Level 5 editors locking up roads

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:26 pm

AndyPoms wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Gas station landmark will not suppress missing road errors.
Experience shows that they do...

Well, cool then. Rock on. :mrgreen:
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23614
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4820 times

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:24 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Gas station landmark will not suppress missing road errors.
Experience shows that they do...
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1321 times

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby argus-cronos » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:20 pm

Re: How to handle The roads are too far apart ... problem?
by sagi on Fri Dec 02, 2011 6:33 pm

Parking Lot roads, Parking Lot landmarks and gas station landmarks, all suppress the creation of map problems. If you think that are more road types or landmark types that should have this effect, please let us know.

According to this it should :?:
argus-cronos
 
Posts: 6483
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 3:00 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland
Has thanked: 884 times
Been thanked: 1104 times

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby Daknife » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:56 am

Those small parking lot errors are system errors that occur because someone has left the road, and Waze interpreted it as a disconnected or missing road. They should be simply marked as solved and move on. Paving a road all around a single building is not necessary, and it exceeds the current editing guidelines. A single lane into the parking lot is acceptable. The rest is not. AND that cluster of roads is worthless anyway because it is not yet complete recently some unfinished roads were appearing in the client but that is not the standard and normally they will not appear in the client and are not routeable. Further the person who created the linked parkinglot should have linked the roads to the existing cross road, not created a new junction. As that is currently drawn Waze will not route a left turn into that parking lot, they will be taken past the location, told to make a U-turn and then turn right into the lot.

Also those UR's at gas stations will be eliminated by placing Gas Station Landmarks set to cover the entire gas station (but not snapped to the surrounding roads).
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby tgfathergoose » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:30 am

daknife wrote:I found the area I think you are discussing. It looks like those locks are just incidental, and there should be no problem with any unlock request.

But you need to finish your roads and this set of roads are un-needed and should be entirely deleted. There is no need to pave a road all around the building. Waze will get any driver to the building just fine.



That's not true. I've seen lots of Waze error reports driving into gas stations and parking lots. Waze may be able to get someone to the building because the building address is on the main road, but get enough wazers driving into a parking lot, and it will generate an error report saying the roads aren't connected. Can't pick solved, it will just show up again. Pick not identified, it will also show up again. The only solution is to draw a few lines in the parking lot, label the roads as parking lot, and solve.
tgfathergoose
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby jasonh300 » Sat Dec 08, 2012 3:48 am

In looking at the scoreboard for Colombia, there doesn't appear to be a single CM native to the country. I just did a quick scan around Barranquilla, and found a number of segments edited by level 5 editors, but not a single one of them is on the Colombia scoreboard. And not a single one of them was locked. I couldn't find a lock over level 3. There's certainly a lot of work to be done there, and lots of incomplete (red) roads all over the place.

ETA: Spoke too soon. I see a few by JJVV27. No idea what country he's actually from, but I guess he has driving rights there. If they get in the way, try sending him a PM.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby Daknife » Sat Dec 08, 2012 3:34 am

Claucrespo, file an unlock request with permalink to the specific area, and CM's with ROTW rights should respond. As them to just clear the area of locks and if it is warranted they will do the unlocks.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby claucrespo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:52 am

I live and drive like crazy here in Barranquilla, Colombia, I've tried to edit a lot of places with over 6 reports on the same "turn" or "road" which I drive my self every day, however way too many segments locked by 5+ editors.

I want to help, but I don't have time to ask for unlocks each time, I know the area here and many people is not using waze anymore because it has become an annoyance with so many recalculations and wrong driving directions, tourists are complaining that they are getting tickets by making wrong turns.

Please unlock the city, or at least get someone with level 5 clearance to take a look at the area, there are so many reports for the same thing on the same place on so many different dates that it could not be more obvious what you need to fix even if the description is in spanish

Also the road 90A which leads to Cartagena is getting expanded/split into a double roadway and the segments are being moved 500 meters from the original track, so that needs to be unlocked because right now waze asks tourists to get through an old high risk road, which adds 3 hours of dangerous driving just because there is a missing junction in the new highway.

Thanks for your help, hopefully with the help of all waze can be what it once was on this area
claucrespo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby littlestlou » Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:47 am

:oops: Sorry about that. Those edits were made almost a year ago when I locked roads based on old reasoning. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly via PM though and I will gladly help out. My In-Laws live in Burleson so I travel Wilshire/174 every month or so. I also am not a fan of parking lot roads (in excess) and will likely delete them if I seem them all over the place. Just fair warning.

Is there something specific that was routing wrong or what did you need the unlock for?
littlestlou
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Metro, North Texas
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Level 5 editors locking up roads

Postby Daknife » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:15 am

I found the area I think you are discussing. It looks like those locks are just incidental, and there should be no problem with any unlock request.

But you need to finish your roads and this set of roads are un-needed and should be entirely deleted. There is no need to pave a road all around the building. Waze will get any driver to the building just fine.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users