Closed Road while Road works

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:27 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:The saving grace for a malicious user reporting a freeway closed would have to be OTHER Wazers CURRENTLY on the same segment. Say 3 Wazers are driving on the Freeway around the same time and place (details of what is close enough time and distance wise would have to be determined). One reports road closed. The other two fly by at freeway speed like nothing is wrong. Waze could then ignore the report.

WeeeZer14, I think your concept is perfect for dense areas - as you state yourself
WeeeZer14 wrote:If there are enough Wazer's

But what if there are not - there has to be a way in removing erroneous (think positive ;) ) reports without being there or the need of going there.

Don't get me wrong, i second such a feature very much - but it has to be as fast as a report but stay there until terminated. :!:
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 463 times
Been thanked: 1221 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:37 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:If there are enough Wazer's, it shouldn't be an issue.

This and other things are what I meant by "there must be very strict controls."
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4791 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby WeeeZer14 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:10 pm

The saving grace for a malicious user reporting a freeway closed would have to be OTHER Wazers CURRENTLY on the same segment. Say 3 Wazers are driving on the Freeway around the same time and place (details of what is close enough time and distance wise would have to be determined). One reports road closed. The other two fly by at freeway speed like nothing is wrong. Waze could then ignore the report.

If there are enough Wazer's, it shouldn't be an issue.
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:04 am

CBenson wrote:By the wazer reporting the road closed

Of course, I agree, that is the easy part, no doubt on that. It could be done much like the normal reports, but without being automatically deleted after a certain periode of time.
CBenson wrote:There really shouldn't be any problem with malicious (ignorant or otherwise erroneous) reports on high volume freeways, because its likely there will be wazers traversing the road.

Thats the part I'm not so sure about. In theory I agree with you, but practically I think Wazers would avoid a route over a closed road. So you need scouts traveling intentionally to a closed road to check it, spreading the news, so that Wazers start traversing the before closed roads again to generate the information you think to use to cancel the report.
A maybe better way could be a feature, that allows you to quit the report - especially if you have additional sources of information, best from remote location, so you don't have to wait until you get there again.
Malicious (ignorant or otherwise erroneous) reports could be dealt with immediately too - by the next passing Wazer.

For background information: here in Austria we have (beside the main cities) a rather scarce Wazer density, thats why I fear, we won't get enough Wazer tracks to remove a road closure automatically.
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 463 times
Been thanked: 1221 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CBenson » Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:27 am

Caradellino wrote:[therefore how would they get the information?
By the wazer reporting the road closed - that's the whole point. Sure waze can't just assume that a road is closed where there is no traffic. But no traffic and a road closed report would seem good enough to me. There really shouldn't be any problem with malicious (ignorant or otherwise erroneous) reports on high volume freeways, because its likely there will be wazers traversing the road.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:19 am

CBenson wrote:If waze can't tell when a high volume freeway isn't closed, there not using their data very well.

Not necessarily...as far as I see it Waze just tracks Wazers and not TMC. If the Wazers avoid a "closed" road, Waze won't notice any traffic - therefore how would they get the information? In other words there is no data to use in that matter.
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 463 times
Been thanked: 1221 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby CBenson » Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:39 am

If waze can't tell when a high volume freeway isn't closed, there not using their data very well.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:25 am

vnikolic wrote:A reporting option on the phone would be fantastic, rather than having to edit maps later on. This way anyone could report it, and Wase could reroute and recalculate routes accordingly.

I think this would be useful but there must be very strict controls around it. Can you imagine how much Waze would suck if just 1 or 2 people in a high volume freeway decide to post a road closed causing Waze to try to reroute people off the freeway for hours?
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4791 times

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby vnikolic » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:18 pm

I have been looking for the same options. Here in Toronto, ON, we regularly have roads closed for construction, and being able to mark that on the fly could save us all HOURS in traffic. IE, a simple (and sometimes frequent) highway exit closure on my way home from work makes me travel another 5km in heavy traffic to another exit! And than I have to travel 5km back! However, if I know it's closed, I can take an exit 1km earlier and take a detour home.

A reporting option on the phone would be fantastic, rather than having to edit maps later on. This way anyone could report it, and Wase could reroute and recalculate routes accordingly. Also having an option to mark the duration of closure (here they are regularly marked with construction start/finish dates - they sometimes go later, but they never finish earlier). So setting an end date or hour for closure would be amazing!!!!!
vnikolic
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:16 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Closed Road while Road works

Postby Caradellino » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:15 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:If they are long-terms closures, the roads can be disconnected in the editor.

You could also change the turn-restrictions to exclude temporary closed roads froum routing.

But either disconecting or manipulating turn restictions...you'll have to wait for an update to get it into effect. So if a road ist closed for about a week you can't really do something in Waze (Alan, please correct me, if I'm wrong)

CrackedLCD wrote:I really hope the Waze crew can add that option at some point.

I absolutely agree and second your motion...
We had a long-term construction zone here in Vienna, Austria, with aditional speed cams and reduced speed limits - after its clearance the community had everything changed back to normal in aproximatly no time ;) ...
...still I am enjoying warnings for no more existing speedcams for about 2 weeks now because there was no update of the Livemap since.

Don't get me wrong, Waze has still the far fastest Updates, but as far as I see it: temporary road closures can't be dealt with in the moment.
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 463 times
Been thanked: 1221 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: deanonzl, Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

cron