Winter condtions in Finland

[ img ]

Moderators: Unholy, ranttine, Karstunen

Winter condtions in Finland

Postby pjw65 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:24 pm

Hi,

I'm a Waze country manager in Switzerland and want to travel to North Cape with my Tesla car end of December 2017. :D

I've seen the fastest route goes over Sweden and Finland. It's also a good reason to visit Finland. :mrgreen:
How are the road conditions in December/Januar?
- Töre, Sweden
- Pello, Finland (I need that CHAdeMO Charging station) ;)
- probably over Sirkka, Finland (another CHAdeMO, that I could also skip, if the route E8 is better)
- Hetta, Finland (Route 93)
- Alta, Norway

I think the only critical road is Route 93 Finland-Norway with highest elevation 450m. In Switzerland are the passes closed during the winter months. We have instead some tunnels and also some trains, that transport cars. What do I have to expect between 21.12.-7.1. ?

Sorry for this off-topic question in English. I was also thinking to direct PM a level 5 editor of the region like @ranttine. :oops:

Thank you for every help.
[ img ]
CM Switzerland
Deutsch und English speaking/writing
pjw65
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs

Re: Winter condtions in Finland

Postby kumiankka » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:42 pm

Hi and Welcome to Finland! Even if you are just trespassing :)

Road conditions can be observed via network of weather cameras maintained by the Finnish Transport Agency, a part of the Ministry of Transport and Communications. Cameras are meant for local contractors doing the actual maintenance work but they serve the public as well. Cameras can be found at:
http://liikennetilanne.liikennevirasto.fi/
Switch to English from top right corner and activate Road condition cameras layer from the right-side menu. Most of the camera sites report wind speed and air & road surface temperatures as well, and a site can have more than one camera, pointing to different directions.