Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do I?

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do

Postby Bigbear3764 » Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:21 am

Well, you found the forums, so that's a start. A lot of good info to read in here that will help you understand how Waze works.

Next, go to the Wiki in the support section and read on how to use Waze and edit.

Then you can go to the update map. Open a Update Request and see how they appear. It is often difficult to see or figure out what the error was. Wrong directions to a location, wrong turn directions, etc...

Once you read the Wiki and watch the videos, you will see the directions to a location aren't from Waze per say, they are outsourced to Bing. You can put in an address and when your results come up on your phone, look to see what source it comes from. You can pick a different source like Google, your contacts, Bing, Yelp. I have looked at the map for a location to make sure it is right. If the location is wrong from a source like Bing, you can go to Bing maps and report the problem to them.
Image Image
AM Chicagoland Area ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
ILL To-Do
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 153 times
Been thanked: 853 times

Re: Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do

Postby floppyrod84 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:41 am

I'm surprised this isn't already in the wiki. If it isn't added tomorrow and if I remember, I'll add it.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do I?

Postby gettingthere » Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:30 am

The navigation is not 'outsourced', Waze provides that.

The POI lookup uses the external providers on the search result screen per their logo. Bing, Google, Yelp, and FourSquare.

Street address lookup is done by Bing in the USA but the results show on the Waze results screen.

The result for both are GPS coordinates that Waze uses for routing.

If the external providers don't have the correct GPS coordinates for a POI or street address Waze will take you to the incorrect location. This can also be an issue if the location is in a mall or shopping center since Waze will route you to the nearest mapped road to the GPS coordinates. This can lead the being routed to the road behind the shopping center, a freeway ramp closer to the GPS coordinates, etc.

The tough thing is that each of the external providers may give different GPS coordinates for the same POI. It's difficult to make the Waze map fit every possible result. Sometimes choosing POI results from another provider gives a better result in Waze.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6 Plus, iOS 8.1.3, Waze 3.9
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 178 times

Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do I?

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:06 am

Feel free to add it to the appropriate area in the Wiki. The Wiki is maintained by all Wazers. No need to give me credit.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6 Plus, iOS 8.1.3, Waze 3.9
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 178 times

Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do I?

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:13 am

It may need to be internationalized...
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6 Plus, iOS 8.1.3, Waze 3.9
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 178 times

Re: Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do

Postby tfvc_org » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:14 am

I also want to add that it doesn't just apply to large POIs. I have run across a lot of URs in my time where someone was being routed ~2 blocks away from the street address that they entered into the client. And this isn't a case of 100 E Main vs 100 W Main. Unfortunally sometimes things aren't as accurate as what people hope to be.
(Formerly crazycomputingdotnet / ccdn)
http://crazycomputing.net
http://thefatveganchef.com
Image
tfvc_org
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do I?

Postby waylandpm » Thu Jun 14, 2012 3:52 am

On route, I reported a problem. WZ had had me pass by the actual turn off into a golf course. It wanted me to instead turn right at some street farther down. I pushed the WZ button to report a map problem, but didn't have the time to safely add a note. I thought that WZ kept a trace of my actual route and that maybe seeing that I did a u-turn and then a left into the proper entrance the AM might be able to deduce the problem we had. But, I received an email requesting additional info. The frustrating catch-22 was that no way was provided for me to submit the info. The map doesn't need editing. The instructions do. I am new to WZ and because I very much want to support and strengthen WZ, I've just spent 45! minutes searching for a way to provide my info. Is there one?! Thanks, Wayland
waylandpm
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do

Postby waylandpm » Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:20 am

Thank you BigBear. I am very grateful for your quick reply. I didn't realize that the instructions were outsourced. Fascinating. I will take a careful look at the directions and their source in the future. I will also check out the info resources you described. Thank you again.
waylandpm
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map's fine, instructs aren't, I'm asked for info, how do

Postby waylandpm » Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:43 pm

Thank you gettingthere for your comprehensive and clear answer to my question. I have encountered this type of problem several times and am relieved to understand how it happens. Now that I know what can create the "error", I think that each instance where this happened may have involved a POI that was on a sizable piece of property so the different search engines may have supplied different coordinates, forcing WAZE to default to directing me to the street nearest to the cluster of references. With your info I now know to be alert for the possibility of this error when I am going to a large footprint POI and to keep my eye out for signs that direct me to entrances rather than just relying on WAZE. Thank you again

PS: I don't know if it is possible or appropriate, but your answer addresses a type of problem that I imagine many WAZErs encounter and your explanation is so clear and complete that perhaps you might want to consider adding it to the Wiki somewhere.
waylandpm
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users