Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:52 pm

Ori,

Based on the Lat / Long display on the livemap, it seems to be Chennai, India.
This should do the trick : https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=4&lat=12.95464&lon=80.25753&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby McCracken808 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:15 pm

Aloha,
Douglas


AM - Hawaii

ImageImageImage
Waze Resources:
Waze Wiki, Landmarks Guideline, Area Manager Wiki, Best Practices

iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8, Mazda3
McCracken808
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Kunia, HI USA
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:34 pm

gerben wrote:Indeed, the client map looks much better...

Here it is the other way around. The live map shows the sea properly (at least for the inexperienced eyes), but the client shows Asia connected to Africa by turning over half the Red Sea into land.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby mssusa » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:53 am

Red Sea, Arabian Sea and Arabian Gulf (or Persian Gulf):

Client:
Screenshot_2012-12-11-07-16-11.png
Screenshot_2012-12-11-07-16-11.png (45.76 KiB) Viewed 846 times


Live map:
livemap.png
livemap.png (55.14 KiB) Viewed 846 times


Permalinks:

Arabian Gulf
Red Sea
Arabian Sea
mssusa
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Panther37 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:03 pm

Nantucket and Martha's Vinyard (to the west) are completely missing.

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=0&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT

I made an island landmark for Nantucket. I don't have any permissions for Marrha's Vinyard.
Image
Colorado Springs, CO (El Paso County)
Cape Cod & Islands, MA (Barnstable, Dukes & Nantucket Counties)
Block Island, RI
Panther37
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:42 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Spil » Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:36 pm

Unholy wrote:We seem to have issues with the fix for coastal areas and water bodies in the World server.
A new fix will be uploaded again to the server in a matter of a week or so.

Does that apply to the NA server as well, Ori? I've gotten 4 new UR's in the last 3 days about Grand Island, NY still being underwater.
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Spil » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:21 pm

Unholy wrote:Hi Spil,

This issue should have been fixed by yesterday.
Does this problem still persists?

I scanned over the area in the client when I made the above post, just to see if it was still that way, and it was ... so yes, Grand Island is still under the Niagara River in the client as of six hours ago. :?
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Timbones » Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:39 pm

The thing that confuses me is the message from JonyPony just a few days ago saying all the country polygons had been updated.

Is there confusion between editing boundaries, and visible coastlines? Also, the 'sea' we see in the Livemap is not the same as what we see in the client app.

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3681
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 626 times

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Timbones » Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:08 am

Timbones wrote:The thing that confuses me is the message from JonyPony just a few days ago saying all the country polygons had been updated.

I got some clarification from Waze about this. Shirli says "You are not supposed to notice any change in the livemap until the livemap tiles will be updated (might take some time - tiles are currently updating in the client but not in the livemap due to the new infrastructure)."
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3681
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 626 times

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Unholy » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:07 pm

Hi,


Can you please provide us a permalink to this area?


Thanks,


Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:14 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users