » Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:32 pm

Does this mean that they do not have to be sequential? We have a nonsequential system here. I am too tired to think now, but I'd appreciate a full explanation for the time when I have had enough sleep :-)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby PalmettoC » Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:14 pm

Thanks! I think this will make things a lot more accurate and cut down on a lot of the URs that are unnecessary!
PalmettoC
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:30 am
Location: Cleveland, TN
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby sk2380 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:34 am

shirlig wrote:Hi guys,

We'd like to change the house numbers mechanism in WME from editing by ranges to editing pinpoints.

As we can't work on the new mechanism while the old one is active, we will need to temporarily remove the house numbers section from the editor.

We will start working on it in the upcoming days and we estimate that it will take about a month to reactivate house numbers in its new format.

We will provide a 24 hours notice before it's removed.

Thanks,

Shirli


Hi, Shirli,

I tried Adding House no. in India Last week but was not getting updated, even after INTL Map Tiles Update.
Any ways let hope for the best for the upcoming update.
sk2380
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:41 pm
Location: India
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:31 pm

Yes! Please make sure they don't have to actually be attached to a segment. :)
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby timbucks » Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:11 pm

Excellent. Doing delivery driving at night will eventually become easier by marking individual numbers especially in areas that are like rabbit warrens...

Also I don't know the cost but the Ordnance survey in the UK have a complete set of house number, street to grid reference and thence latitude and longitude for every building in the country. That would be a useful import if it was cost effective

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
timbucks
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: baysidelass, ptilou55s