ASR Problem

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: ASR Problem

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Dec 07, 2012 4:53 pm

Kimberly20882 wrote:I myself was wondering about the purple guy. I'm very new here, only been on waze for almost a month. I'm hooked and enjoy the app very much. I myself am trying to figure out how to get the purple guy, but I can't and I'm reading everything I can. I read, but it's all over my head, I have the Iphone and I have the app that is the extent of technology for me. :D There is so much talk with acronyms and words I've never heard of it. Might take me months to decode all the talk on this site. :lol: Till then I'll keep trying and spying you purple little monsters!

All the hints are in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=21765
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: ASR Problem

Postby cybernissart » Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:41 pm

I have a problem with the ASR and would like to use this thread to dig and help those blocked with Voice detection problem.
My Device being HTC Desire Z. Here is history.

* Initially was running Android 2.3 HTC Official ROM / Waze 3.5.3
-> ASR was activated / TTS working / And move to Monster status.

* Upgraded to Andromadus custom ROM 4.2.2 based on CM 10.1 / Waze 3.5.99.915 Beta
-> TTS/ASR activated
-> 3tap or Wave detection is working but unable to have ANY text recognized as it times out while listening.

* Waze 3.6.0
-> Same behavior. Even after clean install.

ASR.Engine = OpenEars

Question 1: Can some confirm if ASR is effectively still working over 4.2.2 ? CM 10.1 ?

Question 2: Is there any other Engine we can use as I could read from another post that OpenEars was provided for iOS, so is it the same you have in your 'preferences' file ?

Question 3: For some of you, it was fixed by changing ROM, can they post details so that we can dig around, as it may be that some Android 4.x.x version or Features are preventing correct operation of Waze ASR.

I think that some Customer and/or Official ROM are not ASR Ready, but we have no way to troubleshoot this.
Will try Google Play Inimesed application that seems to use the Politepix OpenEars framework as well, so that we can confirm if it is a Waze or OpenEars issue.
Image
cybernissart
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: ASR Problem

Postby Da_Mak » Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:22 pm

Same here on the Android version.
Image
Da_Mak
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:26 pm
Location: Sainte-Clotilde, Réunion
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: ASR Problem

Postby Da_Mak » Fri Aug 24, 2012 3:37 am

You have a "code trick" for the TTS too.

But even with it, it don't work : It ask me to wait infinitely.
Even if I talk in my mobile...
Image
Da_Mak
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:26 pm
Location: Sainte-Clotilde, Réunion
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Re: ASR Problem

Postby Da_Mak » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:56 pm

Laakkus wrote:
Da_Mak wrote:You have a "code trick" for the TTS too.

But even with it, it don't work : It ask me to wait infinitely.
Even if I talk in my mobile...

Had the same, changed ROM and now it works.

Mispeled whit my phone

Can someone confirm this?
I have a custom ROM. It will be a pain in the a.. to come back to official to have another mood.
Image
Da_Mak
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:26 pm
Location: Sainte-Clotilde, Réunion
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: ASR Problem

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Aug 20, 2012 1:33 pm

You have to confirm the command! "Go" or "Send" or "Yes" or something similar, I can never remember which works!
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: ASR Problem

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:14 pm

JohnGWalker wrote:When she says "OK" it's a question not a statement.

Indeed, took my a while to notice too!
JohnGWalker wrote:I'm now a Waze Monster :)

Welcome! ;-)
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: ASR Problem

Postby Gidian » Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:33 pm

While we're on the topic of ASR, I would appreciate it if somebody could please point me in the right direction on how to activate it in the UK on an iPhone..
Cheers.
Gidian
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

ASR Problem

Postby JohnGWalker » Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:25 pm

While trying to find how to get the purple monster I managed to wrok out how to enable ASR in Waze. However, when I give it a command it responds how you would expect (drive to home gives driving to home, ok or report heavy traffic give reporting heavy traffic, ok) but nothing actually happens.

Have I missed something obvious?

BTW, this also means that getting the purple monster doesn't work either///Help!

John Walker
John Walker
JohnGWalker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Milton Keynes
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: ASR Problem

Postby JohnGWalker » Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:10 pm

Ah, now it makes sense. When she says "OK" it's a question not a statement.

I'm now a Waze Monster :)

Thanks for your help
John Walker
JohnGWalker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Milton Keynes
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users