Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:59 am

1) Please post a Permalink to the area (the coordinates don't help).
2) Map updates don't make it from the editor to the app instantly. There is a Map Update process that has to happen on the Waze servers. Depending on where you are located, that process is either very quick right now or very slow right now due to Major Infrastructure Upgrades Waze is in the process of doing.
3) Does the app have other streets named further out from your suburb block?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:45 pm

A random sampling of streets in that area shows that there has been a lot of work done in the last few days in that area. The last time the client map on the ROTW server was updated was on Oct 4th, but it only contained edits made before Sept 25th.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:46 pm

MikeStan65 wrote:OK, Thx.

My Question is how often does the ROTW (I'm not sure what the acronym stands for though, I assume this is the server for the actual iPhone app though) get updated.

Mike

ROTW means Rest Of The World (there is also the NA server - North America / USA & Canada)

Right now the updates on the ROTW server are slow and unpredictable. This is due to infrastructure upgrades Waze is doing. The plan, once the upgrades are complete, is 2-3 times a week. We've had the upgrades in place for a while now on the NA server, but we aren't on a set update schedule yet - it will take time.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby AndyPoms » Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:12 pm

MikeStan65 wrote:Does this mean that what's on the map editor will be in the next upload to the ROTW server?


When the update happens, Waze will release two dates. One will be the date the tiles will make it to the app and the other is the date that the update includes edits made before.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:31 pm

MikeStan65 wrote:
When the update happens, Waze will release two dates. One will be the date the tiles will make it to the app and the other is the date that the update incjludes edits made before.


Where do these dates appear, do I need to check on this web site to find the 2 dates or perhaps they send an email to me?

Nope, no email.... Details are usually posted on http://status.waze.com and in the forum...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby MikeStan65 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:53 am

Sorry I'm new to this, only joined and DL the app last night.
The strange thing is that the editor shows all the streets correctly but the app doesn't have any streets named in my suburb block
153.04411,-27.55586 is the co-ords.
How does Waze update the maps. does it take it from the Map Editor site or does it use some other map technology?

Mike
MikeStan65
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby MikeStan65 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:34 pm

MikeStan65
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby MikeStan65 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:54 pm

AndyPoms wrote:1) Please post a Permalink to the area (the coordinates don't help).

https://world.waze.com/editor/?lon=153. ... ,166275059


2) Map updates don't make it from the editor to the app instantly. There is a Map Update process that has to happen on the Waze servers. Depending on where you are located, that process is either very quick right now or very slow right now due to Major Infrastructure Upgrades Waze is in the process of doing.

So how long is a long time to update is it hours,days,weeks or months?

3) Does the app have other streets named further out from your suburb block?


Well the whole of Brisbane appears to be mostly unmapped atm (on the app) but the Map Editor has already got all the info (streets etc)
MikeStan65
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby MikeStan65 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:31 pm

OK, Thx.

My Question is how often does the ROTW (I'm not sure what the acronym stands for though, I assume this is the server for the actual iPhone app though) get updated.

Mike
MikeStan65
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Why doesn't Waze show all the streets

Postby MikeStan65 » Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:51 pm

Does this mean that what's on the map editor will be in the next upload to the ROTW server?
MikeStan65
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users