Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby fvwazing » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:28 pm

OldGnome wrote:However, my understanding of the data used by Garmin is that it is "informational" and "used for calculating trip times."

That doesn't give me a lot of confidence in the accuracy of the data. I have, in fact, found a few locations where we lived in WI where the data is quite inaccurate.


Every GPS I owned between 1998 and now offered this so-much-wanted speedalert. With fresh mapdata I would get irrelevant warnings some of the time; before the maps where 2 years old I would get false positives (and false negatives, but you don't hear those) all of the time. This type of data is very volatile and changing all of the time.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby fvwazing » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:15 am

ryryryry87 wrote:There are no known (to me, yet) issues to the map in my city, and I constantly look on the map for stuff to do. I am bored because I just wait for URs so I have something to edit. If I had speed limit data to input, I would have something to do with my free time again :)


I wished I had your problems! :evil:
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby BlazeTool » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:32 pm

Speed limit is an instantaneous value (if at any instant you exceed the limit you are speeding, regardless of average speed). Comparing an instantaneous value to an average value is fairly useless, it's comparing apples and oranges.

IMHO giving flawed data is worse than giving no data.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby fvwazing » Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:35 am

Believe me, you will switch that darn beep off in no time.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby iahim » Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:52 pm

My point was that Waze could do something to help the drivers with the data it already has. Seeing a red speedometer would make you slow down and look for a real speed limit sign on the road. I'm 100% against displaying a speed limit on the screen because it could be incorrect. It's just impossible to keep up with all the speed limit changes, especially temporary changes during road work.
iahim
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:31 am

Sorry, I don't agree with using anything other than the actual speed limit data. You absolutely can not present an estimated speed limit as the 'speed limit'. That is wrong.

So you are going to tell the police that pulls you over for speeding: 'I am using Waze and it says the speed limit is 52 mph.' The police will respond: 'oh really, isn't that the free gps software that lets you report our speed traps, distract you when driving, and now makes up the speed limit? Well since you are so smart and the speed limit is actually 25 mph on that last curve I'm going to write you up for speeding, wreckless driving, and texting too. How about that!'
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6088
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby iahim » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:46 pm

gettingthere wrote:
fvwazing wrote:BIG NO! I disabled this on every gps I used so far - not because I speed all the time, but because the continuous false alarms this feature gave. Of every map, speed seems to be the first part that is outdated. Housenumbers is less work than this - housenumbers tend to stay over the years. Speeds tend not to.

Given that all the big map-providers have a lot of problems doing this right I am very sceptic that Waze can do this by means of importing, regulary, of updated speeds from a mystical, all-knowing source of speeds. Waze may get some data from some source and then rely on the crowd to set and keep it right.


I agree that this is a major undertaking to keep updated with minimal benefit. But Waze seems to think otherwise.


If I understand correctly, for each road, Waze keeps a record of the the average hourly speed. They could use the maximum hourly average to estimate the speed limit. Based on that, like somebody suggested a few weeks ago in a post, change the color of the speedometer to let you know that you may be above the speed limit (green if you're at or bellow the speed limit, yellow for 10% above, etc.) That's less likely to create problems than displaying an incorrect speed limit on the screen.
iahim
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby fvwazing » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:48 pm

BIG NO! I disabled this on every gps I used so far - not because I speed all the time, but because the continuous false alarms this feature gave. Of every map, speed seems to be the first part that is outdated. Housenumbers is less work than this - housenumbers tend to stay over the years. Speeds tend not to.

Given that all the big map-providers have a lot of problems doing this right I am very sceptic that Waze can do this by means of importing, regulary, of updated speeds from a mystical, all-knowing source of speeds. Waze may get some data from some source and then rely on the crowd to set and keep it right.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby volmun » Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:09 pm

I'm living in Sweden and I think it must be doneable to get all speeds limit for free for the hole country.

Wouldm´t it bee possible to link this information to the road maps in cases like here? If not please tell why.

BR Floke
volmun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits on roads you drive.

Postby harling » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:34 pm

I'm not saying it is impossible, or that nobody would find it helpful; just that this feature needs to be evaluated in terms of cost/benefit; and compared to all the other things that Waze wants/needs to do.

The required effort to design, implement and maintain is typically underestimated; and while the feature will garner the appreciation of a number of end-users, it won't help Waze produce better routes, improve the performance of the client/server, or pave the way to any future capabilities of which I am aware.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]