Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby CBenson » Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:47 pm

CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby floppyrod84 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:07 am

Well said. If you need to look at a screen to know what speed you should be doing because you were eating a burger or texting, and then bitch when you get a ticket, then for the love of God stay off the roads. I don't need my insurance premiums going up or a member of my family killed because Waze added another feature for people to mess about with their phones with because some nob wanted to check the speed limit instead of being aware and driving! /rant

using Tapatalk

Mod edit: removed profanity that may be inappropriate for some forum readers
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby bgodette » Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:45 am

lchamp423 wrote:It seems that the thought of this causes a lot of resentment among the old hands here, ...
It's not resentment, it's resistance to the cold hard realization that it will fall on the community editors to maintain something that adds zero benefit to Waze's primary focus of traffic avoidance. The data will be wrong the day it's imported from whatever source, and will be a Sisyphean task to keep it up to date, all so the driver doesn't have to actually look anywhere but the bumper of the car in front of them.

Is it so much to ask of people to actually be aware of their surroundings? To actually do the "road, instruments, road, mirrors, road" sequence they're supposed to do, instead of going down the road in the passing lane with their turn signal on.
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 537 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:10 pm

lchamp423 wrote:When I see a police patrol, I quickly check the Garmin to confirm my speed limit in case I missed the last sign. Yeah, it would be nice if the Waze software included this. It seems that the thought of this causes a lot of resentment among the old hands here, so I'll keep using the Garmin for now...and the Waze, too...


So when you get pulled over for speeding, good luck convincing the police officer that you were following the speed limit on your Garmin and not the signs posted on the road :P
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6088
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby lchamp423 » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:21 pm

kenf3 wrote:Just a quick clarification - my interest in allowing wazers to report speed limit signs was to help with highways where speed limits vary. A few years ago I got a ticket doing ~80 mph on a highway that is mostly 70 mph but occasionally drops down to 65 mph due to small towns. It was at night and I had just picked up a hamburger and must have missed the 65 mph sign. It would have been nice to glance down at Waze and see that 65 mph sign on my iPhone, or better yet, see that 65 mph sign blinking red because I exceeded my +10 mph limit I had set.

Speed Limit signs don't change often so once a Wazer posted its location, very little effort is required to maintain them. Obviously, Wazers should have the option to turn off the speed limits mapping layer like you can do with traffic, Wazer locations, etc.

Ken

For what it's worth...I have a Garmin GPS running all the time and use waze for routing. The Garmin tells me the speed limits.

When I see a police patrol, I quickly check the Garmin to confirm my speed limit in case I missed the last sign. Yeah, it would be nice if the Waze software included this. It seems that the thought of this causes a lot of resentment among the old hands here, so I'll keep using the Garmin for now...and the Waze, too...
lchamp423
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:27 pm
Location: Viera, Florida
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby kenf3 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:49 pm

Just a quick clarification - my interest in allowing wazers to report speed limit signs was to help with highways where speed limits vary. A few years ago I got a ticket doing ~80 mph on a highway that is mostly 70 mph but occasionally drops down to 65 mph due to small towns. It was at night and I had just picked up a hamburger and must have missed the 65 mph sign. It would have been nice to glance down at Waze and see that 65 mph sign on my iPhone, or better yet, see that 65 mph sign blinking red because I exceeded my +10 mph limit I had set.

Speed Limit signs don't change often so once a Wazer posted its location, very little effort is required to maintain them. Obviously, Wazers should have the option to turn off the speed limits mapping layer like you can do with traffic, Wazer locations, etc.

Ken
kenf3
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gerben » Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:29 am

Amen
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby R4CLucky14 » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:52 am

I don't think there is a good solution to this. Basically, I'm always aware of the posted limit on the road I'm on (unless if it's a city road wo/ a posted limit in a city I don't travel through often - Oak Ridge, I'm talking to you).

Basically, it's a nice feature that, I'm willing to bet, 90% of Wazers would disable. I would disable it.

Secondly, there is no way to really keep tabs on speed limit data. Sure, you can import it, but that probably has at least some errors, if not many. Why add even more errors to Waze :oops: ?

Or leave it to the AM's - but, I can't tell what a posted limit is from GPS tracks, average speed (if I had access), or aerials. Do you expect me (and other AM's) to drive on every inch of road in Southeastern TN (or AM area) just to see if there might be a speed limit sign on a certain stretch of road? (Forgive me if there is a better way to find speed limit data.)

There's no sensible, smart way to implement it. And as others have said, there's no real gain from it, except headache.
R4CLucky14
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:21 am

kenf3 wrote:Just allow users to report the location of Speed Limit signs. This would fit in easily with the current Reports function/icon...

If you mean, treat speed limit signs like a variety of speed camera, I can see how that might work without diverting AMs and map editors. It wouldn't say anything between (reported) signs, but it wouldn't be a bad compromise. I couldn't tell you what kind of load it might put on the server database, though, as speed limit signs far outnumber speed cameras.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby kenf3 » Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:35 pm

Just allow users to report the location of Speed Limit signs. This would fit in easily with the current Reports function/icon.

This would also address the road construction issue. And if you add an alert feature that compares the nearby speed limit signs to your current vehicle speed, include a setting to tweak when the alert pops up (0, +5mph, +10mph over limit).

Ken
kenf3
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MeDrave