Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby R4CLucky14 » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:52 am

I don't think there is a good solution to this. Basically, I'm always aware of the posted limit on the road I'm on (unless if it's a city road wo/ a posted limit in a city I don't travel through often - Oak Ridge, I'm talking to you).

Basically, it's a nice feature that, I'm willing to bet, 90% of Wazers would disable. I would disable it.

Secondly, there is no way to really keep tabs on speed limit data. Sure, you can import it, but that probably has at least some errors, if not many. Why add even more errors to Waze :oops: ?

Or leave it to the AM's - but, I can't tell what a posted limit is from GPS tracks, average speed (if I had access), or aerials. Do you expect me (and other AM's) to drive on every inch of road in Southeastern TN (or AM area) just to see if there might be a speed limit sign on a certain stretch of road? (Forgive me if there is a better way to find speed limit data.)

There's no sensible, smart way to implement it. And as others have said, there's no real gain from it, except headache.
Tennessee Editors, paritipate in our Wikipage

Area Manager: Southeast Tennessee, USA. Includes Athens, Benton, Cleveland, Englewood, Greenback, Maryville, Madisonville, and surrounding areas.
Phone: HTC Thunderbolt, Verizon, Android 2.3.4.
R4CLucky14
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:55 pm

fvwazing wrote:With fresh mapdata I would get irrelevant warnings some of the time...

My biggest complaint with Garmin was when they introduced the "you are driving faster than the posted speed" alert by turning the current speed font red. It was both difficult to read at night and impossible to disable.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:00 pm

ryryryry87 wrote:i am kind of curious the ages of people supporting this compared to those against this :roll:

Thanks for the :roll:

I was in my 30's when the Berlin Wall fell. You?

(I think we have both made our points here. I suspect others are tiring of it.)
OldGnome
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:33 pm

daknife wrote:Yet if it's such an impossible task to accomplish using crowd sourcing, then how pray tell did the other stand-alone nav gadgets (Tom Tom, Garmin etc...) get their speed limit databases built without the power of crowdsourcing?

They may have gotten it here.

However, my understanding of the data used by Garmin is that it is "informational" and "used for calculating trip times."

That doesn't give me a lot of confidence in the accuracy of the data. I have, in fact, found a few locations where we lived in WI where the data is quite inaccurate.

I, for one, am not going to trust speed limit data other than that which I can see out the windshield as I drive. I would rather Waze spend their time on the current functionality of the product and leave speed limits alone.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:44 pm

daknife wrote:Particularly if as I suggested Waze were to do like other aps and devices that do track the speed limits and change the color of the speed box to red when you exceed the posted limit.

The last thing I want is yet another piece of software nagging me. I would like to decide when and where and under what circumstances to alert me of my speed. Besides, on my Garmin, the red font on the dark grey background that it uses to display one's speed when traveling faster than the speed limit is extremely difficult to read in the daytime.

When driving on the interstate in Florida, if you aren't driving at least ten miles an hour over the speed limit, you are in danger of getting rear-ended.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby luftms » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:08 pm

I agree!
luftms
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby lchamp423 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:38 pm

xteejx wrote:Well said. If you need to look at a screen to know what speed you should be doing because you were eating a burger or texting, and then bitch when you get a ticket, then for the love of God stay off the roads. I don't need my insurance premiums going up or a member of my family killed because Waze added another feature for people to mess about with their phones with because some nob wanted to check the speed limit instead of being aware and driving! /rant

using Tapatalk

Mod edit: removed profanity that may be inappropriate for some forum readers


OK...I'm outta here. If you think I'm that stupid, I won't waste my time here.
Central Florida, USA
Verizon Droid Bionic
Waze 3.2.0.0
lchamp423
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:27 pm
Location: Viera, Florida
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby lchamp423 » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:21 pm

kenf3 wrote:Just a quick clarification - my interest in allowing wazers to report speed limit signs was to help with highways where speed limits vary. A few years ago I got a ticket doing ~80 mph on a highway that is mostly 70 mph but occasionally drops down to 65 mph due to small towns. It was at night and I had just picked up a hamburger and must have missed the 65 mph sign. It would have been nice to glance down at Waze and see that 65 mph sign on my iPhone, or better yet, see that 65 mph sign blinking red because I exceeded my +10 mph limit I had set.

Speed Limit signs don't change often so once a Wazer posted its location, very little effort is required to maintain them. Obviously, Wazers should have the option to turn off the speed limits mapping layer like you can do with traffic, Wazer locations, etc.

Ken

For what it's worth...I have a Garmin GPS running all the time and use waze for routing. The Garmin tells me the speed limits.

When I see a police patrol, I quickly check the Garmin to confirm my speed limit in case I missed the last sign. Yeah, it would be nice if the Waze software included this. It seems that the thought of this causes a lot of resentment among the old hands here, so I'll keep using the Garmin for now...and the Waze, too...
Central Florida, USA
Verizon Droid Bionic
Waze 3.2.0.0
lchamp423
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:27 pm
Location: Viera, Florida
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby kenf3 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:49 pm

Just a quick clarification - my interest in allowing wazers to report speed limit signs was to help with highways where speed limits vary. A few years ago I got a ticket doing ~80 mph on a highway that is mostly 70 mph but occasionally drops down to 65 mph due to small towns. It was at night and I had just picked up a hamburger and must have missed the 65 mph sign. It would have been nice to glance down at Waze and see that 65 mph sign on my iPhone, or better yet, see that 65 mph sign blinking red because I exceeded my +10 mph limit I had set.

Speed Limit signs don't change often so once a Wazer posted its location, very little effort is required to maintain them. Obviously, Wazers should have the option to turn off the speed limits mapping layer like you can do with traffic, Wazer locations, etc.

Ken
kenf3
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby kenf3 » Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:35 pm

Just allow users to report the location of Speed Limit signs. This would fit in easily with the current Reports function/icon.

This would also address the road construction issue. And if you add an alert feature that compares the nearby speed limit signs to your current vehicle speed, include a setting to tweak when the alert pops up (0, +5mph, +10mph over limit).

Ken
kenf3
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]