Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Shaigan » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:06 pm

If not in town, then according to the segment type and to the country, the speed limit is easy to find for "deafult" value. Is there is a special road with another limit, AM are there to change them.

If in town, the speed limit is easy to find as "default" value, according to the country. And if there are some streets with special limits, AM are there again.

No ?
Shaigan
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Tarbes (65), France
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby RallyChris » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:04 pm

Then there is the added liability. We already have cases of people suing GPS companies for driving them down unimproved roads, or into a river. Even with the disclaimer that no one reads, there might be just a little to much added liability here, for what has been pointed out, little return.
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby harling » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:48 pm

RallyChris wrote:The problem is, where to get the data from, and who updates it. Everything currently in the map, can over time be determined by watching people drive. But speed limit is not (as some people speed <gasp>).

And after all the work to enter speed data (segment by segment across the continent) and keep it current, how useful is it really, when the signs are already right there on the road where the Wazer is? Other than putting up a warning when exceeding the speed limit--which I expect many users would disable immediately--I just don't see a very big return on investment, when that time could be spent solving existing URs, making sure the highways are navigable, labeling ramps, etc..
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby RallyChris » Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:37 pm

Has been suggested before, and there is a uservoice post for it.

http://waze.uservoice.com/forums/59225- ... ?ref=title

The problem is, where to get the data from, and who updates it. Everything currently in the map, can over time be determined by watching people drive. But speed limit is not (as some people speed <gasp>).
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby DavidM78z » Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:27 pm

+1

Would be very nice to have speed limit's on the roads on the map.
DavidM78z
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Daknife » Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:05 am

dmcconachie wrote:
daknife wrote:Either that or they'll report or correct the data themselves, and the speed limit data will soon be far more accurate than on any other service out there. Just as letting people drive on incomplete maps is a complete waste of time, and naming streets or numbering houses is a complete waste of time. Your logic simply does not follow in regards to a user edited platform.

And as to the $$$$ reply, yes they paid for the speed limit data from some source. Waze can get that same data for free within a very short period of time.

The logic absolutely follows. The maps do not need to be 100% to be useful, speed limits do. The map will gradually learn of its own accord if left long enough, speed limits will not. Maps are crucial to the functioning of the map, speed limits are not. Look out your windscreen to see speed limits, if there are not enough signs then contact your local council!

Waze will undoubtedly bend to pressure on this and implement something, it'll be horribly labour intensive, data will be patchy at best and most folk will either switch it off or end up complaining on here about how bad it is.

So just like most the maps. People either switch Waze off, or complain about it, or a group goes to work and makes it work. A prime example of this was Las Vegas NV. When I first got CM status I wandered down there in response to a UR up in my state. Low and behold it was a mess and outside the Interstates and maybe along the strip it was a field of UR's and MP's and nobody was doing anything to make it better. I spent a few weeks working hard on it. At first new UR's were appearing faster than I could clear them, but gradually as I got first the main roads routeable and then into the subdivisions I started pulling ahead. And suddenly local editors started jumping in and editing. Now on the rare occasion I happen to bounce in to respond to an unlock request I see very few UR's and MP's and evidence of several active editors. Speed limits will work the same. Yes we may need some additional junction points in some places, or perhaps Waze can come up with another way of us marking the start point of a new speed limit. It probably will need a junction but perhaps they can come up with a visual indicator that the extra nodes are related to speed limits say a square node instead of a round node or a star.

Will this come, maybe maybe not. This weekend is the Waze meet in Palo Alto (I couldn't go), maybe this feature'll be discussed there, maybe not. Someone says to look out the window for speed limits, well sometimes you miss a sign or it's been knocked down, or badly placed or they just need more of them, but wouldn't it be nice to have an indicator on your screen of what users have said the posted limit there is? Who hasn't driven somewhat nervously for a ways on occasion when they realize they don't remember seeing a speed limit sign for a while and hoping to see a sign so they can know if they are or are not speeding.

I would have the settings screen where a user can opt to turn it on, have a warning caveat that the data may not be entirely accurate and to trust signs before Waze. But I can see it quickly being adapted across the road system. And errors and or changes would be quickly noted and corrected.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby dmcconachie » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:13 am

daknife wrote:Either that or they'll report or correct the data themselves, and the speed limit data will soon be far more accurate than on any other service out there. Just as letting people drive on incomplete maps is a complete waste of time, and naming streets or numbering houses is a complete waste of time. Your logic simply does not follow in regards to a user edited platform.

And as to the $$$$ reply, yes they paid for the speed limit data from some source. Waze can get that same data for free within a very short period of time.

The logic absolutely follows. The maps do not need to be 100% to be useful, speed limits do. The map will gradually learn of its own accord if left long enough, speed limits will not. Maps are crucial to the functioning of the map, speed limits are not. Look out your windscreen to see speed limits, if there are not enough signs then contact your local council!

Waze will undoubtedly bend to pressure on this and implement something, it'll be horribly labour intensive, data will be patchy at best and most folk will either switch it off or end up complaining on here about how bad it is.
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby bgodette » Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:40 pm

dmcconachie wrote:
luftms wrote:I agree!

With what?

Hopefully that it's a waste of time and resources for a feature 90% will turn off due to it having too much wrong data.
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 108 times
Been thanked: 503 times

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby dmcconachie » Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:52 pm

luftms wrote:I agree!

With what?
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:03 pm

gordonski wrote:Then I wonder, why waze collects speed information and calculates average speeds for roads, when they are not needed IN ANY WAY?


Average speeds are realistic. Speed limits are theoretical.

You can have two roads with the same speed limit. One is lightly traveled, smooth, and straight with limited to no merges. The average speed may be well above the posted limit.

The other may be in an urban area, with lots of volume, rough road surfaces, many on and off ramps with not much room to merge. The average speed may be well BELOW the posted limit.

The average speed is what is important for routing.

Maybe it is a regional thing, but most everywhere in the US the speed limits are set according to political whim and not set by road engineers. And I would say the vast majority of the population ignores the speed limit on all but the smallest of local roads.
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users