Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Daknife » Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:01 am

fvwazing wrote:Believe me, you will switch that darn beep off in no time.

+100 I don't want no stinking beep. Maybe it's proprietary or copyrighted but I like the way my old Tom Tom did it, the color behind the the speed changed from black to red if you were exceeding what they thought the posted speed limit was.

But cruising the interstate in Utah at the speed limit will get you run over much of the time. So a constant beeping while just trying to move safely with the flow of traffic would greatly increase my cell phone costs as I'd end up throwing it out the window every time I drove on the Freeway.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 455 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby Daknife » Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:03 pm

Adding speed limit data is a good idea, it will allow for more accurate initial estimates of travel time (though it needs to be able to dynamically update for those of us who do speed). And contrary to the poster above who dislikes GPS devices that give the speed, I really like them. I mount my GPS on my windshield or dash and that puts the screen and my travel speed closer to my field of vision than the speedometer.

The warnings can be helpful for people driving in a new area who might have missed a speed limit sign and not realize a change in the legal limit was just made. Also having that data, with those warnings helps us to see where more corrections need to be made. That was one really annoying thing with my last GPS before I discovered waze, there were so many wrong speed limits encoded that the data was often of little use.

But with Waze we can get the warning that we're traveling 50 in a 25, see the sign on the side of the road saying the speed is actually 50 and fix it. (A very real and specific problem with my last device. I tried reporting and fixing it through that GPS provider's site but two quarterly updates had passed without it being fixed.)

I know I'm new to the forums but I feel this would be a very valuable addition to the system. And showing the limit on the screen can both warn a driver of a changed limit, warn them of the fact that they are going rather fast, or let them know the data needs to be fixed and fix it. As to keeping up with temporary changes, why is that any harder with keeping up with any other temporary construction issues? A one day slowdown wouldn't need to be posted but a multi-month construction project like I constantly see warnings for is no issue. And frequently changing roads is why we love the ability to edit in waze.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 455 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby CBenson » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:26 pm

You can learn some about the highlighting tool here: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Comm ... d_Segments
Although, I believe you need to be at area manager level or above to see the junction highlighting options.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby CBenson » Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:31 am

bgodette wrote:Lancaster may be free of UR/MP but this is far from done
Well if Lancaster is routing fine, aren't you simply showing that node clean up isn't necessarily needed.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby CBenson » Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:47 pm

Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby cageybear » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:46 am

i guess i am against gps advising me of the speed limit - on the basis that i am supposed to be awake and aware of where I am. I am not a robot.

A while ago I was listening to a police officer on the radio and he reminded the listeners that speed limits are MAXIMUM speed, not TARGETS. Problem is that some people might think that the satnav was telling them the speed they should be doing, rather than what it mustn't exceed.
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby BlazeTool » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:32 pm

Speed limit is an instantaneous value (if at any instant you exceed the limit you are speeding, regardless of average speed). Comparing an instantaneous value to an average value is fairly useless, it's comparing apples and oranges.

IMHO giving flawed data is worse than giving no data.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby bgodette » Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:40 pm

dmcconachie wrote:
luftms wrote:I agree!

With what?

Hopefully that it's a waste of time and resources for a feature 90% will turn off due to it having too much wrong data.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby bgodette » Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:14 pm

CBenson wrote:
bgodette wrote:Lancaster may be free of UR/MP but this is far from done
Well if Lancaster is routing fine
Is it?
CBenson wrote:aren't you simply showing that node clean up isn't necessarily needed.
Being clear of UR/MP only means they're being closed, not that it's free of routing problems.
lancaster-z5.jpg
lancaster-z5.jpg (71.23 KiB) Viewed 1532 times
RevCon on a one-way, along with wrong-way speed data.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby bgodette » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:24 am

ryryryry87 wrote:There are no known (to me, yet) issues to the map in my city, and I constantly look on the map for stuff to do. I am bored because I just wait for URs so I have something to edit. If I had speed limit data to input, I would have something to do with my free time again :)
Lancaster may be free of UR/MP but this is far from done:
lancaster-z4.jpg
lancaster-z4.jpg (235.04 KiB) Viewed 1448 times

These are closer to done:
NewOrleans-z4.jpg
NewOrleans-z4.jpg (231.75 KiB) Viewed 1448 times

Denver-z4.jpg
Denver-z4.jpg (231.19 KiB) Viewed 1448 times
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rezapanco71