In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby MikeARogers » Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:27 pm

I've watched the Waze editing video, searched the FAQ and forums but can't seem to find this answer. I apologize in advance the remedial question but I cannot seem to find the answer, and I'm quite curious...

Select a segment on the map editor. Under the "General" tab there are the options: "Road Type" "Direction" and "Level" and while the first two are obvious, the last one is not.

What does "Level" mean? What does it do? I noticed there are both positive and negative possible values, so I'm assuming they don't correspond to editing permissions...?

Thanks is advance!
MikeARogers
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:54 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby CBenson » Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:36 pm

There is a wealth of information in the wiki. Levels are used to indicate that one roadway is above or below another such as when a highway passes over another on a bridge. Currently the level properties of a road segment doesn't have much effect.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10293
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1061 times
Been thanked: 2339 times

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby Laakkus » Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:39 pm

Had more meaning in the old times..
Were/are used in more complex intersections where roads/ramps run in many levels (over/under each others)

Overlapping roads used to cause automatic errors in the old editor.

Someone with access to a real keyboard can explain more thoroughly :-)

Smudged screen with finger.
Image
Area manager: Some cities
Country manager: Finland
Suomenkielinen Wiki | Asemien tarkistus | Editointiohje
i9300 | Resurrection Remix | Waze 3.9
Laakkus
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:48 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby MikeARogers » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:30 pm

Cool. That was my initial intuition. Thanks guys.
MikeARogers
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:54 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby rottielover » Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:29 pm

I'll give the super simplified overview...

When road deck's cross over or under one another, without connecting, that's when you need different levels. Otherwise you could have the client give someone directions to turn right (which in real life would have them turn right off the side of a bridge!).

It keeps the system from connecting those segments or "thinking" that you can turn from one to the other. I recently had this situation where users were reporting "Incorrect Junction". Sure enough there was a road bridge running over the top of another road and waze thought they were connected, as was trying to route people to turn off the bridge onto the other road (without a flying car that would be impossible to do without major damage).

The solution was to set the two segments at differing levels.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:37 pm

rottielover wrote:When road deck's cross over or under one another, without connecting, that's when you need different levels. Otherwise you could have the client give someone directions to turn right (which in real life would have them turn right off the side of a bridge!).

If there's no junction, this won't happen.

Levels are, for the most part now, deprecated though we still use them. The basemap had junctions between overlapping roads which caused lots of turns off of bridges. Those are, for the most part, gone now in those basemapped areas. There was a map problem in the older editor which would suggest that, because these two roads overlap and are at the same level, that a junction may be needed. That code isn't active any longer. I do not believe that level serves any actual purpose any longer, but I'm not saying that officially.

rottielover wrote:...Sure enough there was a road bridge running over the top of another road and waze thought they were connected, as was trying to route people to turn off the bridge onto the other road...

I find that interesting and I've never see that situation. Depending on when this was, any not speaking with any authority to this exact situation, is that this happened, someone saw it on the edit map and removed the junctions between the roadways, but didn't change the levels. Another person posts a UR the next day, before the map update completes, and shows the same bad routing. To the second editor, it looks like the levels caused the problem, which, I believe, is not the case. It was only the junction.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby rottielover » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:45 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I find that interesting and I've never see that situation. Depending on when this was, any not speaking with any authority to this exact situation, is that this happened, someone saw it on the edit map and removed the junctions between the roadways, but didn't change the levels. Another person posts a UR the next day, before the map update completes, and shows the same bad routing. To the second editor, it looks like the levels caused the problem, which, I believe, is not the case. It was only the junction.


That's quite possible... When I came across the UR there was a junction node in the center of the bridge joining the segment "beneath", and turns were allowed. I changed the levels and removed the junction node.

I didn't save the location, but I know it was in IL ...

As you said I assumed that because both segments were set at level 0 waze created the junction, but I didn't pay any attention to prior editors or if it was base-mapped etc. I wasn't aware that level's had been deprecated. I'll keep that in mind in case I find another example.

I do wonder if it affects the GUI display in the WME at all... IE if a segment is set to a lower number with the higher number level segment show up "on top" of the other ?
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:54 pm

rottielover wrote:I do wonder if it affects the GUI display in the WME at all... IE if a segment is set to a lower number with the higher number level segment show up "on top" of the other ?

Yes, it should. Evidence suggests that it properly orders the display for all road types except Freeway. Freeway appears on top of everything regardless of level. Where two Freeways meet, you will find a singularity "inside" which all your dreams are reality. When you drive to this point, you are instantly transported to your destination. And Greg Oden actually plays basketball. And he always has, because time has no meaning.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby rottielover » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:58 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Where two Freeways meet, you will find a singularity "inside" which all your dreams are reality. When you drive to this point, you are instantly transported to your destination. And Greg Oden actually plays basketball. And he always has, because time has no meaning.



Cool .
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: In the editor, what does "Level" mean?

Postby Machete808 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:43 pm

I was having a routing problem that I assume involved road levels. Rather than routing me through a left turn as it had in the past (this was a place I go to almost every morning), suddenly it started directing me past that intersection and then through a U-turn to come back and turn right.

Started checking all the segments. I had been cleaning up connectivity errors in this area which is probably why this happened by mistake, but I discovered the segment leading into the left-hand turn had been notched up to Level 2. I restored it to a zero. When that didn't immediately work, I went back and detached and reattached the segment, hoping to reset things.

Now the intersection is behaving normally. I don't know if it was the level switch at fault, or just some unrelated connectivity problem. My money is on the level setting being a factor.
Aloha,
Vicki
Hawaii State Manager
Area manager, Los Angeles
Country manager, Thailand
Image Image
Need support?
support.google.com/waze > Popular topics > FAQs > Other > Open a ticket
Welcome, new editors:
Here's a good place to start!
Machete808
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 185 times
Been thanked: 202 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher