Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Unholy » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:18 pm

Hi,

The problem is that in some countries we need to fix the location of borders and coastal area lines.
Following this post, we'll fix all of India's coast line in Waze's maps, going through the entire coast line might take some time though..


Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1082 times

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Unholy » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:07 pm

Hi,


Can you please provide us a permalink to this area?


Thanks,


Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1082 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby TripleFun92 » Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:15 am

I'm so sorry to bump an old thread, but the problem still exists in Kuwait's map!

LiveMap permalink: https://www.waze.com/livemap?zoom=11&la ... n=48.02879

WME permalink: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=48.028 ... 893&zoom=0

It would be great if a moderator could look into this.
Thanks.
Image Image
TripleFun92
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 5:07 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Timbones » Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:24 pm

leocylau wrote:Here is a small one in the UK ;) Please fix it.

https://www.waze.com/livemap?lon=-1.544 ... 19&zoom=15

The whole of the east coast of England is "wrong", despite having provided official coastline to Waze.
I sent a detailed complaint (with pictures) to Shira.
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6817
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2763 times

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Timbones » Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:08 am

Timbones wrote:The thing that confuses me is the message from JonyPony just a few days ago saying all the country polygons had been updated.

I got some clarification from Waze about this. Shirli says "You are not supposed to notice any change in the livemap until the livemap tiles will be updated (might take some time - tiles are currently updating in the client but not in the livemap due to the new infrastructure)."
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6817
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2763 times

Re: Costal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Timbones » Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:39 pm

The thing that confuses me is the message from JonyPony just a few days ago saying all the country polygons had been updated.

Is there confusion between editing boundaries, and visible coastlines? Also, the 'sea' we see in the Livemap is not the same as what we see in the client app.

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6817
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2763 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Spil » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:21 pm

Unholy wrote:Hi Spil,

This issue should have been fixed by yesterday.
Does this problem still persists?

I scanned over the area in the client when I made the above post, just to see if it was still that way, and it was ... so yes, Grand Island is still under the Niagara River in the client as of six hours ago. :?
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Spil » Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:36 pm

Unholy wrote:We seem to have issues with the fix for coastal areas and water bodies in the World server.
A new fix will be uploaded again to the server in a matter of a week or so.

Does that apply to the NA server as well, Ori? I've gotten 4 new UR's in the last 3 days about Grand Island, NY still being underwater.
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Panther37 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:03 pm

Nantucket and Martha's Vinyard (to the west) are completely missing.

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=0&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT

I made an island landmark for Nantucket. I don't have any permissions for Marrha's Vinyard.
ImageImage
Pendleton, OR based and edit most.
Panther37
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:42 am
Location: Umatilla County, OR
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Coastal Area Problem on Live Map

Postby Osprey06 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:50 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:We'll point them to threads as we see them.

Please see areas linked to in this thread (first and third post). I presume this is the same 'issue'. Everything looks ok in the editor.

https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=406&t=124219
Osprey06
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 19 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users