Closed Road while Road works

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:04 am

CBenson wrote:By the wazer reporting the road closed

Of course, I agree, that is the easy part, no doubt on that. It could be done much like the normal reports, but without being automatically deleted after a certain periode of time.
CBenson wrote:There really shouldn't be any problem with malicious (ignorant or otherwise erroneous) reports on high volume freeways, because its likely there will be wazers traversing the road.

Thats the part I'm not so sure about. In theory I agree with you, but practically I think Wazers would avoid a route over a closed road. So you need scouts traveling intentionally to a closed road to check it, spreading the news, so that Wazers start traversing the before closed roads again to generate the information you think to use to cancel the report.
A maybe better way could be a feature, that allows you to quit the report - especially if you have additional sources of information, best from remote location, so you don't have to wait until you get there again.
Malicious (ignorant or otherwise erroneous) reports could be dealt with immediately too - by the next passing Wazer.

For background information: here in Austria we have (beside the main cities) a rather scarce Wazer density, thats why I fear, we won't get enough Wazer tracks to remove a road closure automatically.
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1400
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 205 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:27 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:The saving grace for a malicious user reporting a freeway closed would have to be OTHER Wazers CURRENTLY on the same segment. Say 3 Wazers are driving on the Freeway around the same time and place (details of what is close enough time and distance wise would have to be determined). One reports road closed. The other two fly by at freeway speed like nothing is wrong. Waze could then ignore the report.

WeeeZer14, I think your concept is perfect for dense areas - as you state yourself
WeeeZer14 wrote:If there are enough Wazer's

But what if there are not - there has to be a way in removing erroneous (think positive ;) ) reports without being there or the need of going there.

Don't get me wrong, i second such a feature very much - but it has to be as fast as a report but stay there until terminated. :!:
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1400
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 205 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:29 pm

CrackedLCD wrote: it wouldn't even show up in the map since it's not updated but once in a blue moon

...therefore it has to be a client-based solution, i don't think, there's a way around it. Imagine the Fuel prices had to be managed via WME... :roll:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:We now need to find out what Waze plans to do with the "Road Closed" report type just added to the app in the iOS beta.

So maybe there is hope in this matter, think positive... :mrgreen:
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1400
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 205 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CBenson » Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:39 am

If waze can't tell when a high volume freeway isn't closed, there not using their data very well.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6890
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 438 times
Been thanked: 991 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CBenson » Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:27 am

Caradellino wrote:[therefore how would they get the information?
By the wazer reporting the road closed - that's the whole point. Sure waze can't just assume that a road is closed where there is no traffic. But no traffic and a road closed report would seem good enough to me. There really shouldn't be any problem with malicious (ignorant or otherwise erroneous) reports on high volume freeways, because its likely there will be wazers traversing the road.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6890
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 438 times
Been thanked: 991 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CrackedLCD » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:26 am

I really hope the Waze crew can add that option at some point. We just had a hurricane blow through and it caused some moderate flooding, which closed many area roads. It would have been nice to have an alert specifically for that, instead of me using the "object in road" section and noting "water over road - closed" in the comments section for 10 different roads.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:47 am

Turn restrictions and disconnecting roads are all well and good if you're an area manager, but if the road is locked, I can't do jack. Bankhead Tunnel in Mobile, Alabama is closed this week for repairs, so it wouldn't even show up in the map since it's not updated but once in a blue moon. This is where that "road closed" alert would sure come in handy.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Closed Road while Road works

Postby fenryl » Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:49 pm

Hi i'm missing the Option to report closed roads cause of road works

or do i have some tomato's on my eyes?

Cheers
Cenk :?:
fenryl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:48 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Closed Road while Road works

Postby gettingthere » Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:06 pm

There is no such option in the Waze application.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby ldimasi » Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:48 pm

Caradellino wrote:
WeeeZer14 wrote:The saving grace for a malicious user reporting a freeway closed would have to be OTHER Wazers CURRENTLY on the same segment. Say 3 Wazers are driving on the Freeway around the same time and place (details of what is close enough time and distance wise would have to be determined). One reports road closed. The other two fly by at freeway speed like nothing is wrong. Waze could then ignore the report.

WeeeZer14, I think your concept is perfect for dense areas - as you state yourself
WeeeZer14 wrote:If there are enough Wazer's

But what if there are not - there has to be a way in removing erroneous (think positive ;) ) reports without being there or the need of going there.

Don't get me wrong, i second such a feature very much - but it has to be as fast as a report but stay there until terminated. :!:


Why not reserve the creation of a "road closed" sign to registered user with a minimum rank?

Lorenzo
ldimasi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]