No GPS

Moderator: Unholy

Re: No GPS

Postby Beezer69 » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:11 pm

I found the problem and the solution for me at least!

I have a note2, and it was doing the same thing. Waze was useless as I never had GPS. I even had considered upgrading my phone, as reinstalling Waze didn't help.

The problem is the phone overheats when Waze in on, and for some reason that affects the GPS. I know this is true, because my son-in-law told me about a phone Holder that used the A/C vents to hold the phone, so cold air constantly blows on my phone and keeps it cool. When I'm using Waze and it is in the phone Holder, it never loses GPS.

I think if you open Waze and keep it next the the A/C vents (obviously with cool air coming out of them), you will find that Waze will not lose GPS.

I had given up on Waze until I stumbled upon this fix
Beezer69
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby hebermc » Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:53 am

In Android you can use the following app to figure out if your phone is getting the gps signal:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... tus2&hl=en

If it fails you can try two things:
1) Restart the phone
or
2) Reset a-gps:
a) Menu / Tools / manage aGPS state.
b) Select 'Reset' to clear the internal state of the GPS.
c) Select 'Download' to re-download the assistance data. You will need an active internet connection at this step.
d) Close the GPS Status application for 10 seconds.
e) Go outside and find a spot where large part of the sky is visible.
Make sure you have the 'Keep the screen on' settings turned on (in Menu / Settings / Display & Tools'.
e) Let the program run and try to acquire your GPS position

If you live in a area with loads of buildings try going to a park for a first lock, in my experience older phones have bad gps, my Galaxy Ace 2 takes minutes to get a GPS lock while my Galaxy S4 takes just a few seconds.
hebermc
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1151
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:17 am
Location: Recife, PE, Brasil
Has thanked: 524 times
Been thanked: 663 times

Re: No GPS

Postby erezz123 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:21 pm

I found a fix! it's not a perfect fix but it does the job.
http://www.gps-fix.com/
erezz123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby TenorDriver » Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:53 am

I have the same problem. always 'no gps'. I will delete the app. It is useless. Too bad, it worked well for awhile.
TenorDriver
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:51 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No GPS

Postby Daknife » Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:46 am

I have the Dual150 GPS, you have to go into the devices settings and tell it to allow Mock GPS data, but then it works like a charm. It came with full instructions.

Note there are less expensive ones out there, I imagine they work fairly well, but I have no experience with them Amazon linky
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: No GPS

Postby rj_mckenzie » Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:54 am

daknife wrote:Not sure about all the folks having problems with their new IPhones, but on my Galaxy S I ended up buying a bluetooth GPS antenna, and use it almost exclusively because the weak GPS receiver is a known weakness in the GS devices.


What GPS did you buy? And how easy was it for Waze to recognize it? I have a Galaxy Nexus and I live in a heavy urban area and the GPS goes all over the place at times. I was looking at the Garmin GLO for a external bluetooth GPS and that it uses both the American and the Russian GPS systems. That should increase accuracy using more satellites.
rj_mckenzie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:54 pm
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: No GPS

Postby Daknife » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:06 pm

Not sure about all the folks having problems with their new IPhones, but on my Galaxy S I ended up buying a bluetooth GPS antenna, and use it almost exclusively because the weak GPS receiver is a known weakness in the GS devices.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: No GPS

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:59 pm

The lost GPS issue is definitely annoying. I had it on my original Samsung Galaxy S phone (running Gingerbread) and my new Droid DNA (running Jelly Bean). The Galaxy would lose GPS completely and stop tracking my movements; the DNA only puts up the error message when trying to submit gas prices and it goes away if I immediately try to submit prices again.

The easiest solution I've found is to simply turn off GPS and turn it back on via settings. Once it re-locks Waze will be fine for a while.
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: No GPS

Postby lebarros » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:38 pm

I am also having the same issue. No GPS connection.
:(
lebarros
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:49 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: No GPS

Postby PalmettoC » Mon Dec 24, 2012 6:47 am

I was having this issue also, even though it was still showing me driving down the interstate pretty accurately. I just cut my phone off and back on and restarted Waze, and I haven't had the issue since. I'm on an iPhone 5 with iOS 6.01
PalmettoC
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:30 am
Location: Cleveland, TN
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: unicornfancy