Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby volmun » Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:09 pm

I'm living in Sweden and I think it must be doneable to get all speeds limit for free for the hole country.

Wouldm´t it bee possible to link this information to the road maps in cases like here? If not please tell why.

BR Floke
volmun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby DavidM78z » Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:27 pm

+1

Would be very nice to have speed limit's on the roads on the map.
DavidM78z
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby RallyChris » Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:37 pm

Has been suggested before, and there is a uservoice post for it.

http://waze.uservoice.com/forums/59225- ... ?ref=title

The problem is, where to get the data from, and who updates it. Everything currently in the map, can over time be determined by watching people drive. But speed limit is not (as some people speed <gasp>).
Portland, OR / USA - Mega Mapper
Wiki: Area Manager | Map Editing | Known Issues List
Official Suggestion Websites (hosted by uservoice):
Waze Client | Waze Website / Editor
Image
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:48 pm

RallyChris wrote:The problem is, where to get the data from, and who updates it. Everything currently in the map, can over time be determined by watching people drive. But speed limit is not (as some people speed <gasp>).

And after all the work to enter speed data (segment by segment across the continent) and keep it current, how useful is it really, when the signs are already right there on the road where the Wazer is? Other than putting up a warning when exceeding the speed limit--which I expect many users would disable immediately--I just don't see a very big return on investment, when that time could be spent solving existing URs, making sure the highways are navigable, labeling ramps, etc..
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
Help wanted. Drop me a line!
Wiki Resources: Area Manager Wiki | Map Editing | Best Practices | Known Issues List
harling
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby RallyChris » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:04 pm

Then there is the added liability. We already have cases of people suing GPS companies for driving them down unimproved roads, or into a river. Even with the disclaimer that no one reads, there might be just a little to much added liability here, for what has been pointed out, little return.
Portland, OR / USA - Mega Mapper
Wiki: Area Manager | Map Editing | Known Issues List
Official Suggestion Websites (hosted by uservoice):
Waze Client | Waze Website / Editor
Image
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Shaigan » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:06 pm

If not in town, then according to the segment type and to the country, the speed limit is easy to find for "deafult" value. Is there is a special road with another limit, AM are there to change them.

If in town, the speed limit is easy to find as "default" value, according to the country. And if there are some streets with special limits, AM are there again.

No ?
[ Shaigan & Cie | Google+ | Facebook | Twitter ]
[ France Country Manager | Waze Android sur Nexus 4 ]
Shaigan
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Tarbes (65), France
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:11 pm

Very very much no!
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:27 pm

In the US where each state sets their own "defaults" and then the individual counties and cities may have their own on top of that.

And as a person who may take the speed limit as an, um, suggestion sometimes, if Waze made a noticeable effort to tell me I was over, I would quickly tire of it and want a way to disable it. I can see users actually stop using Waze over something like this.

We have a problem in the US where some speed limits are set artificially low and easily 80% of traffic travels at 10mph over the posted limit.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 313 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Shaigan » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:34 pm

Arg.

For the first time, it should be easy in France ;)
[ Shaigan & Cie | Google+ | Facebook | Twitter ]
[ France Country Manager | Waze Android sur Nexus 4 ]
Shaigan
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Tarbes (65), France
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:17 pm

Learned at the Palo Alto meet-up (side conversation with Ehud, Waze founder and CTO). Waze is considering adding speed limits in the future (at least in the United States). They consider it a safety feature.

Also, they are looking into whether they can implement with some existing data. Not clear if this import will be a one-time thing and then Wazers will be responsible to update or whether it will be a full external source with updates.

Also not clear on the time line of this feature.

There was a general - if the back end database needs to change for any new features, this will push these types of changes to > 6 months out. Waze is re-working the infrastructure to allow for a new tile updating system. This is expected to take some time...
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.2.1, Waze 4.1
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6065
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher