Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:04 pm

gettingthere wrote:So if you are sitting at home with WME editor open and the built in functions how are you to determine what a speed limit is for a road segment, where is begins and where it ends? Remember the example where the sigh is knocked down (ie Street View and similar of no value).

Does your area have some government published speed limit data that can be referenced?

I think the working assumption is that the speed limit data would be entirely crowdsourced from drivers on location, requiring no attention from Area Managers. (Whether that is tenable is another question.)
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:10 pm

So if you are sitting at home with WME editor open and the built in functions how are you to determine what a speed limit is for a road segment, where is begins and where it ends? Remember the example where the sigh is knocked down (ie Street View and similar of no value).

Does your area have some government published speed limit data that can be referenced?
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:19 pm

Another big issue here is that Waze would likely base this info on a per road segment basis. The speed limits are not necessarily going to change at the location of a segment on the Waze map. So segments will have to be inserted all over the map and there is no insert segment function in WME. Yes, you can create a temporary road, junction, and remove - but it's not intuitive. What happens when newbie editors forget to set the turn restrictions as these new junctions? The routing is going to break.

Then what will happen when an editor who does not realize a junction is on the map for a speed limit change? When the junction is deleted which speed limit will Waze keep of the two that were split at the junction? Oops, there you go more bad data.

If Waze implements this in their usual way it's going to be a complete mess.
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Daknife » Fri Mar 01, 2013 7:36 am

Either that or they'll report or correct the data themselves, and the speed limit data will soon be far more accurate than on any other service out there. Just as letting people drive on incomplete maps is a complete waste of time, and naming streets or numbering houses is a complete waste of time. Your logic simply does not follow in regards to a user edited platform.

And as to the $$$$ reply, yes they paid for the speed limit data from some source. Waze can get that same data for free within a very short period of time.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby luftms » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:08 pm

I agree!
luftms
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Sat Nov 17, 2012 4:20 am

daknife wrote:Yet if it's such an impossible task to accomplish using crowd sourcing, then how pray tell did the other stand-alone nav gadgets (Tom Tom, Garmin etc...) get their speed limit databases built without the power of crowdsourcing?

$$$$
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby bgodette » Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:14 pm

CBenson wrote:
bgodette wrote:Lancaster may be free of UR/MP but this is far from done
Well if Lancaster is routing fine
Is it?
CBenson wrote:aren't you simply showing that node clean up isn't necessarily needed.
Being clear of UR/MP only means they're being closed, not that it's free of routing problems.
lancaster-z5.jpg
(71.23 KiB) Downloaded 1487 times
RevCon on a one-way, along with wrong-way speed data.
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 510 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:55 pm

fvwazing wrote:With fresh mapdata I would get irrelevant warnings some of the time...

My biggest complaint with Garmin was when they introduced the "you are driving faster than the posted speed" alert by turning the current speed font red. It was both difficult to read at night and impossible to disable.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby dmcconachie » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:19 pm

ryryryry87 wrote:i am kind of curious the ages of people supporting this compared to those against this :roll:

Implying...?
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby OldGnome » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:00 pm

ryryryry87 wrote:i am kind of curious the ages of people supporting this compared to those against this :roll:

Thanks for the :roll:

I was in my 30's when the Berlin Wall fell. You?

(I think we have both made our points here. I suspect others are tiring of it.)
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Yahoo [Bot]