Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:33 pm

daknife wrote:Yet if it's such an impossible task to accomplish using crowd sourcing, then how pray tell did the other stand-alone nav gadgets (Tom Tom, Garmin etc...) get their speed limit databases built without the power of crowdsourcing?

They may have gotten it here.

However, my understanding of the data used by Garmin is that it is "informational" and "used for calculating trip times."

That doesn't give me a lot of confidence in the accuracy of the data. I have, in fact, found a few locations where we lived in WI where the data is quite inaccurate.

I, for one, am not going to trust speed limit data other than that which I can see out the windshield as I drive. I would rather Waze spend their time on the current functionality of the product and leave speed limits alone.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby CBenson » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:26 pm

You can learn some about the highlighting tool here: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Comm ... d_Segments
Although, I believe you need to be at area manager level or above to see the junction highlighting options.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby CBenson » Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:31 am

bgodette wrote:Lancaster may be free of UR/MP but this is far from done
Well if Lancaster is routing fine, aren't you simply showing that node clean up isn't necessarily needed.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Daknife » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:01 am

Yet if it's such an impossible task to accomplish using crowd sourcing, then how pray tell did the other stand-alone nav gadgets (Tom Tom, Garmin etc...) get their speed limit databases built without the power of crowdsourcing?

They aren't perfect but there weren't that many areas where my TomTom was wrong on what the posted speed limit was. Somehow they managed to get fairly accurate data, and they didn't have the crowd sourcing and device tracking abilities that Waze has. I think this is no more an unrealistic problem than any other mapping issue Waze has faced. Countries with no roads at all, which now have very complete maps without ever getting a basemap import. Countries that had pretty good user generated maps and then got a basemap import and within weeks the maps are looking navigable again (at least in major population areas). As TomTom and Garmin were able to come up with this data I'm thinking there's a national database available, and even if not, Waze could simply not show a speed on any segments that didn't have that data, and as users notice that, and edit, those segments will get filled in. Heck it'll give newbies in well edited areas some work to do to get points.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby bgodette » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:24 am

ryryryry87 wrote:There are no known (to me, yet) issues to the map in my city, and I constantly look on the map for stuff to do. I am bored because I just wait for URs so I have something to edit. If I had speed limit data to input, I would have something to do with my free time again :)
Lancaster may be free of UR/MP but this is far from done:
lancaster-z4.jpg
(235.04 KiB) Downloaded 1404 times

These are closer to done:
NewOrleans-z4.jpg
(231.75 KiB) Downloaded 1404 times

Denver-z4.jpg
(231.19 KiB) Downloaded 1404 times
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3419
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 507 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:39 am

ryryryry87 wrote:
harling wrote:Gas prices are short-term, constantly-changing data; correspond to a fixed GPS location rather than an area or a number of road segments; can be adjusted within the client; and present little risk of legal liability if the incorrect value is posted.

Speed limit signs are long term, and rarely change (less maintenance than gas price changes)
Speed limit signs are a fixed GPS location (they are in the ground!) **I understand the implications in the current editor and this may need to be segment based**

Consider how many gas stations are maintained on the map. Now consider the number of segments on the map. (Hint: segment IDs are eight digits.)
Speed limit signs should be able to be adjusted in the client (with approval)

Exactly: who is going to review the speed limits submitted for the thousands of segments in my small town alone--not to mention in the greater Boston area, the rest of MA, North America...?
I think this task is less work than Gas station crowd-sourcing, but I may be wrong.

Even if Waze were keeping track of prices at 100,000 gas stations, it would take a couple years of daily fuel price updates to reach the number of speed limits that would have to be "approved" for just the first pass; i.e., not including corrections and additions.
I am bored because I just wait for URs so I have something to edit. If I had speed limit data to input, I would have something to do with my free time again :)

Now we're getting somewhere! If you have run out of URs, you need a larger area, preferably somewhere that does not already have an active AM. There is plenty of work left to do on the U.S. map, without having to create more.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:30 pm

ryryryry87 wrote:
harling wrote:Mainly, it's because we already have a pretty good idea how much maintenance the current crowd-sourced data requires, and recognize that adding to that task list leaves fewer resources--Waze employees and volunteers both--available for tasks that are more critical to Waze's success, like making sure the maps are correct and up to date.

i am guessing you do not like Waze's gas price feature?

Those are apples & oranges in at least four ways. Gas prices are short-term, constantly-changing data; correspond to a fixed GPS location rather than an area or a number of road segments; can be adjusted within the client; and present little risk of legal liability if the incorrect value is posted.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Scruffy151 » Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:17 pm

WayzNut wrote:I can see the arguments about the accuracy of the posted speed limit and the changes needed in the backend to support this new piece of information. One thing I can see that waze could do easily is to change the color of the speedometer circle (just the outline of the circle) to a different color. Black (same as now) if you are within 10% of the AVERAGE speed of the segment at that day of week/time over the past week or month. Red outline if 10% above the AVERAGE, and yellow if 10% below the AVERAGE speed of the segment. No need for a sound, popup or anything. (although some may like/want it)


I think that a similar thing would be more in keeping with waze's strategy than worrying about the actual speed limit. The difference I would suggest is to color code the same as traffic reports. So if you are significantly slower the speedometer would turn red, a little slower it would turn yellow, near or exceeding the average would be black/no color.
Scruffy151
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:03 am
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:12 pm

ryryryry87 wrote:I don't see why so many people are against crowd-sourcing this information..

Mainly, it's because we already have a pretty good idea how much maintenance the current crowd-sourced data requires, and recognize that adding to that task list leaves fewer resources--Waze employees and volunteers both--available for tasks that are more critical to Waze's success, like making sure the maps are correct and up to date.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby WayzNut » Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:16 am

I can see the arguments about the accuracy of the posted speed limit and the changes needed in the backend to support this new piece of information. One thing I can see that waze could do easily is to change the color of the speedometer circle (just the outline of the circle) to a different color. Black (same as now) if you are within 10% of the AVERAGE speed of the segment at that day of week/time over the past week or month. Red outline if 10% above the AVERAGE, and yellow if 10% below the AVERAGE speed of the segment. No need for a sound, popup or anything. (although some may like/want it)

This would help people that are unfamiliar with the area to know what the average speed normally is. They would still be responsible to find out the actual speed LIMIT, but at least they will not be going way too slow and get rear ended.

This type of system would not require much of a backend change since waze already has the data and they are not trying to represent a limit, only an average.

Just my thoughts.
WayzNut
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], JorgeVeraDiaz