Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

ایران

Moderators: Unholy, adriansinger, SabiRabi, BehnamNHappy

Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby BehnamNHappy » Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:32 am

Hi All,
It's a while that I am studying how I can active this zone in Tehran to get the best result.
I nearly finalized what is the best solution in my mind. but before I make my derision I need experts opinions in this matter.

For whom are not local users let me 1st describe the situation:
these 2 zones

We have 2 special traffic zones in Tehran. you can see it bellow:
http://trafficcontrol.tehran.ir/portals/0/map/tarh95.5.jpg

The Blue Zone:
Only buses, Taxis, Ambulances, and special cars that are registered can access this zone.

The Red Zone:
Red zone which is bigger & around Blue zone have the same situation but private cars also can access this zone:
- Private car That last number of their plate are even can enter Red zone free in Saturdays, Mondays & Wednesdays.
- Private cars that last number of their plate are odd can enter Red zone free in Sundays, Tuesdays & Thursdays.
- In weekends (Fridays) & all holidays will be free for all.

These zones are made because they want to reduce too high traffic & air pollution in the heart of Tehran.

Entering private cars will cost about 11$ of each day. But always it is not possible for private cars to pay the change and enter. in days that pollution goes bad.entering private cars are restricted totally.

I hope I could describe the situation clearly.
If any thing is unclear please ask.

I didn't find same situation in other cities if any one knows & what they did about this matter in Waze please tell us. (I know london have nearly same zone az blue one).

WAITING for WAZE team to enable "Avoid Toll" option in the app...






-
BehnamNHappy
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby vince1612 » Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:43 am

For the blue zone you can use restrictions on the segments to prevent any routing through the area.

For the red one it is a bit more complicated as there is currently no support for plate numbers natively within WME and the app. But you could limit Waze from routing through that zone too much by applying the toll road attribute on the segments that are used to access the red area since people have to pay (going through a toll adds a penalty and Waze will prefer to avoid it)

When it's suddenly closed for all I would suggest using Real Time Closures, but that seems like it puts work on you. You could however use the script [Script] WME Advanced Closures with which you could prepare a CSV file with all roads to close and simply use it to apply all closures easily and fast with only a few clicks when it's needed.

While I understand this is not really a private installation, I think that this article may give you clues and tips on what can be done to handle driving zones in Waze and to influence routing to work as best as possible:
https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/Private_Installations
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7811
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 4507 times
Been thanked: 4798 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby andrcondon » Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:49 am

I think Santiago in Chile has a situation similar to this, but the restrictions are dynamic, based in the smog forecast.
I don't know if they found a solution

Regards


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
Andrés Condón
andrcondon
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ]
andrcondon
Map Editor - Level 6
Map Editor - Level 6
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:19 am
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 83 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby BehnamNHappy » Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:36 pm

Thanks all for your ideas.
1st let me tell you that if private cars pay the charge they can access both zones, so I think if I use restrictions for blue zone then app don't route through there at all.
I think using toll on entrance segments is best solution for blue zone.
regarding this matter since I knew London have nearly same zone as blue one I take a look at London's map, I liked the way they did:
Please take a look at these two segments
one segments it restricted, because I don't have access to that segment I can't see how they set restrictions, but I guess private cars are restricted on working days.
the other parallel segment is toll.
so what will happen in this scenario:
when destination is in the blue zone:
-if you choose your car as taxi in the app then it will route through restricted segment.
- if you choose private car and it is weekend then app route though restricted segment.
- if you choose private car and it is work day then app route through toll segment and announce it has charge.


Destination is out of the blue zone but enter the blue zone will shorten the travel time what will happen?
I think it will be like this but I am not sure:
- taxi will enter blue zone without any problem through restricted segment.
- private car in weekends also route though blue zone.
- if avoid motorways option is off in the app: private cars in work days will pass though blue zone & indicating toll road.
- if avoid motorways option is on in the app: private cars in work days will not pass blue zone & will route to destination without passing blue zone but longer trip.

- if destination is in blue zone & avoid motorways option is on in the app: private cars in work days......(what will happen?) :)

if I am missing something I will be happy to hear about it.
still thinking about red zone solution.
BehnamNHappy
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby BehnamNHappy » Sat Oct 01, 2016 7:20 am

Hi,
I made a sample to for CCZ on the map, hereit is.

I tried get route from point A to B. there is many routes between these 2 points & one of the good routes will cross that ramp which I added restriction & toll road.
when I check routes on "Route Speeds" Script every thing works OK & as soon as I enable avoid toll in script it wont route trough that ramp any more & show me different routes, but the problem is when I try the same situation on app it will route trough the toll road even if I turn on avoid motorways! it also show me 2 more alternate routes but do not ignore the toll ramp.
I tried to get route between 2 cities & avoid motorways worked OK, I don't understand why this option don't work for this toll ramp!
BehnamNHappy
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby vince1612 » Sat Oct 01, 2016 7:29 am

BehnamNHappy wrote:every thing works ok & as soon as I enable avoid toll in script it wont route trough that ramp any more & show me different routes, but the problem is when I try the same situation on app it will route trough the toll road even if I turn on avoid motorways! it also show me 2 more alternate routes but do not ignore the toll ramp.

From reading this it sounds like you are using avoid toll with the script but avoid freeways on the app. Why don't you also use avoid toll on the app?
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7811
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 4507 times
Been thanked: 4798 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby BehnamNHappy » Sat Oct 01, 2016 7:34 am

vince1612 wrote:
BehnamNHappy wrote:every thing works ok & as soon as I enable avoid toll in script it wont route trough that ramp any more & show me different routes, but the problem is when I try the same situation on app it will route trough the toll road even if I turn on avoid motorways! it also show me 2 more alternate routes but do not ignore the toll ramp.

From reading this it sounds like you are using avoid toll with the script but avoid freeways on the app. Why don't you also use avoid toll on the app?


Yes exactly, it's because I thought avoid motorways in app works as avoid toll. As you can see in below screenshot I only have avoid motorways option:
[ img ]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BehnamNHappy
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby vince1612 » Sat Oct 01, 2016 7:45 am

Ah no that is different.

I am using the beta but I have avoid toll, avoid freeways (same as motorways) and avoid ferry.

Is your app in debug mode? Try typing "2##2" in the address search bar and press search. Sometimes that unlocks a few hidden functions.
In any case the toll should act as a light penalty on routing through that segment even if avoid toll is OFF (not 100% avoid but it it should prefer other roads unless that one is really faster), setting avoid toll would in principle forbid it completely unless there are no other options.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7811
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 4507 times
Been thanked: 4798 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby BehnamNHappy » Sat Oct 01, 2016 7:50 am

Sorry a big mistake from me since here all freeways have toll and when I enable this option it avoid them I thought this option works as avoid toll also.

I tried that and debug mode enabled but still I don't have avoid toll option :(
What should we do now?!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BehnamNHappy
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: Congestion Charge Zone (Traffic Zone)

Postby vince1612 » Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:51 am

It may be one of those features that is enabled per country in the app. You could also write to the contact you have about the other things and add that to the list. However as I said it should apply a light penalty even if you don't have the option.

I never turn on avoid toll on my app and there was an illogical longer detour that the app was making me do for a long time. One day I realized that the faster way had a toll segment, after I removed it it started suggesting the faster and more logical route. So even if you don't have avoid toll enabled or as an option it should have an effet on routing.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7811
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 4507 times
Been thanked: 4798 times

Next

Return to Iran

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users