No GPS

Moderator: Unholy

Re: No GPS

Postby bdfw33 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:32 pm

Here lately I have been getting the same no gps reading. I have an Android with the updated software. I have went as far as uninstalling the app and reinstalling the app but that has not helped. I have tried rebooting and that does not help either. I have left the app running for over an hour at a time hoping that it will pick up the signal and that has not helped either. This has been a good app in the past but now that I am having problems with it not working for me then I don't know if it is feasible for me to continue to try to use it. I would like any help to resolve this issue. It doesn't help me at all with the rush hour traffic or for me to be able to report things either.
bdfw33
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby Beezer69 » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:11 pm

I found the problem and the solution for me at least!

I have a note2, and it was doing the same thing. Waze was useless as I never had GPS. I even had considered upgrading my phone, as reinstalling Waze didn't help.

The problem is the phone overheats when Waze in on, and for some reason that affects the GPS. I know this is true, because my son-in-law told me about a phone Holder that used the A/C vents to hold the phone, so cold air constantly blows on my phone and keeps it cool. When I'm using Waze and it is in the phone Holder, it never loses GPS.

I think if you open Waze and keep it next the the A/C vents (obviously with cool air coming out of them), you will find that Waze will not lose GPS.

I had given up on Waze until I stumbled upon this fix
Beezer69
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby Bigbear3764 » Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:05 pm

What phone?
What OS?
Waze version?

Maybe try a search to see if anyone else has had same problem.
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 212 times
Been thanked: 954 times

Re: No GPS

Postby CBenson » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:03 pm

I found that sometimes waze will prevent a GPS fix from occurring. Thus, when I open waze and it cannot get a fix, if I then open another app that tries to get GPS data (e.g. Google maps or GPS status) those apps can't get a fix either. If I then reboot and open one of those other apps first, the GPS gets a fix, if I then open waze while the GPS is providing good data, waze works fine.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: No GPS

Postby cherianchris » Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:02 pm

I'm having instances of no GPS on drives. Has been happening only in this week.

MB526 - > Tapatalk 2
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: No GPS

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:59 pm

The lost GPS issue is definitely annoying. I had it on my original Samsung Galaxy S phone (running Gingerbread) and my new Droid DNA (running Jelly Bean). The Galaxy would lose GPS completely and stop tracking my movements; the DNA only puts up the error message when trying to submit gas prices and it goes away if I immediately try to submit prices again.

The easiest solution I've found is to simply turn off GPS and turn it back on via settings. Once it re-locks Waze will be fine for a while.
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: No GPS

Postby csquare » Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:00 am

I am also having the issue with the No GPS Connection.
I have an iPhone 3GS with OS 6.0.1.
I am not traveling out in the sticks. I am traveling along a major interstate and Waze cannot find me.
csquare
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby Daknife » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:06 pm

Not sure about all the folks having problems with their new IPhones, but on my Galaxy S I ended up buying a bluetooth GPS antenna, and use it almost exclusively because the weak GPS receiver is a known weakness in the GS devices.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: No GPS

Postby Daknife » Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:46 am

I have the Dual150 GPS, you have to go into the devices settings and tell it to allow Mock GPS data, but then it works like a charm. It came with full instructions.

Note there are less expensive ones out there, I imagine they work fairly well, but I have no experience with them Amazon linky
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: No GPS

Postby erezz123 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:21 pm

I found a fix! it's not a perfect fix but it does the job.
http://www.gps-fix.com/
erezz123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]