Waze Cellular Data Usage

Moderator: Unholy

Waze Cellular Data Usage

Postby mahonyweb » Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:49 pm

With the introduction of the iPhone 4 many networks have capped their 'unlimited' data packages. The new packages offer 500mb to 1GB data usage, and thereafter extra charges apply.

No problem, as many users won't get close to such a ceiling, but in one 60ish mile - 90 minute journey - my iPhone sent 1.5mb and received 11.7mb while solely using Waze.

This seems a lot? Is there any way to minimise the cellular data usage of Waze?
mahonyweb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze Cellular Data Usage

Postby deeggo » Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:15 am

There already is a suggestion for this functionality enhancement on uservoice. Check it out. You can vote for it there to be solved quicker.
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4163
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 582 times
Been thanked: 602 times

Re: Waze Cellular Data Usage

Postby haseebch » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:29 am

sh4nce wrote:So an option for preloading static map data to sd card for a given route would be a great option. Then only warnings, alternative routes, etc need to be fecthed.

Android has these options as well.


totally agree,
an option to download/update maps whilst on a wifi connection seems a very "wanted" option
furthermore even more useful for travelling cross border
haseebch
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Waze Cellular Data Usage

Postby sh4nce » Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:23 pm

So an option for preloading static map data to sd card for a given route would be a great option. Then only warnings, alternative routes, etc need to be fecthed.

Android has these options as well.
sh4nce
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze Cellular Data Usage

Postby fvwazing » Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:21 am

Yes, you can. Before you drive off, and while you still are on a wifi-connection, carefully go through every single tile on your route. Waze will not need to pickup those tiles when you are driving, it will only get live traffic data. However, this is a tiresome routine for a longer route, and Waze does not use all free memory for maptiles, so at some point you push the oldest tiles out of the memory. Apart from that: on the iPhone you can switch on datacompression and switch off downloading of trafficdata - not sure about the versions for other equipment.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times


Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users