Open letter to Waze on infrastructure

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Open letter to Waze on infrastructure

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:05 pm

I just sent this off to alpha this morning. This is no big deal. I'm sure others have sent similar thoughts. Just figured I'd post this and perhaps Waze can respond here.
Friends,

I am a Waze fan and supporter. I and many other spend an inordinate amount of time improving the maps and requesting changes meant to improve Waze. You probably hear from me more often that you like. :)

One thing we notice, and I know you know about it too, is that the routing and/or map server infrastructure software is unstable. Whenever the Israeli weekend or a holiday rolls around, it is a running joke that routing problems and map editing errors and slowness increase exponentially during those times. It's a joke, but it's not really funny. We should not be able to predict the days that routing errors and timeouts will increase.

I work in IT, so I know about these kinds of things. Whenever a problem rears its head (a problem is a series of incidents), a cross-functional team is put together and they spend their entire days and sometimes weeks to thoroughly research the problem and make and execute plans to bring that problem or problems to an end. Sometimes it is hardware, sometimes OS or patching, sometimes database settings tweaks or patching. Whatever it is, we dedicate resources to eradicating that problem. It takes time, it takes money, it takes discipline and it takes patience.