60 Mph/97 Kph

Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Forum rules
Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:17 am

For Waze, 60mph = speed of light: it can go under it, and over it, but never exactly...
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:26 pm

Clearly, harling rocks. :) This is superb investigation and analysis.

harling wrote:On the client, current speed is stored internally as an integer, in terms of knots.


Really?! Interesting. Is knots the standard measurement for GPS systems? The system is run by the US Air Force, and they talk about jet speeds in terms of knots usually...
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:00 pm

Here is the reply from alpha on this bug:
Indeed we're using knots and there might be more accurate ways to do it.
However it's low priority issue currently and will be probably fixed in one of our next versions.

I don't disagree it should be a low priority, but they should have it on their "list" now I hope.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:01 pm

I wouldn't hold my breath, if I were you, and I wished to remain on the earth a while longer. Give it 2-3 releases.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:41 pm

leo_lau wrote:Just to start this thread again. I thought the New Waze 3.0 will solve this issue but sadly it doesn't :cry:

Correct. It is still on the list of known app issues. (I still would really like the community to help maintain this page. Seriously.)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue May 14, 2013 3:00 pm

In the latest iOS beta, I believe this is now fixed. I saw 60mph this morning. I screencapped it, but then accidentally deleted it.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue May 14, 2013 8:28 pm

leocylau wrote:I need to check if it is fixed on Android :?

Bgodette said he thought android was fixed months ago, back in January.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed May 15, 2013 9:53 pm

Finally got the screenshot for proof.
Attachments
IMG_1560.PNG
IMG_1560.PNG (37.8 KiB) Viewed 961 times
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby Atlas85 » Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:32 am

Seasider wrote:That would be telling, but long night shifts and totally empty and straight motorway may have had some part to play, and of course I was referring to our testing of the kmh display, your honour.

I know for sure that it can display speeds well over 100mph too. And above 180 km/h an hour too. I live near the German border...No speed limit, just high phone bill.
Atlas85
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:03 pm
Location: Ottersum (The Netherlands)
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby bgodette » Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:25 pm

ituajr wrote:
GPS receivers typically calculate velocity by measuring the frequency shift (Doppler shift) of the GPS D-band carriers(s). ... Velocity accuracy can be scenario dependent, but 0.2m/s per axis (95%) is achievable


The earlier statement that the speed can't be accurate because the positions aren't accurate is wrong, and shouldn't be used as a justification for not fixing the speed display bug. Of course, there may be other reasons, such as limitations of Apple's GPS implementation.

The location APIs for both iOS and Android both give you the instantaneous speed in m/s via the method above, simply because that's what comes out of all off the shelf GPS chips.

Given that what comes out of the location APIs for speed is in meters per second, I don't see why they're doing any conversion to knots to begin with. Just store it as meters per second and convert on display.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Next

Return to Waze App Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users