Closed Road while Road works

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Closed Road while Road works

Postby fenryl » Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:49 pm

Hi i'm missing the Option to report closed roads cause of road works

or do i have some tomato's on my eyes?

Cheers
Cenk :?:
fenryl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:48 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Closed Road while Road works

Postby gettingthere » Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:06 pm

There is no such option in the Waze application.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CrackedLCD » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:26 am

I really hope the Waze crew can add that option at some point. We just had a hurricane blow through and it caused some moderate flooding, which closed many area roads. It would have been nice to have an alert specifically for that, instead of me using the "object in road" section and noting "water over road - closed" in the comments section for 10 different roads.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:22 pm

If they are long-terms closures, the roads can be disconnected in the editor. See the guidelines in the wiki for more, too.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:15 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:If they are long-terms closures, the roads can be disconnected in the editor.

You could also change the turn-restrictions to exclude temporary closed roads froum routing.

But either disconecting or manipulating turn restictions...you'll have to wait for an update to get it into effect. So if a road ist closed for about a week you can't really do something in Waze (Alan, please correct me, if I'm wrong)

CrackedLCD wrote:I really hope the Waze crew can add that option at some point.

I absolutely agree and second your motion...
We had a long-term construction zone here in Vienna, Austria, with aditional speed cams and reduced speed limits - after its clearance the community had everything changed back to normal in aproximatly no time ;) ...
...still I am enjoying warnings for no more existing speedcams for about 2 weeks now because there was no update of the Livemap since.

Don't get me wrong, Waze has still the far fastest Updates, but as far as I see it: temporary road closures can't be dealt with in the moment.
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2411
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 443 times
Been thanked: 1147 times

Closed Road while Road works

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:42 pm

I usually do a disconnect or depending on the situation, just delete the road being changed especially if it is not going to exist in the future either. I don't rely on turn restrictions very often because they are not foolproof an Waze can and does route through them if it calculates a lower penalty for doing so.


--
If it looks strange, or I used bad grammar or misspelled anything, it's my phone's fault.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby vnikolic » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:18 pm

I have been looking for the same options. Here in Toronto, ON, we regularly have roads closed for construction, and being able to mark that on the fly could save us all HOURS in traffic. IE, a simple (and sometimes frequent) highway exit closure on my way home from work makes me travel another 5km in heavy traffic to another exit! And than I have to travel 5km back! However, if I know it's closed, I can take an exit 1km earlier and take a detour home.

A reporting option on the phone would be fantastic, rather than having to edit maps later on. This way anyone could report it, and Wase could reroute and recalculate routes accordingly. Also having an option to mark the duration of closure (here they are regularly marked with construction start/finish dates - they sometimes go later, but they never finish earlier). So setting an end date or hour for closure would be amazing!!!!!
vnikolic
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:16 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:25 am

vnikolic wrote:A reporting option on the phone would be fantastic, rather than having to edit maps later on. This way anyone could report it, and Wase could reroute and recalculate routes accordingly.

I think this would be useful but there must be very strict controls around it. Can you imagine how much Waze would suck if just 1 or 2 people in a high volume freeway decide to post a road closed causing Waze to try to reroute people off the freeway for hours?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CBenson » Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:39 am

If waze can't tell when a high volume freeway isn't closed, there not using their data very well.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.1.0.1
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10004
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 982 times
Been thanked: 2205 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:19 am

CBenson wrote:If waze can't tell when a high volume freeway isn't closed, there not using their data very well.

Not necessarily...as far as I see it Waze just tracks Wazers and not TMC. If the Wazers avoid a "closed" road, Waze won't notice any traffic - therefore how would they get the information? In other words there is no data to use in that matter.
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2411
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 443 times
Been thanked: 1147 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ottonomy