Map Editing Query - Guidance Required

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Map Editing Query - Guidance Required

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:05 pm

The Highlighter Tools will help you find those segments...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 886 times

Map Editing Query - Guidance Required

Postby cherianchris » Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:41 pm

Hi All,

Please go through the attached screenshot. This is of Chennai, India.
I need to remove the company names from the Map. The companies/factories are located in just one building, but for some reason, they form the label of an entire area of the city. How can I delete them please ?

Happy Wazing !!
Attachments
Map Editing Query 01.JPG
Map Editing Query 01.JPG (107.6 KiB) Viewed 620 times
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Map Editing Query - Guidance Required

Postby cherianchris » Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:19 am

The Highlighter Tool works like a charm.
Does this mean that once I have renamed all the segments to the original city name, the Factory name would disappear from the Update Map screen ? Or will it remain there till the city layer update is done ?

Thank You for your time !

Happy Wazing !
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Map Editing Query - Guidance Required

Postby cherianchris » Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:39 am

Thats not very good news, if it is true. I need to finish the map before the new tiles are updated. Thats my goal. It will not help if the faactory names are still sitting on the map after the tile update. Any idea whether Waze HQ would update the city layer this time, with the map tiles ? If they do, the problem will be fixed ! :D
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Map Editing Query - Guidance Required

Postby skbun » Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:25 am

cherianchris wrote:The Highlighter Tool works like a charm.
Does this mean that once I have renamed all the segments to the original city name, the Factory name would disappear from the Update Map screen ? Or will it remain there till the city layer update is done ?


From my experience, a user-created city will get stuck on the client and editor map on the city layer, at the location where its first segment is created. From what I hear, it will never go away AFTER that until the city layer refresh is done, and it's currently broken. I reaaaaaaly want to see it run soon.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editing Query - Guidance Required

Postby WeeeZer14 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:46 pm

City names are defined on the road segments. So you need to find the segments that have those company names on them and then edit each segment to have the proper city name (or no name at all).

Then you have to wait until the "city layer" is updated, which lately has been months between updates unfortunately.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 309 times


Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]