Data Update

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Data Update

Postby cageybear » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:36 am

I'm a new Waze user in the UK. Have tried to use several other common Android options but right now Waze is looking like the pick of the bunch for me.

The following query might be answered elsewhere if someone could kindly point me to it.

I installed Waze, and then used it on a 50 mile journey (each way), where it faithfully did what was expected.

However, when I got back home and checked my mobile phone account I noticed that 150+ Mb had been sucked out of my mobile phone contract. The only explanation for that was Waze - there's nothing else going on which would suck data.

I'm on a 1Gb/month tariff, so 150Mb fits comfortably into what I am paying for. However, is Waze going to be sucking data out of my mobile phone account each time I use it?

This situation might have been a first-time situation to fill up a cache. If so, no problem. However I am concerned that it might figure it could pull (or push) data thru my mobile phone connection. Perhaps someone could kindly explain the situation?

Ta muchly!
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Data Update

Postby cageybear » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:27 am

Thank you for the replies. This is perfect for my needs. I was surprised by the fact that I set the route whilst still in wifi range, but guess I set off before it got everything. No matter, I think I have found my satnav solution. :D
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Data Update

Postby cageybear » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:53 pm

dmcconachie wrote:What version of Android are you on?


v2.3, which doesn't have the suggested options.
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Re: Data Update

Postby cageybear » Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:42 pm



Thanks for the link - it looks ideal, I just installed it and will give it a go.
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Data Update

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:08 pm

cageybear wrote:Thank you for the replies. This is perfect for my needs. I was surprised by the fact that I set the route whilst still in wifi range, but guess I set off before it got everything. No matter, I think I have found my satnav solution. :D

What version of Android are you on? If 4.0+ you can see how much data each app is using under settings. If below that then download "My Data Manager" which does the same job. Just in case it's another app suddenly getting a little greedy!

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Data Update

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:09 pm

Oh and welcome to waze in the UK! :-)

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Re: Re: Data Update

Postby dmcconachie » Sun Nov 04, 2012 10:17 am

cageybear wrote:
dmcconachie wrote:What version of Android are you on?


v2.3, which doesn't have the suggested options.

Here you go.... https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ndroid.mdm

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Data Update

Postby gerben » Sat Nov 03, 2012 2:02 pm

They removed it in 3.5...
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4757
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Data Update

Postby mssusa » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:05 pm

I believe 150± is too much even for dense maps like the UK. I know that your client has probably already downloaded audio files and much of the map already, but please don't forget to report back here with your findings.
Providers are notorious for their usage statistics. At least here. Sometimes I buy a package and check my balance to find 40+ mb has already been used! Sometimes it reports a number now and when I check again hours later it gives a smaller number. I KNOW they are actively cheating, even if unintentionally by their buggy billing system, but their word is the law when it comes to usage :-(

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Data Update

Postby SocalToe » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:45 am

I usually use less than 2mb on a 120 mile trip.

I'll plan my route while connected to my wifi, so that may help.
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users