How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Moderator: Unholy

Re: How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Postby Daknife » Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:38 am

And While Bing is usually the default search engine, do we have any confirmation that it is the engine used in Argentina?

If the search works correctly in Bing then the same search should work in Google. Also when you search for an address in Waze you'll notice below the results are a series of icons, A G for Google, The Bing B, the waze symbol, 4Square Yelp and a couple others. If you touch the icons you can slide to an alternate search, try the Google icon. See if any of those get you a viable result. That can give us a clue. To bad there isn't an Argentine sub-forum, just a thread with the single originating post, you might try PM'ing the creator of that post jmh182, they might know a work around/cause/solution.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 455 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:51 pm

jhandl wrote:The strange thing is that selecting Google or Bing gets me "No results found" for every address I tried, and I know Google and Bing can find those addresses without a problem through their web apps.
The Waze tab is the only one that will return results for addresses (even in the US) - those results are powered by various providers (usually Bing) and in the future will also include addresses in the Waze database. All the other tabs are available when searching business name/category as a POI search.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1323 times

Re: How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:06 pm

Actually it does apply to your situation...

If you put "1000 street, city" into Bing, and Bing only returns results to "3626 street, city", that is where the problem is. If Bing returns correct results for "1000 street, city" then there is another issue...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1323 times

Re: How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:48 pm

Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1323 times

Re: How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:56 pm

1) What country are you located in?
2) What happens when you search the address(s) at Bing.com?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1323 times

Re: How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Postby andrex77 » Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:54 pm

jhandl wrote:So the problem is in the data. Most of the addresses I search for don't show up in the search results or show up at the bottom of the list. Most of the search results are clearly garbage, like an empty title with a wrong address (wrong number or just the street name, no number, which makes no sense). Clearly the data needs to be cleaned up. I'll look into map editing to see if I can help in that effort.

That is right. The maps in Argentina are not too good, and the house numbers are worst. We have a big job ahead, and your help will be appreciated.
I did try search for my house number, and with the correct data on the map works perfectly, even with "StreetX 1234, City" format.
Andrés
CM: Argentina - AM: Rosario
ex-coordinador y ex-global champ
Argentina: Wiki - Facebook - G+ - Comunidad G+ - Twitter

Image
andrex77
 
Posts: 1805
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:07 am
Location: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Has thanked: 462 times
Been thanked: 808 times

Re: How does address entry work? (badly, it seems)

Postby amiga6 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:15 pm

jhandl wrote:So the problem is in the data. Most of the addresses I search for don't show up in the search results or show up at the bottom of the list. Most of the search results are clearly garbage, like an empty title with a wrong address (wrong number or just the street name, no number, which makes no sense). Clearly the data needs to be cleaned up. I'll look into map editing to see if I can help in that effort.


It may be that the address is not added to Waze. Have you checked in the map editor, the address is added? It is a big job and it's users like you, me and everyone else who uses Waze needs help to add addresses.
I'm using Samsung Galaxy S7 Android 7.0 Swedish and the latest Waze version.
amiga6
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Haninge, Sweden
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Previous

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users