Data Update

Moderator: Unholy

Data Update

Postby cageybear » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:36 am

I'm a new Waze user in the UK. Have tried to use several other common Android options but right now Waze is looking like the pick of the bunch for me.

The following query might be answered elsewhere if someone could kindly point me to it.

I installed Waze, and then used it on a 50 mile journey (each way), where it faithfully did what was expected.

However, when I got back home and checked my mobile phone account I noticed that 150+ Mb had been sucked out of my mobile phone contract. The only explanation for that was Waze - there's nothing else going on which would suck data.

I'm on a 1Gb/month tariff, so 150Mb fits comfortably into what I am paying for. However, is Waze going to be sucking data out of my mobile phone account each time I use it?

This situation might have been a first-time situation to fill up a cache. If so, no problem. However I am concerned that it might figure it could pull (or push) data thru my mobile phone connection. Perhaps someone could kindly explain the situation?

Ta muchly!
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Data Update

Postby WeeeZer14 » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:44 am

The first time you use the app in a new area (or the first time ever), it will need to download map data for that area. If you pan the map to look around, you will also download the data from that area.

Running the app in 3D mode uses much more data than in 2D mode since you need to see the map out towards the horizon.

That data is cached but will be replaced if/when changes are made to the map in that area.

Besides map data, your device is continuously sending data to the Waze servers to show where you are now and the traffic you are experiencing. Similarly, your device is continuously download data from the Waze servers to show you where other users are and what traffic they are experiencing.

Any searches you perform will use data as well as any routing requests.

Waze will use more data than a static GPS app, but it is doing so much more so it make sense.

Most people do not have an issue with quotas from what I have heard. I have unlimited data so I have never paid close attention personally.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 313 times

Re: Data Update

Postby SocalToe » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:45 am

I usually use less than 2mb on a 120 mile trip.

I'll plan my route while connected to my wifi, so that may help.
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Data Update

Postby cageybear » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:27 am

Thank you for the replies. This is perfect for my needs. I was surprised by the fact that I set the route whilst still in wifi range, but guess I set off before it got everything. No matter, I think I have found my satnav solution. :D
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Data Update

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:08 pm

cageybear wrote:Thank you for the replies. This is perfect for my needs. I was surprised by the fact that I set the route whilst still in wifi range, but guess I set off before it got everything. No matter, I think I have found my satnav solution. :D

What version of Android are you on? If 4.0+ you can see how much data each app is using under settings. If below that then download "My Data Manager" which does the same job. Just in case it's another app suddenly getting a little greedy!

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: Data Update

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:09 pm

Oh and welcome to waze in the UK! :-)

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: Data Update

Postby Timbones » Sat Nov 03, 2012 1:56 pm

For regular commuting, the data usage is quite low.

There's also an advanced setting to compress the data.

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6173
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 763 times
Been thanked: 2207 times

Re: Data Update

Postby gerben » Sat Nov 03, 2012 2:02 pm

They removed it in 3.5...
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4778
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: Re: Data Update

Postby cageybear » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:53 pm

dmcconachie wrote:What version of Android are you on?


v2.3, which doesn't have the suggested options.
Calling in from Bracknell in Berkshire
Viewsonic ViewPad 7 powered by Android
cageybear
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Re: Data Update

Postby dmcconachie » Sun Nov 04, 2012 10:17 am

cageybear wrote:
dmcconachie wrote:What version of Android are you on?


v2.3, which doesn't have the suggested options.

Here you go.... https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ndroid.mdm

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users