Adding new roads in my area and editing existing roads.

[ img ]

Moderators: Unholy, YanisKyr, davidg666, arthurohara

Re: Adding new roads in my area and editing existing roads.

Postby davidg666 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:17 am

Hi Laois-JMC,
Laois-JMC wrote:Hello, I'm new to Waze but have done quite a bit of mapping in OSM. Just wondering what is the story with adding new roads. I added some this evening but at the other end of the road, the location is completely incorrect. What do I do in a case like this?

As you've probably noticed, there are quite a lot of roads missing from the map, so the more missing roads you can add the better!

These resources might be helpful, if you haven't come across them already (well, looks like you've already found the forum :) - welcome!):

1. The wiki: http://wiki.waze.com/wiki/Main_Page
2. Map editing guide in the wiki: https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/Best_map_editing_practice
3. The forum: https://www.waze.com/forum/
4. The Ireland section of the forum: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=119
5. The Ireland section of the wiki: http://wiki.waze.com/wiki/Ireland

(there's a new wiki, called Wazeopedia, but we haven't got around to moving the Ireland pages there yet)

What do you mean about the location at the other end of a road being completely incorrect? Do you mean that the road you want to join to is in the wrong place or that there's something else wrong at that location? Please post a permalink of any examples, if you have them.

There are some cases where the satellite images in the editor are out of date and new roads have been built that aren't visible yet, so we can't always rely on the satellite images, but they're pretty handy when they are up to date.