Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Feb 03, 2012 4:08 pm

It's on the roadmap.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4793 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gordonski » Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:34 pm

Hi,

I also think that it would be a very useful feature to be able to set a speed limit for raods in the map editor so that the client can display warnings when you're going too fast. Most navigation softwares do this and I like that. The user could set the level of warnings to recieve e.g. "voice alert", "visual information" like a red speed indication or "no warnings".
Living in a country with highways without speed limit (don't forget to implement the "infinite speed" option in the map editor ;)) I enjoy fast driving, but there a high penalties for speeding and not all speed traps are reported by other users. Plus, we have the lovely ProViDa (Proof Video Data System): police measuring your speed from civil cars. You can't report these on Waze. :roll:
So in case I missed the speed limit sign and I don't know wether I may go 100km/h, 130km/h or whatever I please, it would be really cool if Waze could remind me!

Gordonski
gordonski
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Elsdorf, NW, Germany
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 336 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Daknife » Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:03 pm

Adding speed limit data is a good idea, it will allow for more accurate initial estimates of travel time (though it needs to be able to dynamically update for those of us who do speed). And contrary to the poster above who dislikes GPS devices that give the speed, I really like them. I mount my GPS on my windshield or dash and that puts the screen and my travel speed closer to my field of vision than the speedometer.

The warnings can be helpful for people driving in a new area who might have missed a speed limit sign and not realize a change in the legal limit was just made. Also having that data, with those warnings helps us to see where more corrections need to be made. That was one really annoying thing with my last GPS before I discovered waze, there were so many wrong speed limits encoded that the data was often of little use.

But with Waze we can get the warning that we're traveling 50 in a 25, see the sign on the side of the road saying the speed is actually 50 and fix it. (A very real and specific problem with my last device. I tried reporting and fixing it through that GPS provider's site but two quarterly updates had passed without it being fixed.)

I know I'm new to the forums but I feel this would be a very valuable addition to the system. And showing the limit on the screen can both warn a driver of a changed limit, warn them of the fact that they are going rather fast, or let them know the data needs to be fixed and fix it. As to keeping up with temporary changes, why is that any harder with keeping up with any other temporary construction issues? A one day slowdown wouldn't need to be posted but a multi-month construction project like I constantly see warnings for is no issue. And frequently changing roads is why we love the ability to edit in waze.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Spil » Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:12 am

gettingthere wrote:
iahim wrote:If I understand correctly, for each road, Waze keeps a record of the the average hourly speed. They could use the maximum hourly average to estimate the speed limit. Based on that, like somebody suggested a few weeks ago in a post, change the color of the speedometer to let you know that you may be above the speed limit (green if you're at or bellow the speed limit, yellow for 10% above, etc.) That's less likely to create problems than displaying an incorrect speed limit on the screen.


We've been through this discussion before in another thread.

Waze's average speed has absolutely no direct relationship to a speed limit. Waze does not need to be presenting this data as speed limits.

While I agree that the "average speed" is nowhere near the true speed limit, I think that iahim's point may have been that the "average speed" data could be used as a temporary initial value in the database for the new "speed limit" field, until such a time as the AM's and other editors can get the true speed limit values entered for the segments in their areas.
Spil
 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:59 pm

iahim wrote:If I understand correctly, for each road, Waze keeps a record of the the average hourly speed. They could use the maximum hourly average to estimate the speed limit. Based on that, like somebody suggested a few weeks ago in a post, change the color of the speedometer to let you know that you may be above the speed limit (green if you're at or bellow the speed limit, yellow for 10% above, etc.) That's less likely to create problems than displaying an incorrect speed limit on the screen.


We've been through this discussion before in another thread.

Waze's average speed has absolutely no direct relationship to a speed limit. Waze does not need to be presenting this data as speed limits.
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:02 pm

fvwazing wrote:BIG NO! I disabled this on every gps I used so far - not because I speed all the time, but because the continuous false alarms this feature gave. Of every map, speed seems to be the first part that is outdated. Housenumbers is less work than this - housenumbers tend to stay over the years. Speeds tend not to.

Given that all the big map-providers have a lot of problems doing this right I am very sceptic that Waze can do this by means of importing, regulary, of updated speeds from a mystical, all-knowing source of speeds. Waze may get some data from some source and then rely on the crowd to set and keep it right.


I agree that this is a major undertaking to keep updated with minimal benefit. But Waze seems to think otherwise.
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:17 pm

Learned at the Palo Alto meet-up (side conversation with Ehud, Waze founder and CTO). Waze is considering adding speed limits in the future (at least in the United States). They consider it a safety feature.

Also, they are looking into whether they can implement with some existing data. Not clear if this import will be a one-time thing and then Wazers will be responsible to update or whether it will be a full external source with updates.

Also not clear on the time line of this feature.

There was a general - if the back end database needs to change for any new features, this will push these types of changes to > 6 months out. Waze is re-working the infrastructure to allow for a new tile updating system. This is expected to take some time...
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Shaigan » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:34 pm

Arg.

For the first time, it should be easy in France ;)
Shaigan
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 980
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Tarbes (65), France
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:27 pm

In the US where each state sets their own "defaults" and then the individual counties and cities may have their own on top of that.

And as a person who may take the speed limit as an, um, suggestion sometimes, if Waze made a noticeable effort to tell me I was over, I would quickly tire of it and want a way to disable it. I can see users actually stop using Waze over something like this.

We have a problem in the US where some speed limits are set artificially low and easily 80% of traffic travels at 10mph over the posted limit.
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:11 pm

Very very much no!
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 310 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users