using Waze overseas

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: using Waze overseas

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:26 pm

Your Waze account will work when you travel (unless you go to Israel which has it's own user database & systems).

You may have to force Waze to the proper server when you are in Ireland and/or on your return to the USA (I'll send you a PM about this shortly)...

You will get points and editing rights on the http://WORLD.waze.com server...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: using Waze overseas

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:10 pm

mikedove wrote:I am going the other way from UK to the USA (Florida), will my waze work or will I have to point it at a server?

Thanks mike

The app SHOULD automatically make the switch, and your points in the USA will end up on the WWW.waze.com server.

If Waze isn't working correctly (i.e. No roads on the map) you may have to force it to switch to the NA Infrastructure (see http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Search_codes). Don't forget to switch it back when you go home.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: using Waze overseas

Postby davidg666 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:47 am

omba_de wrote:If you'd travel to Austria, I could tell you where to get cheap data SIM cards. But Ireland... Sorry. No clue.

Go into any phone shop (there are four main carriers: O2, Vodafone, Meteor and Three, and they all have shops on main shopping streets in most towns and cities) and ask for a prepaid SIM (make sure to get the right size SIM for your phone). You'll pay maybe ten euro, but the SIM will have a few euro of credit pre-loaded on it.

For the record: the map in Ireland is very complete in and around Dublin. Most of the major cities are fairly OK, but the quality of the map in regional towns depends a lot on how good the satellite imagery is in the editor for those towns, because obviously it's hard to map towns without good satellite images. Motorways, major highways, and main roads are all fairly complete in most areas.

Enjoy your trip!

David Graham
Country manager for Ireland
AM for Dublin, Wicklow, Kilkenny, Wexford, Graiguenamanagh and Enniscorthy

Image
davidg666
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:58 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: using Waze overseas

Postby jimmyngcm » Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:21 am

I am residing in Malaysia. I travelled to California last Nov/Dec and I started to use Waze in the States. Waze automatically registers you and made the necessary structural changes and then starts me off as a Baby Wazer. I did close to 2,000 miles and was pushed through the ranks quickly. When I returned to Malaysia, all my original points and ranking in Malaysia was reinstated as before and I believe when I travel again to CAlifornia, my points and ranking there would be reinstated again to reflect the region.
Image
Area Manager : Wangsa Maju, Puchong (Malaysia)
Waze Communities in Malaysia
Facebook : Waze in Malaysia on Facebook
Google+ : Waze in Malaysia on Google+
jimmyngcm
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:30 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 1 time

using Waze overseas

Postby jmccall93 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:51 pm

I am in the US, but would like to use Waze when I am in Ireland in a few months...Would Waze still work over there for me as well as keeping me on the correct side of the road direction-wise? Or i there anything I would need to download to supplement it?


Jill
jmccall93
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: using Waze overseas

Postby maxkappell » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:13 am

@ jmccall93

I'd suggest getting a 3Ireland pay-as-you-go SIM for use over here (providing your phone is not SIM locked). The other networks don't have as generous an allowance for data.

If you top-up with €20 credit you will get what 3 call "all you can eat" data - approx 15GB
Lesser amounts have lesser usage allowances.

if you go to a 3 store to get SIM they will charge you for the card.

If you have any friends/relatives in Ireland that you will be visiting then get them to order the SIM online for free. you can collect it from them when you arrive ;)

for more details:

http://www.three.ie/products_services/p ... index.html
maxkappell
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:04 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: using Waze overseas

Postby mikedove » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:29 pm

I am going the other way from UK to the USA (Florida), will my waze work or will I have to point it at a server?

Thanks mike
mikedove
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 2:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

using Waze overseas

Postby omba_de » Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:15 pm

Hey.
You'll need a working Internet connection. And data roaming isn't very cheap.
Perhaps there's a possibility to get a cheap data SIM for your phone.
Routing should be ok.
If you'd travel to Austria, I could tell you where to get cheap data SIM cards. But Ireland... Sorry. No clue.

Yours,
Omba
CM-Austria

Probleme mit i-Gerät und Waze? Bitte melden. Als iOS-expert kann ich dir vielleicht weiter helfen!
Image


AT-Wiki
Wie Waze Routen Kalkuliert
omba_de
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: Austria / Germany
Has thanked: 643 times
Been thanked: 727 times


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bigbear3764, Google Feedfetcher