Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby mssusa » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:53 am

Red Sea, Arabian Sea and Arabian Gulf (or Persian Gulf):

Client:
Screenshot_2012-12-11-07-16-11.png
Screenshot_2012-12-11-07-16-11.png (45.76 KiB) Viewed 13455 times


Live map:
livemap.png
livemap.png (55.14 KiB) Viewed 13453 times


Permalinks:

Arabian Gulf
Red Sea
Arabian Sea
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:34 pm

gerben wrote:Indeed, the client map looks much better...

Here it is the other way around. The live map shows the sea properly (at least for the inexperienced eyes), but the client shows Asia connected to Africa by turning over half the Red Sea into land.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby McCracken808 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:15 pm

Aloha,
Douglas


AM - Hawaii

ImageImageImage
Waze Resources:
Waze Wiki, Landmarks Guideline, Area Manager Wiki, Best Practices

iPhone 5, iOS 7.1.1, Waze 3.8, Mazda3
McCracken808
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Kunia, HI USA
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby leocylau » Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:15 pm

Here is a small one in the UK ;) Please fix it.

https://www.waze.com/livemap?lon=-1.544 ... 19&zoom=15
UK WikiWaze StatusUK Forum

'For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.' 1 Cor. 10:33b

Newcastle upon Tyne AM, HK CM
Motorola Razr i
Image
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3963
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 792 times
Been thanked: 548 times

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:52 pm

Ori,

Based on the Lat / Long display on the livemap, it seems to be Chennai, India.
This should do the trick : https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=4&lat=12.95464&lon=80.25753&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 5.0.2, v7.19.401.51)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Kayos_On_The_Road » Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:12 am

I had a thought about this issue today as I was driving past some serious water issues and a thought occurred to me. Smaller bodies of water appear to render correctly (or near correctly) in the client. Could the issue be related to the number of geonodes or the area covered by the body of water? If so, perhaps a way to deal with this would be to get editors to reduce the size of these places which will also result in fewer geonodes. This will in turn should reduce the processing required for rendering.

Just some crazy talk perhaps, but the community's thoughts (and developers) would be appreciated.

If some testing is required, I have plenty of issues in Vancouver, BC which we can play with...

Thanks,
Kayos
Samsung Galaxy S7 (7.0 stock), waze version 4.37.0.2 RC
GC, CM - Vancouver, BC
Waze Beta Leader (Android)
Canada Wazeopedia
ImageImage
Kayos_On_The_Road
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:05 am
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 395 times
Been thanked: 1733 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Kayos_On_The_Road » Sun Jul 12, 2015 7:38 pm

Do we have any further information from staff on when this will be resolved? I have a number of open URs in the Vancouver, BC area which I've left open pending resolution of the issue so we can give the feedback to the wazer.

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Kayos
Samsung Galaxy S7 (7.0 stock), waze version 4.37.0.2 RC
GC, CM - Vancouver, BC
Waze Beta Leader (Android)
Canada Wazeopedia
ImageImage
Kayos_On_The_Road
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:05 am
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 395 times
Been thanked: 1733 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby kaeoboy » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:19 pm

Add to the coastal areas under water, parts of Redwood Shores, CA

https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-122.2 ... TTTTTTTTFT
kaeoboy
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby kadyus » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:31 am

I can't believe that this problem is recurring now. I noticed the problem after the January 7, 2014 INTL Map Tile Update.

LiveMap permalink: https://www.waze.com/livemap?lon=116.06 ... 09&zoom=13

WME permalink: https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=row&lo ... 061&zoom=1

This issue is happening worldwide and not only in Malaysia.
Coordinator | Country Manager
Malaysia & Brunei

WazeBORNEO FB | WazeMY FB | WazeMY G+
kadyus
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:05 am
Location: Sabah, Malaysia
Has thanked: 164 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:29 am

NA hasn't had a LiveMap update since the new infrastructure took effect in June. It's accurate for routing but not visually as a map.


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]