Police reporting

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Police reporting

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:36 pm

keithsm2 wrote:guess im not sure how to insert an image :(

Add attachment to your post.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19469
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:28 pm

keithsm2 wrote:screen shot

Never seen that before. I suggest removing Waze, clean the directory off the memory card, download a fresh copy and sign in again.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19469
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:35 pm

It should be available to everyone...

What country are you in?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:56 pm

When you hit the report button (lower right corner) the Police Report button is on that first screen.

What country are you in? In certain countries this function is illegal and may have been disabled in the app.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:53 pm

Have you rooted your phone or messed with the Waze files on it in anyway?

Which version of Android are you on? Can you take a screenshot of the app after you hit the report button? Screenshot is available in Ice Cream Sandwich and later by holding Volume Down & the Power button.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:50 pm

How did you font get to be like that? Could something else be causing an issue here?

In the program files for Waze, there is a alerts.menu and an alerts_nopolice.menu file... It appears that somehow you are using the nopolice menu file...

It should look like (in landscape mode, but you get the idea):
WazeAlerts.jpg
WazeAlerts.jpg (35.15 KiB) Viewed 971 times


I'm will Alan in suggesting the reinstall...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:32 pm

Spil wrote:I thought the same thing, but then I went in and switched the file names (so that the actual "alerts_nopolice" was treated as "alerts") ... the police icon was still there, even then. I did the same with "report_list_nopolice.menu" and "report_list.menu", with the same result (or lack thereof). There's also a setting in the "preferences" file for "Report.Allow Police subtypes" -- but even with this set to "no" instead of the default "yes", I still can't duplicate the results in the screenshot above. :?

Hmmmm..... :?

Could it be based on some other setting?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby AndyPoms » Sat Oct 26, 2013 10:51 am

jradetsk wrote:It may have to do with what level your account is at. i am a king wazer so i see everything including setting gas prices and stuff. waze unlocks more features the higher up your level is. when i started police reporting was definately a feature you could do at any level but there has been more fake police reportings lately just to get points then there used to be so maybe waze now needs you to go up a few levels until you get it. maybe they want to gain your trust more before you can report police on the newer version.
This topic is over a year old - (it's from October 2012) - in accordance with the forum rules, please don't re-open long dormant threads.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Police reporting

Postby anthem00 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:56 pm

I think its available as I'm a new user and I see it avaialble.
anthem00
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Police reporting

Postby jradetsk » Sat Oct 26, 2013 5:57 am

It may have to do with what level your account is at. i am a king wazer so i see everything including setting gas prices and stuff. waze unlocks more features the higher up your level is. when i started police reporting was definately a feature you could do at any level but there has been more fake police reportings lately just to get points then there used to be so maybe waze now needs you to go up a few levels until you get it. maybe they want to gain your trust more before you can report police on the newer version.
jradetsk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 2:17 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users