can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Re: Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby Borgholio » Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:58 pm

rand0m9 wrote:
Borgholio wrote:
TSXyKorova wrote:
I see no point in arguing about it.

// Sent using Tapatalk HD Beta. Please PM me with any issues. //


I see no point in necroing a 7 month old thread...


I don't see the point in letting these threads go dead which just causes people to make a ton of duplicate topics because a previous one got pushed back a few pages and people are too lazy to search.

Sent from my SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2


Obviously someone doesn't know basic forum etiquette involving necroing old threads.
You will be assimilated...bunghole!

Area Manager - Southern California, Highway 395, Yosemite National Park, Mariposa County and surrounding area.

Image Image
Borgholio
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:15 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby checkyoulater » Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:18 am

first off i have to tip my hats off to the devs, from all the GPS/nav apps i've tried nothing has come close to the experience i have had with WAZE. that being said, having downloadable maps must be on the table. with all the social aspects layered over it. making that an optional "paid" version would definitely put waze over the top. while i have no fear of data plans going haywire on an unlimited data plan, BUT the philippines is notorious for not having the best OTA data speeds transfers. this would definitely cause problems with maps not loading fast enough, or not loading at all, to be actually useful.

i love the social feature/crowd sourcing data implementation. and it does bring drivers and commuters together on a common platform. but this is all for nothing if the maps don't load properly because of slow data connection speeds. (am i making sense here?)
checkyoulater
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby dmcconachie » Sun May 13, 2012 10:53 am

Planning your route (ie requesting a route) whilst you have a data connection should* cache the required route.

*I say should, there are mixed reports of the success of this. I've seen it work for a 150 mile journey (during the fabled AWS Ireland outage no less) but YMMV.

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby dtothill » Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:59 pm

Love Waze! :D But would love it more if I could download my maps ahead of time. I have an iPhone with plenty of storage! Seems like it would improve the app a lot if the only data that needed to be transmitted was GPS coordinates of other users.

Hope we see this rolled out soon
dtothill
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby floppyrod84 » Sat May 12, 2012 1:53 am

Its a community map, there will be errors and idiots. Wazes greatest weakness is also its greatest strength.
FYI you CAN use Waze offline but don't expect the routing to be perfect, besides, there is an option to use data compression. I use Waze all the time, and not just locally. I'm lucky if it uses 20MB in a month!

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby floppyrod84 » Sun May 13, 2012 1:15 am

Using it offline means scrolling the map around the whole route so its cached on the phone. Should work then.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby floppyrod84 » Sun May 13, 2012 6:26 pm

No. Although they're vector maps, and the client draws the map itself, it still needs different data for different zoom levels, don't ask me why. For that reason, getting a route from home or scrolling (results may vary) seems the only option at the moment. It is extremely unlikely that Waze will ever implement an offline mode because of their business model, i.e. live data.
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon May 14, 2012 4:05 pm

+1 here too

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby floppyrod84 » Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:38 am

Yeah that makes perfect sense and although my data plan is only 500mb I'm not charged for using extra. There MUST be an option to cache an entire route map from Wi-Fi for those on low data plans or for signal dropouts. Especially for the developing world or in areas in some countries where signal is likely to be inconsistent.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: can you please make it so maps are pre loaded?

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:54 am

Had you searched the forums, you'd know that by setting a route via wifi does indeed cache most, if not all of the relevant map.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher