Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:04 pm

gettingthere wrote:So if you are sitting at home with WME editor open and the built in functions how are you to determine what a speed limit is for a road segment, where is begins and where it ends? Remember the example where the sigh is knocked down (ie Street View and similar of no value).

Does your area have some government published speed limit data that can be referenced?

I think the working assumption is that the speed limit data would be entirely crowdsourced from drivers on location, requiring no attention from Area Managers. (Whether that is tenable is another question.)
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
Help wanted. Drop me a line!
Wiki Resources: Area Manager Wiki | Map Editing | Best Practices | Known Issues List
harling
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby iahim » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:46 pm

gettingthere wrote:
fvwazing wrote:BIG NO! I disabled this on every gps I used so far - not because I speed all the time, but because the continuous false alarms this feature gave. Of every map, speed seems to be the first part that is outdated. Housenumbers is less work than this - housenumbers tend to stay over the years. Speeds tend not to.

Given that all the big map-providers have a lot of problems doing this right I am very sceptic that Waze can do this by means of importing, regulary, of updated speeds from a mystical, all-knowing source of speeds. Waze may get some data from some source and then rely on the crowd to set and keep it right.


I agree that this is a major undertaking to keep updated with minimal benefit. But Waze seems to think otherwise.


If I understand correctly, for each road, Waze keeps a record of the the average hourly speed. They could use the maximum hourly average to estimate the speed limit. Based on that, like somebody suggested a few weeks ago in a post, change the color of the speedometer to let you know that you may be above the speed limit (green if you're at or bellow the speed limit, yellow for 10% above, etc.) That's less likely to create problems than displaying an incorrect speed limit on the screen.
iahim
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby iahim » Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:52 pm

My point was that Waze could do something to help the drivers with the data it already has. Seeing a red speedometer would make you slow down and look for a real speed limit sign on the road. I'm 100% against displaying a speed limit on the screen because it could be incorrect. It's just impossible to keep up with all the speed limit changes, especially temporary changes during road work.
iahim
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby kenf3 » Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:35 pm

Just allow users to report the location of Speed Limit signs. This would fit in easily with the current Reports function/icon.

This would also address the road construction issue. And if you add an alert feature that compares the nearby speed limit signs to your current vehicle speed, include a setting to tweak when the alert pops up (0, +5mph, +10mph over limit).

Ken
kenf3
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby kenf3 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:49 pm

Just a quick clarification - my interest in allowing wazers to report speed limit signs was to help with highways where speed limits vary. A few years ago I got a ticket doing ~80 mph on a highway that is mostly 70 mph but occasionally drops down to 65 mph due to small towns. It was at night and I had just picked up a hamburger and must have missed the 65 mph sign. It would have been nice to glance down at Waze and see that 65 mph sign on my iPhone, or better yet, see that 65 mph sign blinking red because I exceeded my +10 mph limit I had set.

Speed Limit signs don't change often so once a Wazer posted its location, very little effort is required to maintain them. Obviously, Wazers should have the option to turn off the speed limits mapping layer like you can do with traffic, Wazer locations, etc.

Ken
kenf3
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby lchamp423 » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:21 pm

kenf3 wrote:Just a quick clarification - my interest in allowing wazers to report speed limit signs was to help with highways where speed limits vary. A few years ago I got a ticket doing ~80 mph on a highway that is mostly 70 mph but occasionally drops down to 65 mph due to small towns. It was at night and I had just picked up a hamburger and must have missed the 65 mph sign. It would have been nice to glance down at Waze and see that 65 mph sign on my iPhone, or better yet, see that 65 mph sign blinking red because I exceeded my +10 mph limit I had set.

Speed Limit signs don't change often so once a Wazer posted its location, very little effort is required to maintain them. Obviously, Wazers should have the option to turn off the speed limits mapping layer like you can do with traffic, Wazer locations, etc.

Ken

For what it's worth...I have a Garmin GPS running all the time and use waze for routing. The Garmin tells me the speed limits.

When I see a police patrol, I quickly check the Garmin to confirm my speed limit in case I missed the last sign. Yeah, it would be nice if the Waze software included this. It seems that the thought of this causes a lot of resentment among the old hands here, so I'll keep using the Garmin for now...and the Waze, too...
Central Florida, USA
Verizon Droid Bionic
Waze 3.2.0.0
lchamp423
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:27 pm
Location: Viera, Florida
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby lchamp423 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:38 pm

xteejx wrote:Well said. If you need to look at a screen to know what speed you should be doing because you were eating a burger or texting, and then bitch when you get a ticket, then for the love of God stay off the roads. I don't need my insurance premiums going up or a member of my family killed because Waze added another feature for people to mess about with their phones with because some nob wanted to check the speed limit instead of being aware and driving! /rant

using Tapatalk

Mod edit: removed profanity that may be inappropriate for some forum readers


OK...I'm outta here. If you think I'm that stupid, I won't waste my time here.
Central Florida, USA
Verizon Droid Bionic
Waze 3.2.0.0
lchamp423
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:27 pm
Location: Viera, Florida
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby luftms » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:08 pm

I agree!
luftms
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:44 pm

daknife wrote:Particularly if as I suggested Waze were to do like other aps and devices that do track the speed limits and change the color of the speed box to red when you exceed the posted limit.

The last thing I want is yet another piece of software nagging me. I would like to decide when and where and under what circumstances to alert me of my speed. Besides, on my Garmin, the red font on the dark grey background that it uses to display one's speed when traveling faster than the speed limit is extremely difficult to read in the daytime.

When driving on the interstate in Florida, if you aren't driving at least ten miles an hour over the speed limit, you are in danger of getting rear-ended.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:33 pm

daknife wrote:Yet if it's such an impossible task to accomplish using crowd sourcing, then how pray tell did the other stand-alone nav gadgets (Tom Tom, Garmin etc...) get their speed limit databases built without the power of crowdsourcing?

They may have gotten it here.

However, my understanding of the data used by Garmin is that it is "informational" and "used for calculating trip times."

That doesn't give me a lot of confidence in the accuracy of the data. I have, in fact, found a few locations where we lived in WI where the data is quite inaccurate.

I, for one, am not going to trust speed limit data other than that which I can see out the windshield as I drive. I would rather Waze spend their time on the current functionality of the product and leave speed limits alone.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users