Railroad Policy for WME

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Railroad Policy for WME

Postby Daknife » Wed Nov 14, 2012 5:20 am

The policy is do NOT waze on a railroad, it will corrupt the traffic data of nearby roads. As to getting points, yes they will get the miles traveled. Waze can route you down non-driveable roads and road types, you get points for distance traveled with or without any roads on the map.

As to editing, landmarking is NOT the way to go. Stations can be landmarked but railroads no. If you want to put in railroads feel free to do so, there is a road type just for railroads, but make sure that the railroad NEVER junctions with a driveable road. It can cross roads all you want but do not connect it to any road with a junction node or Waze will consider it a penalized but still viable route. (meaning some folks may be given routes down the track.

And finally if you do draw in or come across any railroads make sure they are set to a level of -5 so they do not overlay any when drawn on the map or in the client.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1677
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 224 times

Railroad Policy for WME

Postby fvwazing » Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:18 am

If that is your country's policy... did you try to PM the user?
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Railroad Policy for WME

Postby fvwazing » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:50 pm

cherianchris wrote: It's not a big deal, it's just a railroad, but it is something which is not correct on WME, and is bothering me.


Cherianchris, you are not yet doing this for too long now. YOU still can go back! :-)
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Railroad Policy for WME

Postby fvwazing » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:54 pm

cherianchris wrote:
umopapisdn wrote:i have someone in my area who keeps adding railroads. i keep deleting them. they aren't commuter railroads, and there's maybe one line that handles amtrak traffic once a day at most.

based on GPS points, they're aren't being added by wazers on the trains, and they end approximately 4 miles on either side of an interstate highway. gone!
As Jason mentioned earlier, is it possible that the tracks were made by someone on an airplane?
Do pilots use highways as reference points?

MB526 - > Tapatalk 2


Highways as reference points - WWI fighter planes would have if there were freeways then. And I think that last time the consensus was that most planes are too fast for paving; only the slowest of planes could - cropdusters.
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Railroad Policy for WME

Postby jemay » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:45 am

With the RR on the map, I have noticed less System Generated error message because of people running Waze on the train...
PLEASE READ: Wiki Resources: FAQ|Map Editor|Best Practices
Global Champ | Regional Coordinator for US South West - CA,NV,UT,AZ,NM,CO,HI | CM for US
Samsung Galaxy Note® 4 (SM-N910V) - Verizon - Waze Ver. 3.9.3.905
jemay
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:26 am
Location: US South West - Lakewood, CA
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 808 times

Re: Railroad Policy for WME

Postby jemay » Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:29 am

Kuhlkatz wrote:The biggest problem is actually people that insist on re-paving railroads over & over again, since it's transport related and do not appear on the client map.
I agree, I have deleted a lot of red rail lines... but no system errors if an existing segments are there.... I would find System Errors if the segment stopped.
PLEASE READ: Wiki Resources: FAQ|Map Editor|Best Practices
Global Champ | Regional Coordinator for US South West - CA,NV,UT,AZ,NM,CO,HI | CM for US
Samsung Galaxy Note® 4 (SM-N910V) - Verizon - Waze Ver. 3.9.3.905
jemay
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:26 am
Location: US South West - Lakewood, CA
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 808 times

Re: Railroad Policy for WME

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:08 am

The biggest problem is actually people that insist on re-paving railroads over & over again, since it's transport related and do not appear on the client map.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Railroad Policy for WME

Postby Timbones » Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:46 am

You can have both the Railroad and a Landmark. It will be visible in the client, and you won't get repeat paving or map problems.

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Country Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.98 (Dec 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 4820
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 432 times
Been thanked: 1413 times

Re: Railroad Policy for WME

Postby Timbones » Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:22 am

Another more, recent thread here: viewtopic.php?t=33232

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Country Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.98 (Dec 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 4820
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 432 times
Been thanked: 1413 times

Re: Railroad Policy for WME

Postby TonyG-UK » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:14 am

See http://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=23128 this thread for a discussion on why using landmarks for railroads is a bad idea.
Image
UK Country Manager. Area manager: Wiltshire, UK
TonyG-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:36 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], gribouille62