Closed Road while Road works

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby WeeeZer14 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:10 pm

The saving grace for a malicious user reporting a freeway closed would have to be OTHER Wazers CURRENTLY on the same segment. Say 3 Wazers are driving on the Freeway around the same time and place (details of what is close enough time and distance wise would have to be determined). One reports road closed. The other two fly by at freeway speed like nothing is wrong. Waze could then ignore the report.

If there are enough Wazer's, it shouldn't be an issue.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 4816
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby WassupET » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:06 pm

Why minimize it to road closures, what about closed gas stations or restaurants! As for roads why not allow the user the option to include or exclude user generated closures or grant a trusted status as mentioned above. For emergencies and disasters like the hurricane this is an essential for people to get around safely and efficiently.
WassupET
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby vnikolic » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:18 pm

I have been looking for the same options. Here in Toronto, ON, we regularly have roads closed for construction, and being able to mark that on the fly could save us all HOURS in traffic. IE, a simple (and sometimes frequent) highway exit closure on my way home from work makes me travel another 5km in heavy traffic to another exit! And than I have to travel 5km back! However, if I know it's closed, I can take an exit 1km earlier and take a detour home.

A reporting option on the phone would be fantastic, rather than having to edit maps later on. This way anyone could report it, and Wase could reroute and recalculate routes accordingly. Also having an option to mark the duration of closure (here they are regularly marked with construction start/finish dates - they sometimes go later, but they never finish earlier). So setting an end date or hour for closure would be amazing!!!!!
vnikolic
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:16 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby tdsm » Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:10 pm

Any news on this, guys?
Waze warning you about traffic jams ahead is great. Getting stuck in the city because of closed roads = :x :evil:
tdsm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby mouseRider » Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:02 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I usually do a disconnect or depending on the situation, just delete the road being changed especially if it is not going to exist in the future either. I don't rely on turn restrictions very often because they are not foolproof an Waze can and does route through them if it calculates a lower penalty for doing so.


--
If it looks strange, or I used bad grammar or misspelled anything, it's my phone's fault.


I just encountered this situation around Marshalls Creek, PA. Massive constructions in that area and two bridges were out and Waze was directing me to the first then to the second as a redirect.

I've since used turn-restrictions on both to reflect the construction as I'm not certain how long the work will be and hesitant to delete the closed segment.

Perhaps a COMMENT field in the Map Editor would be another great feature to have to allow contributors to attach a comment to certain changes.

The unpredictability of the LiveMap update schedule is probably the one thing that would toss a wrench into any effort to get the maps beneficially up-to-date with construction closures and even more so for short-term and very-short-term closures—All of which could be a great advantage to Wazers if they are accurately reflected in a timely manner.
mouseRider
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:46 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby ldimasi » Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:48 pm

Caradellino wrote:
WeeeZer14 wrote:The saving grace for a malicious user reporting a freeway closed would have to be OTHER Wazers CURRENTLY on the same segment. Say 3 Wazers are driving on the Freeway around the same time and place (details of what is close enough time and distance wise would have to be determined). One reports road closed. The other two fly by at freeway speed like nothing is wrong. Waze could then ignore the report.

WeeeZer14, I think your concept is perfect for dense areas - as you state yourself
WeeeZer14 wrote:If there are enough Wazer's

But what if there are not - there has to be a way in removing erroneous (think positive ;) ) reports without being there or the need of going there.

Don't get me wrong, i second such a feature very much - but it has to be as fast as a report but stay there until terminated. :!:


Why not reserve the creation of a "road closed" sign to registered user with a minimum rank?

Lorenzo
ldimasi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Closed Road while Road works

Postby gettingthere » Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:06 pm

There is no such option in the Waze application.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Closed Road while Road works

Postby fenryl » Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:49 pm

Hi i'm missing the Option to report closed roads cause of road works

or do i have some tomato's on my eyes?

Cheers
Cenk :?:
fenryl
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:48 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:47 am

Turn restrictions and disconnecting roads are all well and good if you're an area manager, but if the road is locked, I can't do jack. Bankhead Tunnel in Mobile, Alabama is closed this week for repairs, so it wouldn't even show up in the map since it's not updated but once in a blue moon. This is where that "road closed" alert would sure come in handy.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CrackedLCD » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:26 am

I really hope the Waze crew can add that option at some point. We just had a hurricane blow through and it caused some moderate flooding, which closed many area roads. It would have been nice to have an alert specifically for that, instead of me using the "object in road" section and noting "water over road - closed" in the comments section for 10 different roads.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]