No GPS

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: No GPS

Postby bdfw33 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:32 pm

Here lately I have been getting the same no gps reading. I have an Android with the updated software. I have went as far as uninstalling the app and reinstalling the app but that has not helped. I have tried rebooting and that does not help either. I have left the app running for over an hour at a time hoping that it will pick up the signal and that has not helped either. This has been a good app in the past but now that I am having problems with it not working for me then I don't know if it is feasible for me to continue to try to use it. I would like any help to resolve this issue. It doesn't help me at all with the rush hour traffic or for me to be able to report things either.
bdfw33
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby bigbear3764 » Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:05 pm

What phone?
What OS?
Waze version?

Maybe try a search to see if anyone else has had same problem.
Image
AM Chicagoland Area
CM North America
ILL Wiki
ILL To-Do
bigbear3764
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 382 times

Re: No GPS

Postby CBenson » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:03 pm

I found that sometimes waze will prevent a GPS fix from occurring. Thus, when I open waze and it cannot get a fix, if I then open another app that tries to get GPS data (e.g. Google maps or GPS status) those apps can't get a fix either. If I then reboot and open one of those other apps first, the GPS gets a fix, if I then open waze while the GPS is providing good data, waze works fine.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6883
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 436 times
Been thanked: 989 times

Re: No GPS

Postby cherianchris » Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:02 pm

I'm having instances of no GPS on drives. Has been happening only in this week.

MB526 - > Tapatalk 2
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: No GPS

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:59 pm

The lost GPS issue is definitely annoying. I had it on my original Samsung Galaxy S phone (running Gingerbread) and my new Droid DNA (running Jelly Bean). The Galaxy would lose GPS completely and stop tracking my movements; the DNA only puts up the error message when trying to submit gas prices and it goes away if I immediately try to submit prices again.

The easiest solution I've found is to simply turn off GPS and turn it back on via settings. Once it re-locks Waze will be fine for a while.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: No GPS

Postby csquare » Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:00 am

I am also having the issue with the No GPS Connection.
I have an iPhone 3GS with OS 6.0.1.
I am not traveling out in the sticks. I am traveling along a major interstate and Waze cannot find me.
csquare
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby daknife » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:06 pm

Not sure about all the folks having problems with their new IPhones, but on my Galaxy S I ended up buying a bluetooth GPS antenna, and use it almost exclusively because the weak GPS receiver is a known weakness in the GS devices.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: No GPS

Postby daknife » Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:46 am

I have the Dual150 GPS, you have to go into the devices settings and tell it to allow Mock GPS data, but then it works like a charm. It came with full instructions.

Note there are less expensive ones out there, I imagine they work fairly well, but I have no experience with them Amazon linky
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: No GPS

Postby lebarros » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:38 pm

I am also having the same issue. No GPS connection.
:(
Image Leandro Barros
Waze 3.7
iPhone 4S
Rio de Janeiro/RJ
lebarros
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:49 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

No GPS

Postby lordy5 » Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:01 pm

Hello, this app just constantly says no GPS and becuase of that is pretty useless :(
Is there anything I can do to fix this? I have been on to Maps that is installed on my phone and it can pinpoint my location exactly, how do I fix this? :(
lordy5
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MJ-MD