House numbers will be down for a while

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby twist3r » Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:48 pm

Well, what can I say, bummer :)
It's a shame that we cannot use this function correctly when it will be available. I'm afraid that here will do more damage than good because people will start using only the number even if in reality there's a letter attached to it too. And it will be very confusing for Wazers. At least now I know that Waze can't drive me to the house number. But when I'm expecting that Waze to do it and it will drive me to a hole other house than the correct one it will be a little bit irritating.
Country Manager Romania
Waze 3.9 - Android 5.0.2 OnePlusOne
Logo Waze România
Harta Waze România - Neoficial
ImageImage
https://www.facebook.com/TMTrafic
twist3r
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Timișoara, România
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby twist3r » Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:14 pm

Quote from the Wiki
House numbers cannot contain anything except numbers.


Is this going to be true? Because here in Romania there are a lot of house numbers that have also letters. For example: 18a, 18b, 18c, etc.
If the information from the Wiki is correct, then the house numbers will be useless in my country mostly because when that a letter appears beside a number that usually means that it is a big street and the houses are somehow spread. If I want to go to number 18f for example that can be a very long distance from number 18.
Country Manager Romania
Waze 3.9 - Android 5.0.2 OnePlusOne
Logo Waze România
Harta Waze România - Neoficial
ImageImage
https://www.facebook.com/TMTrafic
twist3r
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Timișoara, România
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby timbucks » Sun Apr 07, 2013 7:47 pm

vickimachado wrote:Thanks! I wondered what the ETA for "road testing" the new numbers would be. (And I realize, that's just an estimate.)


And also is the go live for number searching before the beta for alphanumeric numbers? Logic would say that doing the latter first would make more sense!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
timbucks
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby timbucks » Sat Mar 23, 2013 7:55 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
skapur1 wrote:As others have commented, not allowing for non-numeric numbers is just plain laziness on the developers part.

I disagree. It's an iterative process. The perilous implementation had no ability for non-numerical. Can't say why, I don't know. The new version is a new interface and some more abilities on top on the existing ability. Next will come addresses with alpha and other characters.


It certainly does appear to be perilous!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
timbucks
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby timbucks » Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:11 pm

Excellent. Doing delivery driving at night will eventually become easier by marking individual numbers especially in areas that are like rabbit warrens...

Also I don't know the cost but the Ordnance survey in the UK have a complete set of house number, street to grid reference and thence latitude and longitude for every building in the country. That would be a useful import if it was cost effective

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
timbucks
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby szalejot » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:01 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
szalejot wrote:Any news when house numbering will be up?

No. We are waiting for developers to release a new version with more granular ability of determining the stop point for a house number. It is not always the segment closest to the address.


Damn, it is taking so long.
I think better solution will be to leave old method operational and switch to new one when ready.
Now a lot of streets in Warsaw does not have any numbering at all.
szalejot
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:11 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby szalejot » Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:55 am

Any news when house numbering will be up?
It's annoying, when users reports about wrong addresses (hardly any road in my city has correct numbering) and I can't fix this.
szalejot
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:11 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby Suik » Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:55 pm

wroadd wrote:Public informations that we have from Bratislava meeting:
-geo-location coded house numbers
-handling of the non-numeric characters

+1
The one that returned
almostImageImage
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V, Samsung GS7 stock Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.18.0.1
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby Suik » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:27 pm

Great idea with pinpointing housenumbers :). Please keep in mind possible address format "streetname 1" & "streetname 1/A", where streetname is the same street....so basically the house number field should accept numbers, letters, (some) non-alphabet signs :)
The one that returned
almostImageImage
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V, Samsung GS7 stock Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.18.0.1
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: House numbers will be down for a while

Postby Spil » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:23 am

szalejot wrote:... I think better solution will be to leave old method operational and switch to new one when ready. ...
That would have been a great idea a year ago, when the old editor was retired and house numbering was not available in the new editor ... and in fact it was requested many times then, also.

I can say that the new system will (almost ;)) be worth the wait, once (if?) they ever get it working properly. :? :)
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 34 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users