waze auto-reroute plans

Moderator: Unholy

waze auto-reroute plans

Postby whatever2015 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:00 am

what are waze's plans concerning auto-reroute around traffic and incidents.

several months ago waze would re-route around traffic extremely well. now it seems like it only focuses on routing you based on the average road speeds. this is still a feature that i like but an auto-reroute (improved or like it use to be) would be wonderful.
Using it as a tool to just notice traffic and i have to decide how to route around it is just like all the other gps apps.
my magellan has a detour feature when it warns me of traffic. if waze doesn't plan on incorporating auto-rerouting around traffic and incidents, then at least provide us with a detour button.
Driving off-route and waiting for waze to recalculate for some reason takes too long while two other gps's I use it is really quick when having driven off route.
whatever2015
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 5:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby Jarpee05 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:17 pm

Bump. I would like to know as well.
Jarpee05
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:17 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

waze auto-reroute plans

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:43 pm

It does and should. Unsure why it seems to do this and then doesn't other times.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.2.1 | Waze v4.2b
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23416
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 4507 times

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby whatever2015 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:55 pm

maybe there is some kind of bug.

on a freeway yesterday, there was a long line of red showing traffic. i set a destination in the area to see if waze would guide me around it. (and yes it was in the proper direction of travel).

Sure enough, it didn't guide me around it. When I clicked on "routes" the red area didn't show up in the "preview" of the traffic on the routes.
But the red traffic did show up when looking on the actual map.

as a result, i think this is some kind of bug, because in the past, waze would almost always guide around traffic no problems.

i hope waze and co. can figure this out and fix it.
whatever2015
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 5:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby Shadrian » Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:36 pm

I'd like to know about reroute plans.

I'm hitting traffic which I can then see on the map but only after it is too late to avoid it eg after I've gone past the last motorway junction before the delay.

ETA and traffic reroutes in Help talk about no reroute if delay is less than 5% of original ETA but this has not been the case for me.

I'd like Waze, when it encounters a delay, to:
a) Tell me it has encountered a delay
b) Tell me what the change to my delay is
c) Ask me if I want to recalculate the delay (also would be useful if there was a default setting for recalculating but I would want it still to tell me as I've experienced automatic rerouting which did not work on other traffic systems)

Any chance of this being added to Waze?
Shadrian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 7:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby CBenson » Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:15 pm

Shadrian wrote:I'd like to know about reroute plans.

I'm hitting traffic which I can then see on the map but only after it is too late to avoid it eg after I've gone past the last motorway junction before the delay.

It seems to me that this would be affected by how the map is set up. I'd be interested to know what road this happens on

Shadrian wrote:ETA and traffic reroutes in Help talk about no reroute if delay is less than 5% of original ETA but this has not been the case for me.

I'd like Waze, when it encounters a delay, to:
a) Tell me it has encountered a delay
b) Tell me what the change to my delay is
c) Ask me if I want to recalculate the delay (also would be useful if there was a default setting for recalculating but I would want it still to tell me as I've experienced automatic rerouting which did not work on other traffic systems)

Any chance of this being added to Waze?

Although, I agree that the 5% number doesn't seem to be accurate, the rest (if I'm understanding you correctly) waze does for me. I get popups telling me of a delay and what the new ETA is and when waze finds a better route, I get a popup stating that the new route has been found.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0, Waze 3.9.9.907
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9703
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 912 times
Been thanked: 2072 times

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby daneisherenow » Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:23 pm

I also always come across this. I make the same drive almost weekly on a road that is bumper-to-bumper traffic daily during the evening rush hour. Sometimes, Waze tells me and routes me around it. Other times, I have to use my fingers to move the map forward to see the backup, and make the decision for myself. It also, like other posters above have said, never seems to show up on the preview when looking into the "routes" menu. I don't understand it.
daneisherenow
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby Shadrian » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:38 pm

CBenson wrote:
Shadrian wrote:I'd like to know about reroute plans.

I'm hitting traffic which I can then see on the map but only after it is too late to avoid it eg after I've gone past the last motorway junction before the delay.

It seems to me that this would be affected by how the map is set up. I'd be interested to know what road this happens on
Shadrian replied wrote:On the M3 heading towards London

Shadrian wrote:ETA and traffic reroutes in Help talk about no reroute if delay is less than 5% of original ETA but this has not been the case for me.

I'd like Waze, when it encounters a delay, to:
a) Tell me it has encountered a delay
b) Tell me what the change to my delay is
c) Ask me if I want to recalculate the delay (also would be useful if there was a default setting for recalculating but I would want it still to tell me as I've experienced automatic rerouting which did not work on other traffic systems)

Any chance of this being added to Waze?

Although, I agree that the 5% number doesn't seem to be accurate, the rest (if I'm understanding you correctly) waze does for me. I get popups telling me of a delay and what the new ETA is and when waze finds a better route, I get a popup stating that the new route has been found.

Shadrian replied wrote:Now I wonder whether Waze used to do this and has stopped. There don't appear to be any settings that I can adjust to switch this feature on and off. All I know is that I haven't got popup warnings for delays or ETA changes for the last few long journeys I've made (I don't use it for local journeys)
Shadrian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 7:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby CBenson » Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:02 pm

Shadrian wrote:On the M3 heading towards London

Hmm, that seems odd to me. I had always thought that the traffic delays showed for the entire segment between junctions. So when does waze show you the traffic you are hitting?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0, Waze 3.9.9.907
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9703
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 912 times
Been thanked: 2072 times

Re: waze auto-reroute plans

Postby Shadrian » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:41 am

CBenson wrote:
Shadrian wrote:On the M3 heading towards London

Hmm, that seems odd to me. I had always thought that the traffic delays showed for the entire segment between junctions. So when does waze show you the traffic you are hitting?

Shadrian reply wrote:On screen so I become aware of it when I can see the problem. One thought I have had is that maybe the traffic issue is there when I orginally plan the rounte and I have not noticed it on the route summary - having said that the result should be a later ETA than I would be expecting which when I notice I look for alternatives. If however the Waze's ETA calculation at the start includes the fact that there is a traffic problem but does not affect the ETA greatly will a change in that same traffic problem/or Waze's ETA estimate because of it result in a popup for a change in the ETA - ie does the popup not occur because it was a known problem when the ETA was originally calculated?
Shadrian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 7:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users