[PROPOSAL] Force editors to visit the forum

Moderator: Unholy

Re: [PROPOSAL] Force editors to visit the forum

Postby CBenson » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:23 pm

voludu2 wrote:PS -- this only works if the forum account gets created the first time an editor logs in to the editor. otherwise, there is no such thing as checking PMs, or even sending PMs to the new editor. I'm sure the waze team knows how to handle this detail.

Waze states this currently happens (can't find the statement, it might be with the first edit rather than first log in). However, evidence suggests that the mechanism is not perfect.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps

Postby coontex » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:46 am

I think that this is a really good idea. May be have it linked to updated pages in that number of days also. I have been editing for around 6 months and I do frequent the wiki to see if I am editing correctly and also keep an eye on some of the forums.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
coontex
Map Raider
Map Raider

Postby dmcconachie » Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:27 pm

Any forum announcements could perhaps prompt via the editor at login too.
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie

Postby grsing » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:48 pm

Something along these lines could definitely be beneficial, but given how many sub-forums there are, maybe there could be some kind of "top threads since you've been gone" functionality, to highlight the most important issues. Ideally you could tailor this to an editor's location, but even if it was forum-wide, it'd still be better than digging through all the different forums to try to see if anything major has changed.
grsing

[PROPOSAL] Force editors to visit the forum

Postby iainhouse » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:02 am

That got your attention! :lol: I don't actually mean it to sound as forceful as that.